We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice clean hostel in good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wink Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wink Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice clean hostel in good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

We had never stayed in pods before and it suited us for Singapore as double rooms in hostels were very expensive but we wanted more privacy than a regular dorm. Wink hostel does exactly what it says on the tin. Great location a few minutes from metro.

We stayed in 2 single pods on our first night and found it great - spacious, quite private, individual lights and large secure lockers.

For the following night we moved to a double pod. This worked out slightly cheaper but was not as good. The room was far smaller even though there were 8 people rather than the 6 the previous night. The locker provided was the same size as for the single pod but now had to accommodate 2 people's luggage. Ours didn't all fit. Also the door opened directly onto our double pod so we didn't feel this one was as private.

Overall though still a good hostel and good value for Singapore. Good wifi and hot showers.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoisinH_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    228
    39
    7
    1
See reviews for
29
91
345
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed on 20-22 Dec for family holiday in ladies dorm. Previously I've stayed in other hostel in Bugis and Clarke Quay area. Compared with those hostels, we love the pods, it is convenient, private and super comfy!!! My 60yo mom even did not have any single complaint hahaha... The breakfast was enough and appreciate that other occupants also took care of hostel properties and cleanliness. The shower and toilet rooms are more than enough for us, especially in morning peak hours. Our suggestion that maybe hostel can provide a towel rack inside the room, so we can hang our wet towel there, not on sofa or staircase to above pods. Plus please provide at least two staffs in peak hours, we felt so sorry for our assistant lady (forget to ask her name) who has to handle so many visitors at once (we arrived approx 8pm). But overall Wink is the best hostel in Singapore!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NataliaPujiyanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

You can't beat the location or services of this hotel. It is located right in the middle of China town, a blocks walk from the Chinatown train station. Chinatown was an easy option to pick up souvenirs (we got 4 shirts for $10). We is also a handy little hawkers centre, if you walk down the main Chinatown street, turn right and follow the markets, just keep walking and you will hit a building that looks rather like a shopping centre and the hawkers floor is 1 level above the street. Meals were $2.5-$3. There was also a shopping centre with a supermarket a couple of blocks from the hostel where we could get some supplies.

The hostel offered a huge selection for breakfast, toast with 2 jams and peanut butter, 2 types of cereal, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, orange and apple juice. It was definitely a winner.

There was 5 laptops with free internet and all the facilities were kept so so clean. I was a bit unlucky getting hot showers but others didn't have any problems. The washer and dryer were a little on the expensive side at $4 per machine per load, but it was easy enough to wash by hand and there were pegs and coat hangers there we could use to hang them up and everything dried quickly.

This hostel had great kitchen facilities with about everything you could need. While we certain had and made the most of the delicious local food we went to Vivomart and got a roast chicken for less than $5 a $1 loaf of bread and some cheese (can't remember how much it was maybe $5) which we were able to make plenty of jaffles/toasted sandwiches.

There is a chain of supermarkets set up to provide affordable groceries for Singaporeans, it was called something similar to FairPrice, I don't think that was it but there is one just off orchid road (I found it and Vivomart just through an internet search) and they are worth a look if you want some single pastries/bakery good for lunch/bfast or grocery supplies.

Kept getting side tracked but great hostel, would recommend it to people of all ages/backgrounds and would be staying here again if we returned to Singapore.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, the Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

When you have stayed in many hostels, it is very easy to love this one. It has all you'd want. The rooms don't have bunk beds but 'pods' (a sort of hole) with a comfortable bed, good linen, some space on the side that works well as a bedside table and a little reading light. Storage under the beds can be opened and closed with the key card which you also use to get access to the dorm room (at night when you enter the dorm room it automatically lights up your pod to help you get in there, fantastic touch). The complementary breakfast is good to get you going, kitchen is clean. Communal bathroom are of good quality (however there is no airco in there, so even after a cold shower you start sweating quite quickly). Free use of laptops, free wi-fi, paid laundry facilities and some communal areas. Staff were great and very helpful. Location, just around the MTR and in Chinatown. What is not to love!
Ok, some small points of critique: not having cooling in the bathroom was not very practical, it didn't have much communal activity, many people kept to themselves a lot more than in other hostels.
Conclusion: Great place, you pay more than your average but you get your value!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldspink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

This is a top hostel everything from the staff to the room are spot on and on point. Never was I let down at all. What really helps is the local know how. Its more a family environment. I would recommend this hostel to anyone. I had an amazing two nights here, it is very close to MRT links and china town. I happened to witness the cleaning process in process and I must say it was better than some hotels I have stayed in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamza S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Singapore was our first stop on our 3 months travelling and we're so glad we chose to start at Wink!
The staff were brilliant in corresponding by email, even before we arrived and in last minute changes of dates when my husband lost his passport.

Don't be put off by the pods, we were really impressed by them, very spacious and very private compared to bunks!
The whole hostel was clean and tidy. Bathroom facilities were fantastic. We were very of grateful of having breakfast included and had the best chats with other travellers around the kitchen table.

Its location is easy find and a great spot for exploring this diverse and interesting city. Definitely recommed the local hawker centre, just minutes walk at the end of the road for cheap, authentic and delicious food!

Thanks Wink hostel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Back for the second time to Wink Hostel from my first visit 6 months ago. I have become very fond of this place from my first visit. You can refer to the link below on the general positive qualities to avoid repetition in my reviews.

Generally I like to come back to places that I have enjoyed staying as it's a no brainer of a choice and also because Wink was relatively new back then, it gives me the oppurtunity to see if everything is maintained and running well as per my first visit. Crying shame to have a great place to go to waste just because of poor maintenance.

Overall, the upkeep of the place is great however just to share a few feedbacks on what could be worked on:-

- Female Showers - The last shower stall is missing the clothes hook and one of the rainshower head seems faulty (leaky at the sides, so it was a rainshower and a waterfall by the wall as well).

- My pod reading light wasn't working (female dorm, pod no 6). Not that it was a problem as i could still use the other light in the pod. Suppose periodic maintenance check should be done every now and then.

- I think the dorms could use additionally hooks for clothes or at least a common rack of some sort as i noticed guest were putting their creative juices to overdrive to figure out where to hang our stuff (i.e piping in rooms etc...haha)

Despite those few minor setbacks, I had a great time staying here and it was great to be able to meet other runners from other countries as well (Singapore Marathon at that time). Friendships were made and pacts were form to return next year at Wink to race in SG again.

Location fantastic, people are friendly and you have to love the huge locker space.

See you guys again next year. You have my repeat patronage for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cb h, Owner at Wink Hostel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Hi Veronica,
Many thanks for your comments. We love them!!. First, it's your second stay and you still took time and trouble to share feedback Second, you got into specific details, which we really appreciate as it's difficult at times to check everything (e.g pod reading light) and guests are our best eyes and ears on the ground. We are looking into all your points for remedy right now - sorry, hope they were not too inconvenient .

The only item I'd admit we are still reluctant to push through is the point about additional hooks in the room. The trade-off is extra hooks could make the place more cluttered (something we reviewed in the past), and following your response here, we'd check internally again (no promises!).

I believe you stayed only a day the last time, and we only caught each other very briefly. We did not get the chance to chat again this time, but am glad you hooked up with runners like Dozz, Naoko, etc.. A few other Penang friends did not make it this time... We're certainly hoping to host more of you runners and friends at Wink soon. Again, many thanks for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Lloyd's Inn
#48 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#60 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,204 reviews
Hotel YAN
#50 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#117 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#11 of 226 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Kampong Glam
The Pod - Boutique Capsule Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wink Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wink Hostel

Property: Wink Hostel
Address: 8A Mosque Street, Singapore 059488, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 226 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wink Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a historic shophouse that's nestled in the cultural heart of Singapore, Wink is a premium Pod hostel that offers travellers private sleeping sanctums that are inviting and decked in plush designer finishing. Want to indulge in a little luxury while on a budget? Looking to meet new friends while mixing it up with fellow travellers in a friendly environment? Then Wink is perfect for you! Our secure tap card system grants access to spacious dorms that are air-conditioned, fully carpeted and furnished with cushy couches, perfect for kicking back and just chilling with pals. Ladies dormitories are available and come complete with vanity counters. All dorms have Wi-Fi access. You will find our custom pods come in unique designs with plentiful headroom and side-allowances, presenting you with a comfortable and individualised space that caters to your needs. Every pod is fitted with ambient backlight, sound resistant walls, a cushy backrest, reading LED light, power socket and smartcard access locker located right at the foot. A 6 inch orthopaedic mattress draped in lush soft linen and accompanied by a sumptuous duvet rounds out the experience. Breakfast is served daily in our guest kitchenette that comes fully equipped with cooking hob, microwave oven, grill and refrigerator. Other facilities include showers & toilets, a relaxing café lounge, internet stations, laundry & ironing and 24 hour reception. Centrally located in bustling Chinatown, Wink is mere minutes away from numerous must-see heritage and cultural attractions. Nearby Clarke Quay and the bohemian Club Street also serves up an exciting array of nightlife and dining destinations. With Chinatown's Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) station and several bus-stops a short walk away, you will find Wink the perfect location from which to start exploring Singapore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Wink Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wink Hotel Singapore
Wink Hostel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing