We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid”
Review of Arianna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arianna Hotel
Ranked #294 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed March 21, 2013

First night was told that they were overbooked and we had to stay in another room instead of the one we originally booked. The room we stayed in was incredibly tiny, windowless, smelt like mothballs and sewerage mixed together. Looking back I wish I complained straight away, however both my partner and I were extremely tired and had just got off a long flight.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingTTs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 203 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights, i think the hotel was good, the service was good, it's near mustafa center and mrt ferrer park. But the bed is very hard, no hot water. Good news, there's wifi and it's right in front of mustafa center. But if i go to singapore again i won't stay there, it's cheap but not a comfortable place. But if you like mustafa center, and enjoy any type of hotel, you cam stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Immaa01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I stayed here for two nights and didnt like it one bit.The room was tiny,no window and the shower was a hand held nozzle in the toilet.The toilet also had a terrible smell.The surrounding area is filthy.The location is not bad though close to restuarants and across the road from a shopping centre.Not reccomended.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brendon k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed here for four nights and it was the most uncomfortable experience of my life thus far. This was the cheapest hotel we could find, so we didn't really expect much, but I just have to say how awful our stay was. Its convenient location - right beside Mustafa Centre, near Farrer Park MRT, lots of hawkers around - and really strong wi-fi connection are probably the only good things about this place. The front desk staff were rude and hard to communicate with.

The hotel looks okay from the outside, but once you step inside and ride the rickety elevator, you'd know this building is old. Once you get to your room, it gets worse. It's very poorly maintained - dirty and moldy and badly needed a paint job - and the sheets, comforter, and towels didn't smell fresh and clean, and also had stains. The aircon made weird noises, and the cabinet needed fixing. At least there was a small fridge, although I doubt that you can use the safe in the room. The bathroom was very small and it would be hard for Caucasians to move around it.

The bed is definitely the worst thing about it. It was so hard, it was almost just as good as lying on the floor. It was mounted too high on a frame smaller than the mattress. The bed had ticks and it was itchy. The mattress would make loud noises whenever you moved, and the bed springs would poke your body whenever you lie on your side. It was terrible, we always had a hard time sleeping. We asked for extra pillows, but the front desk staff said they'd given all their extras away to other guests.

Basically, just cough up a bit more money and stay in a place which is a bit more expensive rather than settle for a cheap but terrible hotel like Arianna.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Arianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Avoid it! No matter how cheap it is!

Stayed there for 3 nights, couldn't wait to go home. Don't feel like staying in the room either.
First of all, dirty and smelly. Toilet is really dirty, stains and moulds all over the place. Bad ventilation and you'll have wet tower and cloths.
Second, bed have mites & ticks. We found mites on our bed and I have rashes after sleeping on the bed for one night.
I can stand the dirty toilets, but dirty bed? No way. Have to request for a room change. New room wasn't good either, stinky pillow. Have to sleep without it.

Overall, avoid it at all cost, you're better off going somewhere else.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yuying1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is a terrible hotel. Do not believe the pictures on their website or on the Trip advisor site. When I took the lift to my room and opened the door I was hit by one of the worst smells ever, it appaered to be stale cigarette smoke, even though there are "No Smoking" signs all over the hotel. The walls are dirty and there was a even a dead fly on the wall. There was a hole in the wall, like a plug shaped hole, and I wondered if a mouse might crawl out of it at any point. There was no wimdow either, which was not communicated. I had to leave the air con on at night in order to sleep because of the smell but then it does get cold. The toilet seat was broken and the sink was disgusting.Whilst this place is cheap, they could charge a lot more if they made basic improvements so they clearly cannot be bothered. I could not wait to leave this place. I would not recommend it, no matter how much of a budget you are on.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunchick11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed here for one night while transiting through Singapore. I normally stay at similar priced hotels in Geylang so expected the same experience at Arianna - basic facilities but clean, quiet and reasonable sized room. Instead I got a poky little room which I could barely fit into. The smell was terrible - a combination of paint and stale smoke. My clothes stank for days afterwards from being in that room for one night. The place was really noisy as well - people were yelling at 2am and coming and going at all hours. I would recommend no one stays here as you can get far better hotels at similar prices all over Singapore.

Room Tip: The tip is do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skyland25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Little India
Hotel 165
Hotel 165
#231 of 317 in Singapore
68 reviews
Geylang
Home Suite View Hotel
Home Suite View Hotel
#277 of 317 in Singapore
20 reviews
Little India
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
#153 of 317 in Singapore
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Geylang
Chang Ziang Hotel
Chang Ziang Hotel
#193 of 317 in Singapore
121 reviews
BudgetOne Hotel
#250 of 317 in Singapore
7 reviews
Classique Hotel
#200 of 317 in Singapore
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arianna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arianna Hotel

Address: 83 Syed Alwi Road Arianna Hotel, Singapore 207662, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #294 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: $42 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Arianna Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Arianna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arianna Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing