We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!”
Review of Five Stones Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Five Stones Hostel
Ranked #22 of 230 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

That is the most important feature of this accommodation.
We stayed her for one night in a private room, without a window.
Staff are very friendly and helpful.
Showers and bathroom were clean and ok.
The room however was not brightly clean.
All together this place is not cheap but recommended because of its perfect location.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aarjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiveStonesHostel, Owner at Five Stones Hostel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Hi,

Thanks for taking the time to post your review and for pointing out areas that you think we can do better at - which we will. As you point out our location is perfect, and we will attend to the areas of improvement. Thanks so much for staying at Five Stones Hostel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    166
    45
    8
    6
See reviews for
20
102
154
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

For my first solo trip abroad with my friends, we went to Singapore. We browsed through the net for affordable hostels and were attracted by the themed rooms. Great room and great service! Love the cute five stones cushion and the fluffy comforter. Location was good as there was a bus stop in front of it and clark quay mrt station can be reached by leisurely walking. I will definitely stay here again when I go back to Singapore!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiveStonesHostel, Owner at Five Stones Hostel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Hi,

I am so glad that we helped to make your first solo trip such a success. Please come back soon as we would love to look after you again at Five Stones Hostel. As you point out our location is idea as a Singapore base :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I was attracted by the themed room. during my stay, it was above my expectations: elevator, near to MRT, very friendly staffs,a very cozy living area (with large TV and DVD plus computers and a very speedy WIFI), breakfast is superb. they enforce simple rule to make our stay more pleasant. bathroom are also a plus here...
I will definitely coming back here.

Room Tip: choose mixed bedroom. you will encounter new friends from all around the world. and yes they do very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hadi_lukito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiveStonesHostel, Owner at Five Stones Hostel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for the kind review of our hostel, and especially the fact that you mentioned our friendly staff. We think they are great as well :) Hopefully we will be able to take care of you again soon. Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Rooms were cramped but each bed had your own lamp and plug. There seems to be long term stayers here, a guy in our dorm was very inconsiderate when he got up at 6am putting on the main lights and got dressed into his suite. He also opened the curtains.

Breakfast is toast and cereal. Staff are lovely and helpful. Shower was ok.

Good location though. Would stay again, it all depends who is sharing your room!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baileysblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiveStonesHostel, Owner at Five Stones Hostel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Five Stones Hostel, and especially for your comments on our great staff.

We understand your comments about how the actions of other guests can have an effect on the comfort of your stay, most of our guests are fantastic and get on really well together. In fact meeting other travelers is the main reason that many of our guests stay at a Fives Stones Hostel rather than a hotel. This is also the reason that we discourage long term stays, we believe our hostel is a place for travellers from all over the world to meet and that it is not simply a great place to stay.

We are very much looking forward to hosting you again at Five Stones Hostel, the friendliest hostel in Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2012

My title says it all. This hostel is equally good as the hotels in Singapore. Not only it's cheap, it's beautiful, you can access to any form of public transport here. It's location is really well placed, so if you want to have a beer, or a late night supper, it's just a 5 minute or less walk from the hostel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan240993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiveStonesHostel, Owner at Five Stones Hostel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Ryan, thank you for your review of our hostel, it is great that you enjoyed your visit to Singapore. Our themed rooms try to capture what is great about our country and I am glad that we helped you enjoy what it has to offer. Please come again. Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Stayed for one night...Very impressed with the place...cheap as chips...recommended if you ever around this part of Singapore...books out quick in the weekend so we were very lucky to get in early...advice would be to reserve online first to beat the queue...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiveStonesHostel, Owner at Five Stones Hostel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Heki, thank you for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it. I guess you will be back facing the winter in Palmy. Hopefully memories of your stay at Fivestones will keep you warm until summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatsuno, Japan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2012

My fiancee and I stayed for 4 days and 5 nights at this hostel. The location was alright and it was nice that it was very close to an MRT station. The staff was very helpful and friendly and the place overall was rather clean. The lounge area was nice with a lot of books to read and movies to watch. It was nice having a free breakfast and unlimited hot drinks and water. The few downsides were that: we were both charged a $20 fee (for a total of $40) for the key card but only one card was given to us and we only received $20 back; my fiancee and I both had problems sleeping in our beds and I would wake up with back and shoulder pain; our room always had a sickening "cleaning product" smell which neither of us enjoyed; the door to our shared dorm room was never locked so we felt having a key was redundant; the water pressure in the showers could have been stronger and there was a bad smell from the showers; the sinks also didn't drain well; we wished there had been better cleaning done since there was hair all over the bathroom floor and sinks.

Room Tip: If you can afford it and it is available, I suggest getting a private dorm room. It was sometimes a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiveStonesHostel, Owner at Five Stones Hostel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Christina, thank you for taking the time to write a review, and to point out areas that we can do better. Your thoughtful feedback allows us to improve and improve we will. If you send me your contact details (mark@fivestoneshostel.com) I will send you the money for the key deposit. Sorry about that. Come back again soon and we will show you the improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Chinatown
Wink Hostel
Wink Hostel
#12 of 230 in Singapore
679 reviews
Chinatown
Adler Luxury Hostel
Adler Luxury Hostel
#6 of 230 in Singapore
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampong Glam
The Pod - Boutique Capsule Hostel
Fisher BnB
#3 of 230 in Singapore
405 reviews
Little India
Bunc Hostel
Bunc Hostel
#46 of 230 in Singapore
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Five Stones Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Stones Hostel

Property: Five Stones Hostel
Address: 285 Beach Road Five Stones Hostel At Beach Road | 8 minutes from Bugis MRT, Singapore 199550, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Kampong Glam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 230 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Five Stones Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Singapore's best and friendliest hostel! With each of our rooms featuring interesting designs, Five Stones Hostel gives Singapore cultural elements a refreshing new lease of life. Quirky designs and decor characterize our spanking new boutique hostel. Boasting one of the best beds among Singapore hostels (8 inch orthopaedic spring mattresses, no less) and conveniently located within 10mins walking distance to the majority of Singapore's key tourist attractions, it's the latest addition to the plethora of high quality budget accommodation in Singapore which blurs the line between hostel and hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Five Stones Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5 Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hotel Singapore
Five Stones Hostel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing