We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small, small room” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arianna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arianna Hotel
Ranked #289 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Europe
Level Contributor
160 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Small, small room”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

Arianna is nicely situated right opposite Mustafa (5 minutes away from an MRT station) – so anything you may be missing is right across the street, I arrived quite early but was only able to check in at one o’clock (quite possibly because they were full and had to wait for someone to vacate a room).

Every time I believe I have seen the smallest room possible, I stumble across one where the pygmy builders have outdone themselves and managed to create an even smaller room. The room at arianna was tiny, and had no windows. The bed was decently sized (somewhere between a single and a double), wedged into a corner of the room. There was about 30cm of clearance in front – just enough to shove a suitcase in – and about 60 cm of space on one side. There’s a mirror and a small shelf (20cm wide or so), a small fridge (!) and a couple of shelves with hanging space and a room safe. No bedside lamp.

The ensuite bathroom was (surprisingly…) tiny. A sink, a toilet and a shower are all crammed together with no room for even a shower curtain – so when you shower everything in the bathroom gets wet. There is also no decent ventilation for the bathroom so it remains wet and damp.

On the plus side, the room was quite clean, and they also provide a kettle and some cups (with sachets of tea, coffee etc) and a hair drier. There was also a small LCD TV, which had a couple of English language channels.

Wifi worked fine and was fairly fast (2mbps or so).

Overall, could not get over the size of the room. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danno_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    23
    76
    28
    56
See reviews for
42
39
39
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

Was our first time in Singapore and we booked the hotel by price and location. We confess that just the services are nice, forget the other stuffs.
The bed is very hard and old, we felt the iron in our backs and when we arrived the room was very very dirty, we had to call to the reception to ask for clean it.
If you go for a walk around, you can find better options to stay.
One importat thing, they are rebuilding the street in front of the hotel ... lots of noise in the morning. (26/03/2012)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Luah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

After reading "Zee7" comments (below), I was worried whether my booking wud hav been rejected as my Creditcard also have double security feature. As I was check-in late nite, I was more worried. But luckily my booking was still available and the guy in reception was quite friendly.

About the room:
We got the room adjacent to the main road (can watch Mustafa Center from our window). Rooms were small, had some basic toiletries, water-heater, Hair Dryer, small refrigerator, locker, 22-inch LED TV but only local channels, Wifi was there but Internet was always down.

Good things:
Great Location, bang opposite Mustafa Center - 24 hours shopping palace where we can get anything you want. Good for many great & authentic Indian foods. Farrer park MRT is just 10 mins walk away.

Bad things:
Room floors were not clean. It was dusty. No Carpets. I told the Room Service Lady to clean the floor before I left outside. But when I came back the rooms was still dirty. There was construction work going outside, on the road (Added to the crowd noise in Mustafa Center). So it was very noisy the whole day. Also there was construction work going on inside the hotel also. Day-time whole day the rooms were noisy.

Would I stay again?
Maybe. I like it for its location & food.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cj_shiju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provincetown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

You might get a good nights sleep, but don't even try to come back during the day for a relaxing nap; there is construction right outside and jackhammer renovation inside the building. Requested a quiet room away from the street but was not given one. Room very small; mattress very hard. Some rooms don't even have windows!

Room Tip: good luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnaBeech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

my family and i stayed at Arianna Hotel for 3 nights and we booked 3 rooms.
the room was not bad,have phone,lcd tv,safety box,hair dryer and kettle to boil water.

Pro's:clean room,wifi,nice lobby(for budget hotel),good location and smooth check out...phew!

con's:Check in not very smooth,small room,small bed and stained towels!

overall,i wont mind staying at this hotel in the future ;)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cinta_alamaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bharuch, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

Stayed 5 nights with family. Small room, wash and other basic facilities, but could manage with twin-beds in the room. The hotel is usually very clean. Free internet but no other frills but you have common treated potable water filter station to fill your kits. Meets your needs and ofcourse affordable when you have an extended holiday stay in Singapore and particularly when you leave early in the morning and return late in night.

Very conveniently located opposite to Mustafa Shopping Centre (24 hours open). 5-minute walk to Farrer Park MRT station from where you can go straight to Sentosa and Universla Studios. The location also offers wide choice of PURE VEGETARIAN INDIAN RESTAURANTS.
Overall very nice experience.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with windows. specify requirement of twin-bed, if needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PCUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

Singapore hotels can be expensive. We stopped through Singapore for one night and had to leave for the airport on an early morning flight. So we chose this hotel for its convenient location and its affordable price. That said, getting to this hotel involves a 20-minute walk to the Lavender or Bugis MRT station.

Rooms are small and narrow, or shall we say space-efficient. Amenities are basic and no-frills. The bathroom was a shower combined with a toilet. The advantage of staying in a budget hotel in Singapore is that we can be sure the rooms adhere to high hygiene standards. Also, because Singapore's tap water is safe to drink, the absence of free bottles of distilled/mineral water in the no-frills room was fine with us. Nearby Indian restaurants offer a wide range of both (very authentic) Indian and Chinese/Singaporean cuisine, with choices of any price range.

Of course expectations have to be adjusted as this is a budget hotel. A bit more context: This is my 6th or 7th trip to Singapore and I have previously stayed in everything from the Shangri-La and St Regis to other budget options such as the YMCA. We were also two travellers sharing one room, and we got a good price even though we booked only 2 weeks in advance. If you need a decent room and you're ready to explore Little India's culture and cuisine, Arianna would be a good choice for you.

Room Tip: Neighboring shopping centres open 24 hrs. Many restaurants are open till 3am. Our hotel room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ariellek_bj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel 81 - Elegance
#214 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Little India
Tai Hoe
Tai Hoe
#100 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Little India
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
#167 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampong Glam
ABC Hostel
ABC Hostel
#216 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Little India
Broadway Hotel Singapore
Broadway Hotel Singapore
#224 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Geylang
Amrise Hotel
Amrise Hotel
#272 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arianna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arianna Hotel

Property: Arianna Hotel
Address: 83 Syed Alwi Road, Singapore 207662, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #289 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Arianna Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Arianna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arianna Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing