We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“everything you need in a nicely styled hostel..”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wink Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wink Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“everything you need in a nicely styled hostel..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

we stayed a night in a 6 'pod' mixed dorm which was awesome! modern and clean, with large shared bathroom and kitchen which included free breakfast (hot milo was a nice bonus). location was ideal; stone throw from chinatown MRT station. the staff were friendly, we had no problems.. would happily stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottyross86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    229
    40
    7
    2
See reviews for
29
93
346
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

My trip to Singapore is the first time I was setting out alone and my first time in a hostel. I think I lucked out picking Wink Hostel out of the many reasonably-priced hostels in Singapore.

For one thing, the staff was pretty friendly and accommodating. I'm a shy person (go figure, I stayed in a dorm-type room) so it's very important to me that the staff are welcoming and not, say, snobbish. The people running Wink are quick to help you out when you need directions or if you need a hand with anything.

The hostel itself is clean and the pods are very comfortable. It was pretty easy to sleep soundly in the pod, even if I wasn't used to sharing a room with strangers. Even the bathrooms were pretty clean. I also liked the fact that the lockers underneath the pods were pretty large. I'd guess they were as long as the bed and as wide as half a bed so you can fit a lot of things into them.

There are also many creature comforts in Wink such as a DVD/ media room where you can watch movies; free WiFi or free internet use on some shared laptops; food-sharing - if you're up to it, or a refrigerator you can leave food in as long a you put a name on it; a mini library; and a common room.

The location's perfect for a newbie traveler, too. The street is parallel to Chinatown/Temple Street, where there's great souvenir shopping and good food (also where the Tintin Store is). On Mosque Street itself there are some bars and restaurants too, but it didn't seem to be as crowded as Temple Street anyway. The train's on Temple, too, so it's convenient if you want to get elsewhere. Plus there's a Mcdonald's nearby if you're looking for something familiar to eat.

I guess all in all you can see that I enjoyed my stay at Wink Hostel thanks to its price, cleanliness and location. (I can't really react on the free breakfast because I skipped those but I guess the assortment of juices, milks, jams and bread were okay.)

Room Tip: • The toilets are in stalls as opposed to full-on separate bathrooms so if you have a shy bladder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vcalma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

I have stayed in Wink Hostel so many times now I have lost count, and it's so consistently good that it almost feels like its getting better...
It's clean, quiet and filled with nice details and options... dishwasher, excellent WIFI, flexible and friendly staff (and outmost professional).
Normally staying in Hotels due to my desire for privacy, I find the pods an excellent value for money that offers me the privacy I appreciate at half the price of the cheapest hotels in Singapore.
The kitchen actually even makes it better than a hotel since I like to either cook a little myself or buy-in and eat like it was homemade.
In response to a few of the other reviews...
There are complimentary toiletries next to the reception and towels can be rented for 2 SGD. I have never seen the shadow of a bedbug (referring to one of the other reviews, Wink seriously has no bedbugs, the reviewer reporting this must brought them with him/her from the previous place where the reviewer had been staying)... on the contrary have I on many occasions observed how every mattress is taken out daily and checked and cleaned... bathrooms very well maintained (it seems there is almost always a guy cleaning it up, only once of my more than 30+ stays have I experienced a little mess in the bathrooms.
Staff and management at level with the best in the industry despite the size of this place... I agree to some of the comments regarding the demographics of the place, it tends to be more cultivated and perhaps older people staying here, however since Im a business traveler and myself not a young trailblazing backpacker, I appreciate this...
Nonetheless, it always happens that after a couple of days, I end up being familiar with a couple of the other guests and it becomes very friendly in deed, sometimes even with an evening drink on the hotel balcony... very nice in deed, perfect balance for me !

I give Wink Hostel my highest recommendation to everyone who either (like me) is fed up with traditional style hotels or people traveling on a budget but without the desire to sleep in piles of people and luggage.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonPedros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the mixed singles room. Location is good, its just beside chinatown and less than 5mins walk to mrt station. The place is clean and they even serve bfast too. But they dont provide for any toiletries at all, so just keep that in mind. No towels as well. Altho you could rent it for SGD2. Wifi is available as well.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HueyShen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Very clean and safety in the heart of Chinatown . Nice concept of space , build on the owner's travel experience! Friendly staff, price a bit hight as backpacker but still a good deal! I would definitely suggest

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George6891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Very clean hostel and just fab! All u need is here. Locker just under bed bunk, clean showers and toilets, girls hairdryer is there as well, very basic breakfast too ;) For a fee laundry which is handy. Spacious. Great location near metro. Would recommend anybody. Also very quiet so far. Impressed.

Helpful?
Thank Jana_Edin
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Great budget hotel with all the facilities you'd expect from a place like this. The double pods are really nice for couples as you usually don't get this in dorms. Showers and toilets are very clean, so are the pods where you sleep. A very good option if you're in Singapore on a budget!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misstidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Lloyd's Inn
#54 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#60 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,263 reviews
Hotel YAN
#57 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampong Glam
The Pod - Boutique Capsule Hostel
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#13 of 223 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Chinatown
Adler Luxury Hostel
Adler Luxury Hostel
#6 of 223 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wink Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wink Hostel

Property: Wink Hostel
Address: 8A Mosque Street, Singapore 059488, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 223 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wink Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a historic shophouse that's nestled in the cultural heart of Singapore, Wink is a premium Pod hostel that offers travellers private sleeping sanctums that are inviting and decked in plush designer finishing. Want to indulge in a little luxury while on a budget? Looking to meet new friends while mixing it up with fellow travellers in a friendly environment? Then Wink is perfect for you! Our secure tap card system grants access to spacious dorms that are air-conditioned, fully carpeted and furnished with cushy couches, perfect for kicking back and just chilling with pals. Ladies dormitories are available and come complete with vanity counters. All dorms have Wi-Fi access. You will find our custom pods come in unique designs with plentiful headroom and side-allowances, presenting you with a comfortable and individualised space that caters to your needs. Every pod is fitted with ambient backlight, sound resistant walls, a cushy backrest, reading LED light, power socket and smartcard access locker located right at the foot. A 6 inch orthopaedic mattress draped in lush soft linen and accompanied by a sumptuous duvet rounds out the experience. Breakfast is served daily in our guest kitchenette that comes fully equipped with cooking hob, microwave oven, grill and refrigerator. Other facilities include showers & toilets, a relaxing café lounge, internet stations, laundry & ironing and 24 hour reception. Centrally located in bustling Chinatown, Wink is mere minutes away from numerous must-see heritage and cultural attractions. Nearby Clarke Quay and the bohemian Club Street also serves up an exciting array of nightlife and dining destinations. With Chinatown's Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) station and several bus-stops a short walk away, you will find Wink the perfect location from which to start exploring Singapore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wink Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wink Hotel Singapore
Wink Hostel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing