We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Forest by Wangz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed at the Forest for 11 days on business, and my wife accompanied me for the first seven. We both thought the place was great. It is not a traditional hotel, the main difference being that it serves breakfast only (excluding Sundays) and serves no other meals. There are however various restaurants and food outlets at the Velocity Mall (Novena) about 200 metres away. The rooms have a kitchen area including a fridge, hob, oven and microwave, so no problems with self-catering. Breakfasts are western food, cold buffet with eggs and pancakes cooked to order.
The staff are probably the friendliest and most efficient that I have ever encountered in all my years travelling on business. The place is not large or busy, and the attention given by the reception and breakfast staff is immediate and efficient. The room was spotlessly clean, and all the facilities worked well. In contrast to other Singapore hotels I have used, the room was also spacious, well lit, and the air conditioning was almost silent. So no problem with it disturbing your sleep. The rooftop lounge is lovely, with comfortable sofas and pleasant views across the rooftops. The pool is unheated, but that is not too much of a problem in the Singapore heat. It is also scrupulously clean.
The location of the hotel is not in the city centre. However, Singapore taxis are cheap and the nearest MRT station (Novena) is only 200 metres away at the mall. It is better located for the Zoo, Night Safari, East Coast, Airport and the Botanical Gardens than the downtown hotels.
All in all, the experience was marvellous, and I shall certainly use the place again for future trips.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Warrior55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, The Management of THE FOREST BY WANGZ at The Forest by Wangz, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Warrior55,

On behalf of the entire team, I would like to thank you for the positive compliments on the service and facilities that are a great encouragement to us all. We are glad you enjoyed your accommodation experience and hope to welcome you and your wife back in the near future.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (487)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

387 - 393 of 488 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2013

We would first like to thank all of the wonderful staff (Jerry, OJ, Aishah, Aikee and Gideon) who made our stay last week so enjoyable. We spent 7 nights at The Forest (husband, 6 month old baby and my mom and dad). Parents had a studio which was the perfect size for them. They had a full kitchen, almost exactly the same as the Executive Premier which we stayed in to allow for the porta cot (the Premier also had a washer/dryer and bathtub). Rooms were clean, had all the amenities you could ever want and air conditioning which was so nice to come back to after a full day in the Singapore humidity. Make sure you check out the roof top area - we didn't go up there until the end of our trip. It is beautiful - great views and fab lounge furniture.

Breakfast was perfect. You can have cereal, toast and an assortment of fresh pastries, plus coffee/tea/water all day. But you can also ask for a hot breakfast (eggs pretty much any way), all prepared by the very friendly Gideon. You can eat inside or out and both areas are equally as pleasant.

I must reiterate how amazing the staff are. Every day they would call us a taxi, help us with the pram/bags in and out of the taxi, give us any information we required and were the most delightful bunch. They always greeted us with a smile and constantly played with our daughter. Children are treated like royalty in Singapore. After a hectic day in the city with so many people around (Chinese New Year), The Forest was like an oasis and we were really happy to be able to come back there to the pool (clean, cool, on the ground floor) and the air con. Also there is a small gym with a treadmill, cross trainer and weights.

The residence is located in a lovely neighbourhood, close to Novena Square where there is a Cold Storage good for all groceries and alcohol. You can also purchase wine and beer from The Forest.

As The Forest is a residence you can only stay there for a min of 7 nights but there is plenty to do and see in Singapore so I highly recommend The Forest if you plan on staying more than a week. Keep in mind, this is NOT a hotel. It is a residence/apartments. There is no room service or restaurant other than breakfast. It is for people who want to stay in a serviced apartment but with the amenities of a luxury boutique hotel.

Thanks again for a wonderful experience.

Sam, Judy, Ted, Owen and Avery

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank HeyJude24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, The Management of THE FOREST BY WANGZ at The Forest by Wangz, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Sam, Judy, Ted, Owen and Avery,

Thank you for writing such a detailed review. We are honoured to have served you as our residents recently and are delighted to have contributed to your fond memories.

All of us wish your family well and look forward to your next visit to Singapore.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed with my wife and 2year old child for 10days. Clean room/appartment and service was great. Very friendly and dedicated staff. Well equipped kitchen. 10points for a family stay. No nightlife or tourist attractions near by, which makes the stay stay comfortable. And if those needed, you´ll get a taxi anyway when going around Singapore..

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Tomi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, The Management of THE FOREST BY WANGZ at The Forest by Wangz, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Tomi K,

Thank you for writing this positive review. We are delighted that you and your family had a very memorable stay and hope to welcome all of you back again very soon.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is a great place to stay. Friendly, helpful and with all the the amenity you need. Its clean and the staff do a great job especially house keeping and front of house. They also do a great breakfast. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
10  Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, The Management of THE FOREST BY WANGZ at The Forest by Wangz, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Sandra R,

We are happy to know you enjoyed your recent stay at our serviced residences. The entire team eagerly look forward to your return in time to come.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The Forest by Wangz was a delightful home away from home. At check-in  I was greeted with a cool towel and glass of icy apple juice, much appreciated after my journey, my luggage was whisked from the taxi and I was toured through the hotel from the beautiful pool and well equipped gym, to the residents lounge and roof top retreat with magnificent views, to my immaculately appointed and stylish room equipped with kitchenette, rainforest shower and comfy bed with spotless linens, flatscreen and free wifi. Complimentary breakfast was delicious ( staff had no trouble accommodating my gluten intolerance ) and I enjoyed smoked salmon, eggs, fresh tropical fruit and unlimited coffee and juices. The service was exceptional, personal and very helpful with staff assisting me in all sorts of ways from where to repair electronic equipment to the best places to eat to simply a friendly chat and a kind word. From the speedy service of the chef to the efficient room servicing (you could eat off the floor!) to the concierge Suffian, who gave me wonderful advice and the effervescent and charming manager, Faizal, who whilst overseeing the entire operation, always greeted me and my friends by name and even came to see the art exhibition/performance we were giving on his own time (so supportive!), I truly cannot fault any aspect of my stay. If you're lucky enough to find yourself in Singapore, treat yourself to a stay at The Forest by Wangz. It really was actually the nicest hotel I have ever experienced.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
14  Thank psuedodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, The Management of THE FOREST BY WANGZ at The Forest by Wangz, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear psuedodd,

Thank you for taking time to write this review and we sincerely appreciate your generous compliments on the service and facilities at our property. We are privileged to have served you and your friends, and look forward to your return visit in the near future, most hopefully for leisure then. In the meantime, please take care.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed at The Forest over Christmas 2012 with our two children, four and 18 months and had a wonderful time. The staff were extremely warm and gracious, making us all feel very welcome at this small, personable hotel. Our room was nicely appointed, breakfasts were delicious and the swimming pool was never crowded. The rooftop terrace is a haven. Peaceful; never overcrowded.

To the minority of reviewers who say this hotel is not up to scratch, I would say that, no, The Forest is not like other five star hotels. If you want the Marriott or the Mandarin, with all the fine but impersonal service of a five-star, you should stay at a Big Hotel. The Forest is a boutique hotel, with a more limited range of facilities. The gym is small. The pool is small. There is no housekeeping on Sundays. But the staff here -- to a person -- will make every effort to learn your name, your children's names, your breakfast preferences, book you a taxi, etc. etc. In our case, the manager even allowed us to stay 10 hours past our check-out time because of a very late flight ex-Singapore. In all my years of staying at Hiltons and Marriotts for work, I have never seen staff go the extra mile like they do at The Forest. That is why people love this place. Recommended.

Room Tip: Our room was on the street side, budget room. Still very quiet. We brought two small blow up mattres...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank A F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, The Management of THE FOREST BY WANGZ at The Forest by Wangz, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear A F,

It warms our hearts to read of your wonderful and personal experience at our serviced residences. Thank you for affirming our values and we are happy to have been part of your family’s festive celebrations.

We look forward to welcoming you home should your travels bring you back to Singapore.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a place where the staff will take excellent care of you. I work with service training in the hospitality industry, and Forest has one of the best attitudes and effort of any hotel I can remember. Considering it is a (beautifully) converted serviced apartment and part of only a small overall hotel portfolio, it is amazing how thoroughly and and effectively the staff have been trained. Bravo! The hotel is near mass transit and has some restaurants and services nearby, but is best used as a base for venturing out for the day or night. Small but new and well appointed rooms. The kitchen in my unit was quite serviceable and the laundry machine, while small and slow, was much used and appreciated.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ricardo n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, The Management of THE FOREST BY WANGZ at The Forest by Wangz, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear ricardo n,

Thank you for taking time to write this review. Your positive feedback and support mean a lot to the team and Management as relatively new entrants in the hospitality industry.
Please visit us again should your travels bring you back to Singapore.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#11 of 319 in Singapore
1,309 reviews
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
One Farrer Hotel & Spa
#17 of 319 in Singapore
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Naumi Hotel
#19 of 319 in Singapore
2,431 reviews
Fisher BnB
#2 of 247 in Singapore
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Forest by Wangz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Forest by Wangz

Address: 145A Moulmein Road, Singapore 308108, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 247 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: $141 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Forest by Wangz 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE FOREST BY WANGZ is an exclusive 38-apartment boutique serviced residence offering flexible short term and monthly stays in the heart of Singapore. Ideal for the expatriate on project assignment or relocation, the residence is located just a short drive from the vibrant Orchard Road, the financial district and medical research hub at Novena.Offering comfortable, modern style accommodations including a separate open plan style living and dining area with a fully-equipped kitchenette, the residence also has excellent leisure facilities such as a fitness centre, an outdoor infinity-edge lap pool and a rooftop garden with spectacular cityscape views.Residents at THE FOREST BY WANGZ are pampered by a dedicated team providing attentive and discreet service as we invite all to stay inspired. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Forest by Wangz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Forest By Wangz Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing