We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More private than your average hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wink Capsule Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hostel was very appealing online. The other reviews I read have been mostly accurate. The airconditioning is limited to the sleeping areas and other areas can be a little warm. There is far more privacy than a standard dorm room, but it isn't a private room. Generally clean, had no problem with gettting a shower, though the water was sometimes cool. This didn't bother me as it was hot in the bathroom and outside. The breakfast leaved a lot to be desired, but it was better than nothing. I would prefer to pay a few dollars and go to Ya Kun Kaya Toast.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dp_wandering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cb h, Owner at Wink Capsule Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Hi,
Thanks for your remarks!

Feedback has been that our water is too hot (!) - as we installed a spare central heater which is almost always switched on as well. A little surprised you found the water cold... perhaps you bathed during off hours and did not turn on the heater switch?

Our breakfast comprises choice of cereals, milk, fresh fruits, fruit juices, bread with 5-6 varieties of jams and peanut butter, coffee, tea and chocolate. Given resource constraints and trade-offs of amenities/services, "hot" options like eggs, sausages, etc. are not in the menu for now. Sorry.... We are monitoring and feedback like yours help.

Again thanks. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (731)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

479 - 485 of 731 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here I'm February while on vacation. I loved it! The location is great right in the heart of china town. Walking distance to Maxwell street hawker stall and the shops on Ann street. It was clean and tidy. The bed was so comfy. And provides nice privacy. The locker storage is big enough to fit a person ha ha! I ate breakfast once during my three night stay. I preferred eating the delicious an cheap street food.

On the last night I returned to my room and it was crazy hot. Apparently the air conditioner broke down. The guy on duty was so kind and did a great job handling the situation. He even gave me and the othe ladies in my room free sodas. It was fixed within 2-3 hours and it happened after 11pm at night.

I recommend this place and even blogged about it! It well worth the money an hopefully it stays that way.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingNatural
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cb h, Owner at Wink Capsule Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Hi,
Wow - thanks for your kind remarks notwithstanding you stayed more than half a year ago! We are still trying hard to keep the place fresh and the standards consistent, and learning along the way. We've tweaked our amenities/offerings a little since you stayed .... Come back and keep us on our toes! Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Reasonably clean, well-organised and a good place to stay for one or two nights. I didn't like having to walk past the breakfast area to take a shower - not looking my best in the morning so didn't need an audience. Secure place to store belongings was appreciated. Some noise from corridor so not great for light sleepers. Beds definitely offer more privacy that regular hostel set up. Good location. Good value for money. Shower room regularly cleaned throughout the day. Breakfast included fresh fruit, cereal, toast and jam etc. Helpful staff.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wre3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cb h, Owner at Wink Capsule Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Hi,
Many thanks! I appreciate that you took time to run through most of the different facets here at Wink. Glad it generally worked out.

Sorry to hear you experienced some corridor sounds. Sometimes guests forget/do not notice our "Quiet Period" signs, and the team here can do a better job managing guests' noises. I'd remind the team to be vigilant. Pse drop me a note (info@winkhostel.com) if you have time to let me know which dorm you stayed in that was affected. Again thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights. We misinterpreted the high tech pods, and when we arrived we realized they are practically bunks. Hostel was clean and good amenities. They desperately need a bench in the bathroom - no where to put stuff down. Didn't have the same experience with the staff as others have commented. In a really good location, close to China Town MRT. Our experience was affected by others in the room who didn't put their luggage in the lockers and therefore was minimal floor space to do anything.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieMegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cb h, Owner at Wink Capsule Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Hi,
Thanks for taking time out to write!

We did not get the chance to have a more in depth chat about your experience and expectations ..... Yes, we're not quite a hotel - sorry this was not clear. I appreciate your point on some guests not storing away their belongings, notwithstanding our sizeable lockers. This is a new feedback, and we'd look into it right away. I'd remind the team to be more vigilant in helping guests straighten out/put aside items as much as possible.

Again thanks. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Travelling around Europe the last 3 months I've stayed in every hostel you can imagine. Saw on trip advisor this one was recommended and with very good reason! The staff are lovely, the place is immaculate and the beds are great. You can choose a single pod or double pod, that's what my partner and I did, it was just like a hotel. I cannot speak highly enough of this place and will definately be staying here next Singapore trip!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cb h, Owner at Wink Capsule Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Hi Beckie,
Wow - thanks for your generous comments! These help reinforce some of the things we are trying and will push us harder. Yes - please come back and let us host you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Confession: I'm not the backpacking type. I much prefer the luxuries of hotels - having my own bathroom and bedroom and space...

But if all backpacker places were like Wink then I may change my mind.

We had 22 hours to spend in Singapore and we didn't want to spend a lot of money on a room that we would be spending a few hours in. Good ole Trip Advisor came through once again and we decided to stay at Wink Hostel as it was cheap, well located and looked clean and tidy.

We stayed in a mixed dorm double pod. The pods are comfortable, the lighting is great so as not to disturb others, the bathroom was clean but the one thing that makes Wink fantastic is the staff. They are incredibly helpful and friendly and they seem to really love what they do as they are so incredibly cheery.

We left in such a hurry (as we thought we were going to miss check in) and in our haste I left my sunglasses behind. I emailed the staff and they had found them and offered to post them back for a very minimal price (the cost of freight) and they didn't muck around.... I asked for the 7 day service and they were back in New Zealand in 7 days from the time of our correspondence. And they were packaged so well so as not to be damaged!

The staff are always in contact with you so you know that you have not been forgotten. They really made my experience at a backpackers that much more enjoyable!!!

PS - location is fantastic. Close to the MRT station and chinatown. Perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maximus83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cb h, Owner at Wink Capsule Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Hi!
Very happy you got your sunglasses back! Many of us here are travellers as well and understand how small things like misplacing a personal item can frustrate a trip. Just glad we managed to find your sunglasses. Many thanks for your kind words on the team. I'd make sure to share your compliments with the team who will no doubt appreciate them! Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Two thumbs up! First time to stay in a hostel and it sure made an impact on me. Great staff and really good value for money. The location is also very ideal. Wouldn't think twice about going back here.

Room Tip: Get the bed below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cb h, Owner at Wink Capsule Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thanks for finding time to write! We very much appreciate the thumbs up, doubly so for giving us the chance to be your first hostelling experience. Glad it worked out. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Chinatown
Cube Boutique Capsule Hotel
Cube Boutique Capsule Hotel
#6 of 240 in Singapore
190 reviews
Kampong Glam
The Pod - Boutique Capsule Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little India
Vintage Inn
Vintage Inn
#69 of 240 in Singapore
213 reviews
Chinatown
Adler Hostel
Adler Hostel
#9 of 240 in Singapore
619 reviews
Fisher BnB
#3 of 240 in Singapore
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wink Capsule Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wink Capsule Hostel

Address: 8A Mosque Street | Chinatown, Singapore 059488, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 240 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: $32 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wink Capsule Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a historic shophouse that's nestled in the cultural heart of Singapore, Wink is a premium Pod hostel that offers travellers private sleeping sanctums that are inviting and decked in plush designer finishing. Want to indulge in a little luxury while on a budget? Looking to meet new friends while mixing it up with fellow travellers in a friendly environment? Then Wink is perfect for you! Our secure tap card system grants access to spacious dorms that are air-conditioned, fully carpeted and furnished with cushy couches, perfect for kicking back and just chilling with pals. Ladies dormitories are available and come complete with vanity counters. All dorms have Wi-Fi access. You will find our custom pods come in unique designs with plentiful headroom and side-allowances, presenting you with a comfortable and individualised space that caters to your needs. Every pod is fitted with ambient backlight, sound resistant walls, a cushy backrest, reading LED light, power socket and smartcard access locker located right at the foot. A 6 inch orthopaedic mattress draped in lush soft linen and accompanied by a sumptuous duvet rounds out the experience. Breakfast is served daily in our guest kitchenette that comes fully equipped with cooking hob, microwave oven, grill and refrigerator. Other facilities include showers & toilets, a relaxing café lounge, internet stations, laundry & ironing and 24 hour reception. Centrally located in bustling Chinatown, Wink is mere minutes away from numerous must-see heritage and cultural attractions. Nearby Clarke Quay and the bohemian Club Street also serves up an exciting array of nightlife and dining destinations. With Chinatown's Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) station and several bus-stops a short walk away, you will find Wink the perfect location from which to start exploring Singapore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wink Capsule Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wink Hotel Singapore
Wink Capsule Hostel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing