We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice bunk and good environment” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pillow.Talk Backpacker's Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pillow.Talk Backpacker's Hostel
Ranked #119 of 226 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
PJ
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice bunk and good environment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

I booked a bunk for 2 nights and I must say after staying in other backpackers in Singapore prior to Pillow.Talk hostel, I find that I'm most comfortable with the washroom in this hostel. The washroom in 2-in-1 in which there's shower and toilet bowl in the same room. The bed is comfortable and I can sleep the whole night through and the fee you pay is inclusive of a small locker located under the bunk. The staff are friendly and helpful. The cons will be limited washrooms and each dorm is separated with large curtains.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeannietcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    40
    16
    2
    7
See reviews for
2
9
54
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mandaluyong City, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

I was happy to have stayed in this Hostel... the place is nice and I think the facilities are good enough for my needs since I am not really a meticulous person :) The price is really affordable and the place is safe. Most of all the staff are very nice... I appreciate their friendliness and hospitality to the guests. If ever I will be going back to Singapore I will sure do go back in this hostel... Keep up the good work Pillow Talk~~!!!

I am rating the hostel excellent because of the nice people and hospitality that made me so comfortable to stay in here :)

Haven't tried the fitness center and the pool (because of the rude lifeguard)

Room Tip: since the bed is double-deck better yet choose the one below..the upper bed (the one that I had) was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainier13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

I went here with my friends we had fun, the bed was very cozy, the facility is really good
The best thing about this hotel is the STAFF!! Really friendly, and really warm and accommodating, breakfast is really good , Close to the MRT and the Wi-fi is really good also
Overall rating is 5/5

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulo279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

I was very happy with the comfortable common room and the friendly staff. The hostel was also within walking distance with the MRT so it was convenient to travel around. The owner was also very friendly, she came in the morning and greeted the travelers personally. The hostel also prepared special stuff for mid-autumn festival, but we didnt get to see it since we left right before. One of the downside is that there is little privacy since the rooms are only separated with curtains, but it was good enough for us.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lnugroho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Having travelled around Asia for 3 months on a budget I'd like to think we'd stayed in our fair share of hostels/guesthouses and this was by far the worst. At $25+/night, we expected a 12 bedded dorm (as advertised) not 36. The room is separated by curtains meaning it's one big warehouse and therefore very noisy. I also expected more than 2 showers between 36 people + staff. In our two nights there, the combined shower/toilets weren't cleaned which meant they were pretty disgusting. The tiny reception area acts as a communal area, but with room for barely 4/5 people it meant you often couldn't chill out there. Although it came in handy at 3am when we had to sleep out there for a few hours thanks to it being so noisy inside the 'dorm'/warehouse. Having stayed in Singapore 3 times now, I've stayed in two much nicer hostels both of which were cheaper. The only good thing about PillowTalk were the staff who were lovely, however this doesn't even begin to make up for the hostel's other inadequacies

Room Tip: There aren't any - it's one big warehouse!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EmilyD1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stay at the Pillow Talk Back Hostel is an event that is not planned because hostel were previously ordered did not match our expectations. so while walking to find another hotel, We found this hostel. Comfortable, clean and his staff is friendly, quite noisy with other visitor coz ur room just separated by curtain and i think need more bathroom. overall it's good recommendations for budget Backpackerian :).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidLah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JAkarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

I had a great time in this hostel,, I've never stay in a hostel before.. But this hostel is very hommy, vicente and iku are really nice staff, they're treat me like A friend, very helpfull,, and also all the guest in this hostel are very friendly

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Putri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
0.1 mi away
Traveller@SG
Traveller@SG
#58 of 226 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.8 mi away
Coziee Lodge
Coziee Lodge
#82 of 226 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.2 mi away
GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
ABC Premium Hostel
ABC Premium Hostel
#87 of 226 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gap Year Hostel
Gap Year Hostel
#91 of 226 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moni Gallery Hostel
Moni Gallery Hostel
#89 of 226 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pillow.Talk Backpacker's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pillow.Talk Backpacker's Hostel

Property: Pillow.Talk Backpacker's Hostel
Address: 5 Hamilton Road, Singapore 209177, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 226 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Pillow.Talk Backpacker's Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pillow.Talk Back Packer's Hostel=========== A hostel by avid backpackers, we seek to touch and inspire fellow backpackers, in our own ways, when our paths crossed. If you share the hunger to live life to the fullest and to immerse yourself in this world crammed with wonders, if you share our above thoughts and feelings, come to our hostel, your perfect channel for strangers' paths to cross and become friends.The information solid, the people so true, the thought to travel is endlessly inspiring.Pillow Chambers=============Our bunks are specially designed and separated by dreamy drapes to giving relax and comfy sensation. We aim to provide both privacy and an option for interaction too! Coming in as groupies? Our bunks layout can be alter to suit your needs. Relax & Chill=============Our communal area is filled with rugs and colored cushions, giving visions of the most laid-back mood that you are looking for, with a homely touch. Come stay with us, and experience the exclusivity yourself! Value - Added Services =========== * Morning Breakfast * Iron and Ironing Board * Hair Dryer * Travel Magazines ** Lockers * Books * DVDs * Games * Check-Out Day Luggage Storage ** PC/Internet Access * Wireless * Tourist Maps * Nominal Fees Services======== * Towel Rental SGD$2 * Adaptor SGD$3 * Laundry Services SGD$3 * Dryer SGD$3 ** Black and White Printing Services SGD0.20 * Airport Transfer SGD$8 * * Bicycle Rental SGD$15/Day * Location========A historical white shop house situated in the Backpacker's Region in Central Singapore, We are located at 5 Hamilton Road with just 5-10 minutes walk to:1. Lavender MRT2. Bus Interchange to Malaysia3. Multi-purpose sports complex and swimming pool4. 24-Hour Coffee Shops5. 24-Hour Convenient Shop6. Little India and 24-Hour Mustafa Shopping Centre7. City Square shopping mall And a short bus/train ride to Marina Bay Casino, Clark Quay-Singapore River, Orchard Road and many tourist attractions in Singapore. Additional Information =========== • Pillow.Talk reserves the right to decline guests whom are deemed unsuitable for Hostel Environment• Minimum age: above 12 years • Latest check-out time 1200 / Earliest check-in time 1400 • Please indicate arrival timing, reservations will be released 2 hours after check in time or arrival time given • If guests arrive after reception opening hours, please ring the bell or contact PIC as found in door sign• Main lights out in dorm at 2300 daily. Individual night lights available after lights out • Full payment upon check in by cash only ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Pillow.Talk Backpacker's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pillow.Talk Backpacker's Hostel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing