We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best place to stay. very positive experience.”
Review of Wink Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wink Hostel
Ranked #12 of 230 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“best place to stay. very positive experience.”
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Wink Hostel is the best guest house I ever seen. It is an "hi-end" property somehow, much better than an economic hotel for sure. Really spacious, clean and well maintained. Only black mark is the laundry: really too slow and complicated.

Room Tip: All rooms are fine, ask for a small room maybe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SerGioDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cb h, Owner at Wink Hostel, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
Sorry if the many functions and settings on the laundry machines were confusing....We'll take a serious look on simplifying this without sacrificing the features. Might make sense to put up notices on preferred settings for straight-forward wash, or cover up the dials except for the common settings.

Many thanks for the strong encouragement! Great that you took careful effort to help us be better. Thanks for your stay and feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    234
    40
    7
    2
See reviews for
31
93
348
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Stayed in double pod room. 4 double pods to room. Open pods, but didnt have a problem sleeping. Each pod as it's own lights that automatically turn on when you use your key card to enter the room as to not disturb the other guests.

Only improvement would be to add a table or larger counter surface in the women's bathroom. As girls we bring a lot of toiletries to the bathroom (shampoo, conditioner, razor, makeup, cream, hair brush, toothbrush...) And it would be nice to have a place to put all our stuff!

Besides that, wonderful stay. Great location. Less than 5 min walk to train station. Walking distance to bars

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naradexal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cb h, Owner at Wink Hostel, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Great having you! Yes - we hear you about the bathrooms and will take actions soon. Thanks for taking time to write. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Found this place online but was very suspicious first as every body was saying how great it is. So I thought, lets give it a try. Stayed there for 4 nights and it was outstanding. Perfectly clean, perfect location, and I slept so good because it was so quiet. The pods are just perfect, you hear nobody snoring or doing any other kind of noise, even with ten people in one room. Simply the best. Great big showers with hot waters, and even a kitchen where you can cook. This was my second trip to Singapore, and if I go again I will definitely go there again. Massage shop and bars right next to it. Same goes for the MRT. The only bad thing was, that it was raining every day, but I just chilled the the DVD lounge where you can watch all kind of movies for free or use one of the 6 laptops which are always available. Internet speed is very fast. many food places around, something for every one, even Mc donalds. Staff is is great, especially Cheryl, she really rocks! Keep up the god work guys, u r the best! Greeting from Thailand, see you soon, to have chili crap:-)

Room Tip: Doesn't matter they are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cb h, Owner at Wink Hostel, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Wow - thanks for the great review! We enjoyed having you and have more tips on other places to eat, see and play next time you hop in. Hope your next visit is soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights and was very happy. It is brand new and squeaky clean. The pods are great in giving you the privacy you need. The wifi worked great and there were even net books with headsets so you can use skype so that you don't bother people in your dorm.

The staff was very friendly and very helpful. I also liked the electronic keys. However, the front door is kept open during the day time.

The location is near the Chinatown food street, just two/three blocks away, and my favourite, maxwell food centre. They are both so close and convenient. As well, it's only a 3 minute walk to Chinatown MRT stop. Certain sites are very much accessible by foot. I walked to the river area and all the way to the Marina Bay Sands. If you're a walker then you can easily do it too.

The only awkward part was that I chose a pod on the top bunk to get a little bit more privacy. I think the person who designed the ladder to climb up to the top did not actually TRY to climb it haha. That being said, it takes a little extra talent and maybe balance to climb up and down. Tip, step parallel to the wrung.. I only figured this one out on the last day! Or just choose a bottom bunk. This is just a small thing, I would still choose the top bunk again.

Room Tip: Single sized bed was enough room for me. But you can also book a double. I am not sure what they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peachtree1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cb h, Owner at Wink Hostel, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Yes, food, food, abounds around. Great reminder this is a foodies locale .....

Glad you'd persevere with our top pods next time you visit! We'd have you conduct a coaching clinic now that you have mastered the art of cavorting into the upper pod (meantime, we'd keep pointing to the handy handles at the side).

Thanks for sharing your experiences. We look forward to your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

I stayed a couple of nights here over the weekend. First time in a long time i've stayed in a hostel... first staying in one on my own... and I have to say I loved it.
Friendly, helpful staff... service with a smile!
The pod concept is brilliant and a nice change from the bunk beds of old. Close to the MRT stop... walking distance from Clark Quay, Smack bang in the middle of Chinatown... you can't go wrong. I'd be more than happy to stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cb h, Owner at Wink Hostel, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Hey Mita!
Your cheerfulness and smiles added loads to the place whilst you were here! We are looking forward to welcoming you again during Christmas.

Yes - your pic will be posted and treasured. Thanks and great having you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Stayed a couple nights at this place. One of the nice features is that you can get a double pod, which is great if you're a couple and don't want to be on separate beds. The pod concept, as opposed to bunk beds, is also great, you feel like you have more privacy if needed. The rooms look very cool, which alone makes the place enticing. There's free wifi and since this is Singapore, it's very fast, faster than anything I've seen at 5 star hotels in other countries. The storage space is large and controlled by your keycard, which is convenient. The location is also great, the Chinatown MRT station is just a 2 minute walk, and from there you can go anywhere. Only downside with the rooms is that there's a feature that turns a light on in your pod when you enter the room. It seemed clever at first, but then it wasn't so great when my wife went to sleep and I stayed up. Every time I walked in the room, the light would come on and wake her up!

The hostel lost a few points in the common areas. While the showers are wonderful (big showerheads!), there's no good place to put your clothes while showering. Could definitely use some extra hooks or a shelf or something. The second time I went, I made sure to bring a bag I could put everything into so I could hang it on the lone hook.

Another thing is that outside your air conditioned room, it's unbelievably hot everywhere else in the place. I got out of the shower and found myself sweating already by the time I got out of it after changing and brushing my teeth.

So while there are a few minor issues with the place, it's a great place to stay and a good budget option given the ridiculously high prices of accommodations in Singapore.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cb h, Owner at Wink Hostel, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Hi TM,
Many thanks for taking time to share your thoughts. I am encouraged by your many positives on Wink!

We appreciate and take seriously your points for us to improve:
- Yes, we are putting up hooks, ledges and/or stands in the bathrooms shortly;
- We have overhead and side fans in all communal areas, including the toilets. Your kind feedback is a little surprising - but we'd immediately review the need for better positioning. One possible issue is folks tend to switch these off now and then as they stand alongside switches for heaters, lights etc. We'd also look into more labeling and perhaps having them permanently 'on'.
- The auto-light in our pods are very soft ambient light meant partly to guide occupants to their pods without their having to switch on the common light in the room. It's worked great for single pods but I take onboard your point for double pods. We'd sample more feedback - one option is to mute the soft ambient light even more.

Again thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We stayed here around 5-8 nov 2011.....
+ Its fabulous location, next to Chinatown market and just couples minutes walk from MRT station
+ Very friendly and helpful staff
+ Clean and safe
+ The pods makes you have your own private area even in a dorm
+ Big and long locker
+ Great breakfast and also free coffee and tea all day
+ 6 Notebooks available for internet and high speed wifi
+ Comfortable beds and Aircondition
+ Fridge and kitchen for use
+ Great shower and hair dryer

Thank you for serving us!

Room Tip: Female dorm on level 2 is closer to the bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cb h, Owner at Wink Hostel, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Many thanks for taking time and effort to think through a list for Wink .... Our pleasure to host you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel YAN
#60 of 312 in Singapore
358 reviews
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#84 of 312 in Singapore
667 reviews
Kampong Glam
The Pod - Boutique Capsule Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Adler Luxury Hostel
Adler Luxury Hostel
#5 of 230 in Singapore
596 reviews
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#18 of 230 in Singapore
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wink Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wink Hostel

Property: Wink Hostel
Address: 8A Mosque Street, Singapore 059488, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 230 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wink Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a historic shophouse that's nestled in the cultural heart of Singapore, Wink is a premium Pod hostel that offers travellers private sleeping sanctums that are inviting and decked in plush designer finishing. Want to indulge in a little luxury while on a budget? Looking to meet new friends while mixing it up with fellow travellers in a friendly environment? Then Wink is perfect for you! Our secure tap card system grants access to spacious dorms that are air-conditioned, fully carpeted and furnished with cushy couches, perfect for kicking back and just chilling with pals. Ladies dormitories are available and come complete with vanity counters. All dorms have Wi-Fi access. You will find our custom pods come in unique designs with plentiful headroom and side-allowances, presenting you with a comfortable and individualised space that caters to your needs. Every pod is fitted with ambient backlight, sound resistant walls, a cushy backrest, reading LED light, power socket and smartcard access locker located right at the foot. A 6 inch orthopaedic mattress draped in lush soft linen and accompanied by a sumptuous duvet rounds out the experience. Breakfast is served daily in our guest kitchenette that comes fully equipped with cooking hob, microwave oven, grill and refrigerator. Other facilities include showers & toilets, a relaxing café lounge, internet stations, laundry & ironing and 24 hour reception. Centrally located in bustling Chinatown, Wink is mere minutes away from numerous must-see heritage and cultural attractions. Nearby Clarke Quay and the bohemian Club Street also serves up an exciting array of nightlife and dining destinations. With Chinatown's Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) station and several bus-stops a short walk away, you will find Wink the perfect location from which to start exploring Singapore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wink Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wink Hotel Singapore
Wink Hostel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing