We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flashpackers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wink Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wink Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Flashpackers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Thanks Wink Hostel, everything was brilliant, from booking online to the spacious pods and not forgetting the super friendly staff, there's really nothing to fault. Toilets were cleaned quite frequently so that was a big bonus. :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeeBeckGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    221
    37
    6
    1
See reviews for
29
85
335
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Penang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

A great place to stay..clean, helpful staff, alot of hangout area, free wifi, common area with TV computers and pantry and well located. Stayed there for 2 nights. Don't mind going there again especially travelling alone.
Only problem is the breakfast spread has limited selection and the ladder bar to the top bunk is small and painful during climbup

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank resirnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I am not your typical backpacker. I do not do hostels on any grounds but I made an exception. The Wink hostel was perfect for me. The staff were attentive & very hospitable. It is like living in a small house. Cleanliness is a big thing for me especially when it comes to bathrooms & toilets. Wink did their best to keep the place clean. Apart from hair in the sink occasionally that's as dirty as it got. I really enjoyed my stay here. Planning my next trip to Singapore. Although I'm the type of person to choose the Skyline hotel. Wink will most certainly do yet again. Loved it here. Great location, comfortable beds, helpful staff, great security for locking away personal items. The air conditioning in rooms is a blessing. Loved it loved it!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jazy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here for one night during a stop over. As we were only going to be in Singapore for 12 hours, we didn't want to spend a lot of money on a hotel. We stayed in a double pod, which was comfortable and cozy. My only recommendation would be to bring something that you can hang in front of your bed to 1. give you a bit of privacy and 2. block out the light when the door opens. The bathrooms were clean, the common areas were tidy, and the hostel actually didn't seem very busy.


It's in a great location in the middle of Chinatown. Very close to the metro and walking distance to Clarke Quay. Perfect for a short stay or for those on a budget who are staying for longer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scarletmelete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I wanted to try a little adventure back in my own country and I was very grateful to be given the chance to do so. Even though it was initially very awkward, but I enjoyed such little get-away to give myself opportunities to learn about the area and the things available for travelers to Singapore.

Wink hostel is a budget hostel with bunk beds. They have a great card system that give you a great sense of security as you know that only people staying in the room can enter the room. The card system also allow for easier access to your locker which it is just below your bunk beds.

They have a great, kitchen, laptop internet area, tv lounge and many areas where you can get away to read and relax. It was a wonderful hostel. Unfortunately, I felt that the kitchen was a little cramp during breakfast time, it would be great if it was slightly bigger.

Nevertheless, the overall experience had been wonderful and awesome. The staffs were always available to answer any enquiries, and they have alot of interest tour packages to recommend to their travellers. Thank you for the wonderful time.

Room Tip: I would recommend lady travellers to take the upper bunk bed for more privacy. However, if you do no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaunty_Jul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at Wink Hostel. Very clean and cozy. Even though there were a lot of people, there was never too much noise (not even in the rooms). It's very modern and safe. Service is amazing! Everyone who doesen't want to waste money on over-priced hotels in Singapore has a superb alternative here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Webbera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

It is fabulously located near the Chinatown MRT station which is only a couple of stops from the big interchange. Plenty of amazing and cheap food around the hostel. The staff are fantastic and the rooms have an air conditioner each that definitely comes in handy. Clean rooms with perfectly sized lockers for a single bed. For my first hostel experience I really enjoyed it.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank doppeybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Little India
Hotel 81 Dickson
Hotel 81 Dickson
#146 of 304 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 1,090 reviews
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#61 of 304 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 5,861 reviews
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#122 of 304 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Emerald
Fragrance Hotel - Emerald
#125 of 304 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 888 reviews
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#7 of 217 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 stars 432 reviews
@ Little Red Dot
#69 of 217 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wink Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wink Hostel

Property: Wink Hostel
Address: 8A Mosque Street, Singapore 059488, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wink Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a historic shophouse that's nestled in the cultural heart of Singapore, Wink is a premium Pod hostel that offers travellers private sleeping sanctums that are inviting and decked in plush designer finishing. Want to indulge in a little luxury while on a budget? Looking to meet new friends while mixing it up with fellow travellers in a friendly environment? Then Wink is perfect for you! Our secure tap card system grants access to spacious dorms that are air-conditioned, fully carpeted and furnished with cushy couches, perfect for kicking back and just chilling with pals. Ladies dormitories are available and come complete with vanity counters. All dorms have Wi-Fi access. You will find our custom pods come in unique designs with plentiful headroom and side-allowances, presenting you with a comfortable and individualised space that caters to your needs. Every pod is fitted with ambient backlight, sound resistant walls, a cushy backrest, reading LED light, power socket and smartcard access locker located right at the foot. A 6 inch orthopaedic mattress draped in lush soft linen and accompanied by a sumptuous duvet rounds out the experience. Breakfast is served daily in our guest kitchenette that comes fully equipped with cooking hob, microwave oven, grill and refrigerator. Other facilities include showers & toilets, a relaxing café lounge, internet stations, laundry & ironing and 24 hour reception. Centrally located in bustling Chinatown, Wink is mere minutes away from numerous must-see heritage and cultural attractions. Nearby Clarke Quay and the bohemian Club Street also serves up an exciting array of nightlife and dining destinations. With Chinatown's Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) station and several bus-stops a short walk away, you will find Wink the perfect location from which to start exploring Singapore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Wink Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wink Hotel Singapore
Wink Hostel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing