We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crowded and colorful”
Review of Bugis Street

Bugis Street
Book In Advance
More Info
$96.89*
and up
Singapore City Tour by Night
More Info
$36.73*
and up
Singapore Night Sightseeing Tour with Singapore River Boat Cruise
More Info
$43.56*
and up
Singapore by Night Tour with Dinner
Ranked #9 of 523 Shopping in Singapore
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bugis Street market has now been transformed into a mecca for shoppers and bargain-hunters. This market has just about everything you could want – CDs, souvenirs, t-shirts, shoes, jewellery, knick knacks and other fashion items.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Crowded and colorful”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

meandering thru Bugis street is an experience in itself.
Must taste the various juices, fruits, pancakes, etc.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank KrishanJagtiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    370
    703
    322
    53
    21
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“singapore style but different”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

not the clean singapore you always run into. a nice market with all kind of trades, embedded in a good looking colonial style building

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank bertjanvanessen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“crowded”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

It was so difficult to move, its very crowded. I don't see any speciality in the stuff they sell. Not really keen to go back. Most of the stuff can be found cheaper in bangkok or in jakarta

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LilaSepang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Question of Image”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

As other reviews have noted, this place is primarily known for fast fashions on the cheap. As such, this primarily caters to the teenage crowd with small pockets and a love for trendy items. If you're going with family, give this place a miss especially if you have baby buggies and/or a wheelchair-ed person. The narrow lanes present navigation difficulty, and the crowds don't help any. If you're a tourist, this is a pretty good place to get your souvenirs, aside from Lucky Plaza. Be careful to avoid this place during the weekends and close to festive seasons because the crowds are teeming then.

This place does cater to those interested in pursuing Taiwanese and Korean fashion. However, given that Singapore is not a fashion capital, I'd say that for Western fashions (e.g. European, American), this place tends to lag behind by about 2 seasons. If you're wondering what Korean fashion is, I would classify it as Romantic, or cutesy. So if your style doesn't really lean towards frills and lace, I would not recommend this place.

Certainly in dressing there wages a debate of quality versus quantity. Personally, I go for quality as I love something that fits me well, and restyling my buys over and over again - i.e. I wear them for a very long time. Moreover, even if the designs are nice, if it fits ill or is too sheer, you wind up looking like your clothes - cheap, shabby, and overall a walking fashion victim if you are not careful. I'm not saying that all clothes are like that - certainly with discernment one can buy a few choice items, and even style them well to look as good as any boutique mannequin. Generally, though, the clothes look and feel cheap. The defence goes that well, they ARE cheap, what'd you expect for S$10? Well, I'd save up my money to buy a better-quality item which can be restyled over and over again, and in the long term save up cash.

For tourists, particularly if you are caucasian, I'd recommend giving this place a miss if you're looking for well-fitting clothes. Most dresses, though pleasing aesthetically, are cut for the more petite Asian ladies, so hemlines may be a concern. Moreover, given the elastic bands present in most dresses and the one-size-fits-all blouses and shirts, the clothes tend to look baggy. Other problems include unsymmetrical hemlines, poor material, poor stitching, and in some cases, pest infestation problems in shops. Sensitive skin? Don't bother - the elastic bands itch.

Like others have mentioned, prices here are extremely attractive - S$10-15 for shirts, dresses, pants, skirts and accessories. If you're into fast fashion and won't wear an outfit more than thrice, this is probably the place for you. All the same, I'd reccomend you ask for a new piece and check the stitching, fit, and the presence of stains. As this place has a flea-market sort of organisation, no receipts are given upon sale, and should you find any defect in your purchase at home/in your hotel you're hard-pressed to get a refund or a trade.

If you're really keen on shopping here, you could set aside a day to really navigate the place. There are many little outlets, most of them selling the same things, so it's good to go about and try to find the best price for your purchase. There are altogether three levels, so if it rains, or is too hot, simply head up the escalator into air-conditioned, less packed comfort. The prices do rise accordingly though, by about S$5, depending on the item. Be careful, though, you don't want to get lost amidst the narrow lanes and the mazelike configuration. What I did was to browse in a zig-zag formation: starting from one corner, work your way through. It's easier to keep track of shops this way.

For food, head over the Bugis Junction. The food here is suspect in terms of hygiene, but then again I am a germaphobe. The prices are not so attractive as to risk the germs - if you want bubble tea, head over to Bugis Junction or ask a local for directions to 'Koi'. If you're looking for local delights, go to Geylang or head to Bugis Junction's food courts on the third level and B1. For the same price you can get better meals.

Bathroom facilities are quite unsavoury, but given the flea-market layout, what'd you expect?

Other things you can do at BV include manicures (pretty cheap - express manicures can go for as low as S$8, this includes shaping and painting only), haircuts, and even tattoos, judging by the few tattoo parlours I caught sight of.

In sum, if you're budget conscious and like trendy items from Korea and whatnot and don't give two figs about quality or wearing the item for a long time, I can't recommend a better place. If you are here just to scope out the local fashion scene...I'll not comment nor critique the local teenage fashion scene. And if you're looking for something classy, well-fitting and don't quite like rummaging through the bargain bin, give this place a miss and head over to Illuma located opposite Bugis Junction. Heck, shop in Bugis Junction, if you like, for mid-range priced items with better quality.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank linxinpei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
418 reviews
211 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
“A bit mental and crowded, but the upper floors have really interesting stuff”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

After taking a few steps inside we almost turned around again - it was so crowded and busy. But I'm glad we didn't as we ventured upstairs and found some really interesting and (what seemed like) unique pieces like tshirts and dresses.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank missyb_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bugis Street also viewed

 

Been to Bugis Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing