We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Way to Start Your Singapore Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Orchard Scotts Residences by Far East Hospitality
Ranked #20 of 223 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
“Great Way to Start Your Singapore Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

I am an expat and my family has lived overseas for about the last 8 years. Singapore is an easy transition, but the Orchard Scotts Residences (OSR) made our transition even easier. My wife stayed in the USA to finish her Master's degree, so I was a single parent to my 16 year-old daughter. OSR made that easier. It is about 200 meters from the Newton MRT station so transportation is simple. It is across the street from the Newton food court, so I could pick up dinner if I had to work late and was not able to stop at the market or cook.

The units are spacious with nice furnishings.

This would have rated an Excellent but for the limited breakfast food selection, and limited cable channels. These are not major issues, but separate the Very Good from the Excellent.

All in all, I would recommend this accommodation to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaramjitKaur, Manager at Orchard Scotts Residences by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear William N

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at OSR. Thank you for highlighting the convenience of our location, especially for your transportation and F&B needs.

Looking forward to your next visit to OSR.

Regards
Karamjit Kaur
Residence Manager
kaur@fareast.com.sg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    83
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
160
12
4
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

This property is located at a very good location... 3 mins walk to the nearest MRT Station (Newton Station) also 5 mins walk to Newton Food Court... Perfect location for food and transport... As for the environment of this property... its beautiful... Swimming pool, spa and jacuzzi inside the property as well... 1 bad thing... we found fur during check in on our bed... thats the only bad part of my stay with my family... along with children...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShoggyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaramjitKaur, Manager at Orchard Scotts Residences by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Shoggi T

Thank you for choosing OSR as your home during your recent visit to Singapore. We are glad that you enjoyed the grounds and do apologize for the lapse in service. Your feedback is valuable to us and it is much appreciated.

We look forward to having you stay with us once again at Orchard Scotts.

Regards
Karamjit Kaur
Residence Manager
kaur@fareast.com.sg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed for several weeks at an Orchard Scotts serviced apartment while our shipment was in transit. What lovely public spaces! Gorgeous gardens, amazing swimming pools, nice gym, tennis courts, underground parking, kid play areas, cabanas, gazebo spaces you can book to have catered events. Architects spent much time designing the walkways and common areas. Our unit, a 3-bedroom Premiere, provided plenty of space. Nice furnishings, lots of storage in thoughtful places, nice marble floors, wonderful shower in the master bath. Kitchen is rather plain, with simple supplies and few cooking items. We brought in take-away from the nearby Newton hawker center most evenings. Newton MRT is less than 5 minutes walk.

We enjoyed the service, management assistance and location. Housekeeping wasn't all that thorough (dusty on surfaces, nothing much moved around to clean better) but it was nice to have the place cared for 6 days a week. Continental breakfast on weekdays was nice but it starts too late. For business folks or SAS students who start their days early, it would have been nice if breakfast was served starting at 6:30 am. The only other difficulty we had was confirming taxi bookings with the management office. Sometimes it worked great, sometimes we had trouble getting a taxi there.

I highly recommend this residence. Location, design, common areas, quality of furnishings are all you need, especially when starting out in Singapore. For residents, adding more kitchen items and cabinet space would be necessary.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaramjitKaur, Manager at Orchard Scotts Residences by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Ken S

It has been a pleasure having you and your family stay here with us during your transition in Singapore. We couldn’t have described OSR facilities and grounds any better than you.

We look forward to having you stay with us again, in the near future.


Regards
Karamjit Kaur
Residence Manager
kaur@fareast.com.sg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We recently re-located to Singapore and r staying here for around 3 weeks now...n am Loving every moment of r stay here !!
Right from a Lovely n Warm Welcome by eve-smiling staff to the welcome tour ..everything was wll conducted.The Breakfast is really good and has a different variety everyday.
This place is just the Right place for Families as well as single persons...Families because they have a Fantastic Pool, sauna , well equipped gym n a v good security system,n singles because with soo many kids splashing around in the pool n sss many people moving around , u will not feel lonely :)
N the Best is they have Awesome programmes like Hi-Tea, Zumba ,Pilates n Yoga ( by the Most Amazing Teachers !!)
Well , i'm really having a great time here n looking forward to many more interesting events during my stay here !!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonaRanadive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaramjitKaur, Manager at Orchard Scotts Residences by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear MonaRanadive

OSR is thrilled to have you as one of our Resident! It has been a pleasure having you at all our events, activities and celebrations. Look out for more activities coming your way soon. In the meantime, enjoy the workout and life Orchard Scotts style.

Regards
Karamjit Kaur
Residence Manager
kaur@fareast.com.sg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We are staying here, with our dog, while we wait to move in to a more permanent place. Firstly, the place accommodates dogs - and you see quite a few around, many of them reasonably large, all well behaved. The apartment is large and well appointed. Some of the rooms have frosted windows, so we felt like we were in a prison, so we asked to move, which they did with no fuss. On my daughter's birthday they turned up with a cake. The pools are great, with lots of variety, and the gym is excellent. For food there is Newton Circus about 200m away, and if you want to get on the SMRT it's even closer - and is one stop from Orchard Road.

Room Tip: Ask for a room without frosted windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pingp0ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaramjitKaur, Manager at Orchard Scotts Residences by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear PingpOng

Thank you for choosing Orchard Scotts Residences as your home during your stay in Singapore. We are glad that you found our location and facilities ideal for your family as well and your pet.

We look forward to having you stay with us soon.

Regards
Karamjit Kaur
Residence Manager
Orchard Scotts Residences
kaur@fareast.com.sg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We went to Orchard Scotts twice over the last two months staying around 17 days there overall. It was an enjoyable stay where we did not encounter many problems. The apartment was well cleaned and the management were quick to respond to requests like the need for an extra towel. The concierge was very useful (James if I remember correctly) at helping us book the basketball court and lending us balls. Although there should have been some notice telling us that the courts were being closed for re-painting and cleaning.
On the second stay we checked in at a late hour and August was very helpful in taking us to our room (the same one as the previous trip) so it was easy to settle in. The inclusion of MIO TV was really good and allowed us to watch pre-season football at night. The gym was excellent, full of well maintained machines and air con.
On a small note there was no bottle opener or pots in the room so the kitchen was a tad under equipped. The checkout procedure was a bit troublesome as the lady did not turn up on time thus hindering out efforts to get to the airport.
It was a pleasant stay and we will definitely be returning there in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaramjitKaur, Manager at Orchard Scotts Residences by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Tim O

In our continuous efforts to improve and maintain Orchard Scotts Residences, it was unfortunate that the court was not available during part of your stay. We have circulars sent to all apartments as well as in the common notice board on all ongoing maintenance/rectification being carried out in the common areas. In this case, we were repainting the Basketball Court.

We have replaced the traditional pots with Corning ware which is safe for microwave, oven, freezer and stovetop cooking. In addition, we do provide pots, had this been requested for during your stay.

Glad that you enjoyed the facilities, entertainment and sports channels we have at OSR.

Both James and August are thrilled to have a special mention in your review, which is very much appreciated.

Do drop us a note when you plan your next visit to OSR, so we could make the necessary arrangements for your stay.

We look forward to having you with us soon.

Regards
Karamjit Kaur
Residence Manager
Orchard Scotts Residences
kaur@fareast.com.sg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We chose this place for our longer stay (2 months) until we found a house to move in. Staff is incredibly nice, always there to help. Breakfast is good, variety is fine but after a while you get tired - does not chance much. Pool is pretty good and always full of kids, has tennis courts, plenty of parking (free), very confortable beds, cable, a/c all around, very safe, gym is also very good. Location is also a plus, walking distance from Orchard and 2 minutes from Newton MRT.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosca789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaramjitKaur, Manager at Orchard Scotts Residences by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Rosca789

Thank you for the review.

We are glad that OSR catered well to your relocation needs and we wish you a continued pleasant stay in Singapore.

Regards
Karamjit Kaur
Residence Manager
kaur@fareast.com.sg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Fraser Suites Singapore
#24 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Orchard Parksuites by Far East Hospitality
Orchard Road
Regency House by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard Scotts Residences by Far East Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Scotts Residences by Far East Hospitality

Property: Orchard Scotts Residences by Far East Hospitality
Address: 5 Anthony Road | #14-09, Singapore 229954, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 223 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Orchard Scotts Residences by Far East Hospitality 5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orchard Scotts is a premier development located amidst the serenity of Cairnhill Road and Anthony Road, next to Newton MRT. The development is only a ten-minute stroll from the bustling shopping paradise of Orchard Road.Its arresting modernistic design is the brainchild of Arquitectonica, the world-renowned firm responsible for urban architectural legends such as The Westin New York at Times Square. Designed with the discerning elite in mind, the Orchard Scotts' lifestyle epitomizes luxury and elegance. Our sprawling landscape spans some 2.5 hectares, allowing you the experience of vast, unadulterated space, where urbanite sensibilities co-exist in harmony with nature. Awards: FIABCI Prix d'Excellence Award 2009 (Residential Category),Landscape Industry Association Award 2009 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Orchard Scotts Residences by Far East Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard Scotts Residences By Far East Hospitality Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing