We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this hotel is so dirty and rude manager”
Review of Econ Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Singapore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Econ Inn
Ranked #40 of 79 Singapore B&B and Inns
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“this hotel is so dirty and rude manager”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I travel with my husband+1 daughter, I know the hotel price were really cheap but I don't expect the room will be so dirty, they never clean the air conditioner filter, top of the drawer is full of dust, below the bed full of trashes, if it's not because some my items falling, I will not known the room are really dirty.

Here is more room condition pictures :
http://s1269.photobucket.com/albums/jj591/r-valencia/

My daughter has dust allergic and gotten worse, she had to go to hospital the next day because it is really dirty.

After seeing this condition, I immediately check out the same day I check in and move to Porcelain Hotel. I ask for refund because I already paid for 9 night, but the manager keep giving me other key room to check, I ask him to go see the room together with me but he refuse. I check about 4-6 rooms and all the other rooms condition are same.

The manager blame the Asiarooms and said he couldn't gave me any refund unless Asiarooms agree to it, because the price is promotion price and they usually charge more than this, I say I know it's promotional price but I don't expect I got promotional room condition. I call the Asiarooms customer service and they said the aggrement is between Econ Inn and me as client. Very worse of Econ Inn manager, beware of it!!!

After debating with the manager, he agree to refund me 7 night, eventhough I never stay single night on the hotel. He even say if your daughter has allergic don't stay at our hotel, stay at hospital, very rude!! My daughter has allergic and we stay on different hotel like this but never had any problem she has to hospitalized because the room never cleaned!

If you prioritize your health, please avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rnvalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    7
    15
    8
    13
See reviews for
5
14
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I stayed at Econ Inn in June 2012 for a few days. It is very basic- room was small and did not have a window so was very dark. The ensuite was of a good size. Air conditioning was loud but functioned. A fridge is provided as well as a hair dryer and a complimentary bottle of water. The bed is comfortable. It is covered by a sheet and has a pillow but there is no sheet to cover with. There is a blanket but these are presumably not washed so bring your own sheet.

The room and bathroom were fairly clean. Location is excellent- approx 5 mins walk from Chinatown MRT station and 5 mins walk from lively Club Street which has many restaurants and bars. Staff were friendly.

All in all, not a bad place to stay if you do not want to stay in a dorm in a hostel but you're on a budget - Singapore is not cheap! Econ Inn is fine if you're going to be out for most of the day and just need somewhere clean, cool and private to crash at night.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmds0426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Vila, Vanuatu
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Singapore hotel prices are crazy, so this place is a bit of a relief. We have stayed here in 2011 (under previous name) and again now under the new management. It's the same. The price is about right (by Singapore standards, this isn't Bangkok people!).

The standard (aka deluxe) rooms don't have windows and this is claustrophobic. This year we paid a little more for the "superior" room with a window a little bit more floor space. That's an extra $20 or so well spent.

There may be cheaper places nearby as some reviewers said, but I could not find them online. If you want to book online this place is great.

They charged me an extra $50 because I checked in at 7am after an overnight flight rather than usual 2pm check in. I arranged this in advance by email and I thought it was quite reasonable. Larger hotels often cannot accommodate this.

Really I have no complains. It ain't the Shangri La but for around S$100-120 per night, it's a good value option for this expensive city. It's safe and clean with good wifi. Can't really ask for more than that.

Oh I will observe that the shower is in the bedroom, separated by a frosted glass wall. This is fine for me and my wife, but I suppose if you are traveling with a friend it would be weird.

Room Tip: The superior rooms are worth the little extra for the window and extra space. However the price you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagicTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I stayed in Econ inn last 19june 2012 in a deluxe room. The room and bathroom looks dirty. The wall in the bathroom and wall in the room has many black spots. The carpet not clean . No window in the room. No way to hang your clothes. You can also hear the voices outside the corridor. Its very frustating because the picture in the Agoda.com is quite nice, but its all LIE. . Its very very different. If i could only refund the payment and look for other hotel but its not refundable. I will not ever recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Pls look for other hotel..there are more hotels nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

walking distance from mrt station. nearby food court, restaurant, shopping.
my holiday of 4 person include my sis and parent. 3days 2 night.
the room of 4 was a bit small with onli 1 aircon. still ok for the price.
bad thing is, no place to hang my cloths, no slipper provided, no bath mat, bath tower, no window!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arkeaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2012

while i calling to check booking whether can upgrade my room, the receptionist was cut down my line and when i call second time, she was hand up and without anwering my phone!
this was the service that you give to customer? Feel dissapointed for it !

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tang123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Econ Inn is situated in Chinatowm, can easily be reched by mrt station chinatown, only 2 minutes walk. The hotel is basic, i had a standard room without windows. No servive, no bar or restaurant. The price i paid was high, next door are many cheaper hotels. Best was the situation and that is was a safe place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
Hotel Mono
Hotel Mono
#136 of 315 in Singapore
56 reviews
Chinatown
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Chinatown
The Inn at Temple Street
The Inn at Temple Street
#175 of 315 in Singapore
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Southbridge Hotel
The Southbridge Hotel
#2 of 79 in Singapore
235 reviews
Chinatown
Burrow Hostel at Smith
Burrow Hostel at Smith
#49 of 231 in Singapore
55 reviews
Chinatown
Maple Lodge at Chinatown
Maple Lodge at Chinatown
#82 of 231 in Singapore
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econ Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econ Inn

Property: Econ Inn
Address: 18 Mosque Street, Chinatown, Singapore, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Singapore
Number of rooms: 46
Also Known As:
Econ Inn Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing