We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wink Capsule Hostel
Nearby Hotels
$242
$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
One Farrer Hotel & Spa(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$187
$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$299
$216
Panpacific.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$264
$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$241
$202
Fullerton Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$143
$129
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$227
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore(Singapore)
$290
$214
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Park Hotel Clarke Quay(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$114
$92
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Marina Bay Sands(Singapore)
$528
$313
MarinaBaySands
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (859)
Filter reviews
859 results
Traveler rating
502
291
56
8
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
502
291
56
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschinatown mrtdouble podkey cardtop bunkmosque streetfemale dormcommon areasdorm roompeanut butterbunk bedsfree breakfast ismixed dormother guestsa great place to stayyour luggageenjoyed my stayair conditioning
Filter
Updating list...
471 - 476 of 859 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I was impressed by the cleanliness and cozy ambiance of the hostel. In the heart of chinatown and just a block away from chinatown MRT, very accessible. Staff were very accommodating. Affordable price and it was really a good choice. 2 thumbs up!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank jmaagad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Had a great stay their, 24hr front desk, so any problems some one is always their, Breakfast very good with fruit , orange juice, cereal & toast. And coffee/tea free all day. China town is behind the hostel, and the garden by the bay is S$6 buy taxi one-way. Shuttle bus is available for S$9 to airport. Aircon is only in the bedrooms..... Ideal spot too stay

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garylyons101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night recently with my daughter. The check in was fast, $10 deposit required for keycard and $2 cost for a towel . Our dorm was full and we were in 2 bunks ( not exactly pods) in a tiny alcove off main area of dorm and next to a window. The bedding was lovely for a hostel and the bunks well equipped with soft light, reading light and power. The bathroom with toilets and plentiful fantastic hot showers was on the next floor up ( bit of a hassle). The main problem was the room was quite hot at night ( aircon but not sure if people were adjusting it or just not very efficient). There was quite a bit of noise coming through the closed air well window until after midnight. As well, although people did attempt to keep their noise down, the sounds of plastic bags being rummaged through and zips being opened and closed kept up until about 2am then resumed at 7am. Breakfast was ok, fruit went fast otherwise cereal , toast juice and coffee all plentiful. The location is great but on reflection if you are not a night owl and want a quiet night you are probably better to stay in a cheaper hotel in one of the suburbs and use the incredibly fast and safe MRT to get around. Our stay was during the grand prix beds cost $69 each. Found Betel Box hostel to be less clean with less facilities but much cheaper and friendlier. Should finish by saying they had great fast free wifi here and lots of free computers.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeoffKarenC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cb h, Owner at Wink Capsule Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Hi – Thanks for taking time to write!

On air-conditioning, we debated between staff controlling the temperature or leaving the remote for guests to regulate the temperature yourselves in each room. The latter was the better option for several reasons which I’d not go into here. However, what that means is we could not always satisfy everyone who has different temperature preferences! We had a servicing done just prior to the F1 (knowing it would be busy) and my thoughts are someone in your room likely turn up the temperature and your 2 beds round the alcove probably suffered worse for it. Very sorry.

As for the noise, we’re one of a few hostels that have 24/7 service and have little excuse not to better maintain noise level at Wink. I’d remind the team to be more vigilant, especially during ‘festive periods’ where guests tend to hang out late (and also to be more forceful in nudging the message across to some guests). Some guests take it on themselves to remind others to keep it down, or come to the front desk to alert us of the disturbances which we appreciate as the premises are fairly big. We will also review again our “Quiet Hours” notices scattered around the hostel to see if more or better placement is needed.

Again thanks for letting us host you and pointing out areas we can work on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We are a group of close friends who have been with each other through thick and thin for over 18 years.
So when we all decided to watch the Singapore F1 this year, one of us advocated this brainchild to pod it together as:
(1) we are close enough to share intimate space
(2) it would cut down expenses as our F1 tickets went into thousands of dollars
(3) its a novelty and we are always game for an adventure

I've never slept in a hostel all my life so I must say that the cleanliness of this hostel is commendable - better than some 4 star hotels even.
We booked up one whole room with 10 pods - The Angsana and with the unlimited decibel we muster, we guarantee that the rooms are noise resistant from the absent of complaints of other dwellers.
The beds showed signs of being aired and properly maintained. Linens were changed daily. The only problem for bones over 40 years of age is the climbing up to the top bunks.
For the adventurous spirit who doesn't mind tracking out to the common bathroom- they will have no complaints - clean as far as Singapore standards go with plenty of mirrors, space to change, hairdryer provided and of course plenty of toiletries left by affluent backpackers who did not want to carry that extra weight home (judging by the brands of toiletries left behind for all to share).
Basic breakfast of coffee, tea, juices, milk, cereal and toast is thrown in which is quite decent.
The Chinatown MRT station is just directly at the back which made trekking out to the F1 tracks very convenient.
The service is very hospitable but of course in such places room services absolutely does not arise!

So for those who are looking for a cheap clean safe place to stay and can do common bathroom better than swallowing medicine, don't look any further - this is it.

But for us who have reached the stage in life where strolling into your own bathroom nude is as normal as breathing, this adventure is memorably comedic!
We had a blast of a time though..

Room Tip: If you travel in a group, best to book out the whole room - then (in)decency is contained. Different rooms have different coloured lightings. The Angsana is warm yellow
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosieRoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cb h, Owner at Wink Capsule Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Hi guys,
We enjoyed hosting you. Appreciate your kind words here as well as the keen observations you folks shared before you checked out. We'd mull over some of the suggestions for sure, including expansion plans in KL!

Thanks for making Wink your first hostel stay, and glad (whew...) it worked out! ! Come back and try some of our smaller 6-pods, 7-pods etc rooms as well. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed in wink hostel for almost 3 weeks.was a lone traveller on an educational visit.found the place to be very clean , well maintained and very secure.u get security cards to ur room which has about 6-10 pods each. they provide locker facilities just below the pods large enough to hold 2 large suitcases.ambience is gud.self service breakfast in kitchen with bread cereals fruits milk and fruit juice.common bathroom which is extremely clean and well maintained.guys at reception help u max . If ur staying long term they giv u a small discount from the 50 SGD per day.definitely a place worth checking out if ur a lone traveller wanting a quiet place to stay which fits right into ur budget.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knightrider533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cb h, Owner at Wink Capsule Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

We love to hear from longer-staying guests as you give some of the best insights (seeing us at our worst! day-in and day-out!). Great your stay worked out decent. Longer term guests have quite different demands, and we'd be rolling out a few measures to try better at catering to these needs following feedback from folks like you.

I'm especially pleased you found the place to be quiet. We have had 1-2 comments about noise level that has left us scratching our heads and worried; your comments were reassuring. Here too, we'd be trying a few things.

If you get a chance, come back and test us out on some of the measures above.

Again thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews