We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, cozy, comfortable hostel with hospitable staff in a great neighborhood” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Matchbox The Concept Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Matchbox The Concept Hostel
Ranked #49 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Clean, cozy, comfortable hostel with hospitable staff in a great neighborhood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

Location and accessibility: Very good! Hostel is located in a quiet street lined with very good looking buildings, boutiques, cafes and restaurants. Walking distance from Chinatown MRT (Purple line) and Tanjong Pagar (green line). It is also only a minute walk from Maxwell Hawker Center where you can get really good food at a very affordable price (try the Hainanese Chicken rice at Tian Tian stall). Very near Chinatown where you can buy souvenir items. If you are tired of Hawker centers, Ann Siang Rd. is full of high-end cafes and restaurants which you can choose from.

Rooms and Pods: It is the same as the photos thus has met expectations. Clean rooms, nice temperature from aircon. Electric fans also available for those on the lower pods. Lockers are available for your personal items. You can also leave your luggage in the corner if it is too big for the locker. Room I stayed in also smells Very Good! There is a room air sanitizer that emits a really nice smell every few minutes. For me, it smells like Atis (a Philippine fruit). We were also very fortunate to have very considerate and quiet roommates(except for the snoring at night).

All-Day breakfast: 3-in-1 coffee, orange juice, apple juice, white sliced bread, strawberry jam, Nutella and Skippy!!! Yum, yum! They also have coffee pods available for sale. Skippy and Nutella seemed to have ran out on our 1st morning but was available again on the succeeding mornings. Very small complaint: there seems to be little room where you can eat and drink coffee. The loft on the 3rd floor has one table that can accommodate 2 people and a coffee table (if you are ok with sitting on the floor, this is OK).

Showers and toilets: very clean. Hot shower available. Body wash and shampoo available for use. Best to bring your own shampoo, conditioner and soap.

Staff: Very accommodating and hospitable! Special HI to Adrian. :)

Other amenities: Strong wifi. We fell in love with the iSqueeze as well (legs and feet massager). So many books but we didn't have time to browse through them. Boad games available as well.

I highly recommend Matchbox to those who would like to try hostels. Will definitely be back with friends the next time around.:)

Room Tip: Lower pods are better especially if you're very tired from all the sightseeing and shopping. Mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maan101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    93
    26
    6
    6
See reviews for
4
43
94
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

I don't usually stay at hostels, but I thought the "flash" meant that it would be a lot nicer than a normal hostel. I have trouble sleeping if people are talking right next to me or if it is really bright, so I couldn't sleep here. The women's dorm is directly next to the lobby and a hallway that goes to the rest of the hostel, so I could hear the desk staff and people in the hallway talking. There was a sign that said "quiet after 11pm" but it was ignored, the noise and lights on continued until after 1am (but it was very quiet in the morning until 11am when I left). The women's dorm also had a huge EXIT sign glowing all night.

I didn't see any of these fancy toiletries advertised. There was a sad, cheap plastic shelf in the girls dorm with half used products like lotion and hairspray. The bathrooms had method body wash and generic 2in1 shampoo. The ipod player was an ipod player sitting on the floor next to the garbage can. With 10 women packed in like sardines in a room smaller than my bedroom, it would have been awful if someone blasted music.

There was only a tiny sliver of floor space for bags, many bags were kept in the bathroom area. No place to keep your clothes and toiletries when you went to the bathroom (like a shelf). The "lockers" were the floor underneath the beds with a simple wooden door with lock.

Anyway, after not being able to sleep all night, I woke up with a really bad cold and decided to check into a hotel instead. This hostel may be nicer than other hostels in Singapore, but that would mean that other hostels in Singapore are truly awful. Which is possible. But don't stay here if you are used to staying in hotels, or if you can't sleep in noisy, bright rooms.

By the way, I noticed all the 5 star reviews for this hostel are from reviewers with only 1-4 reviews. Just pointing it out.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the women's dorm unless you want to hear every sound from the lobby and hallwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank powerrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

I have stayed 2 months in Singapour and i have been in many hostel.
This one is the best because of its location and the staff.
This Hostel attract good people, some even leave their iphone on the bed for all day and it is still there at the end of the day.
The bathroom is perfect, shower hot, wc clean, kitchen is enough for breakfast.
Beds are confortable matchbox like with a cosy boutique flair.
Even in the 20 bed dorms i have never been upset by other people. it is like u have ur own room.
So don't hesitate if you don't want to waste your stay in Singapour due to poor hostel poor staff poor people, GO for MATCHBOX.
And they did not even pay me to write this review....

Room Tip: you have no choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stefankaluza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

Everything about this place was amazing - staff = uuber lovely and helpful and kind. Bathrooms = clean, spacious & good showers! Kitchen = small but came with breakfast/teas coffees etc. Hang out/chill zones = awesome; a smaller room downstairs with bean bags and a free incredible foot/back massager, and a 'loft' area with everything from bean bags, to a big tv, to swings! So fun and colourful. Beds = super comfy and cosy; really personal and pretty private. Air-con = always working and such a blessing! Security = great; small lockers for personals, locked rooms, 24hr reception. Free-bees = fantastic; bathroom toiletries, female cosmetics, free-loaned hairdryers etc and even small laptops!
The oonnllllyyy 2 small complaints I have is in a room of 12 girls there is no floor space at all so super crowded/awkward unless youre rooming with nice girls/dont mind packing in the hallway. And there is only one washing machine/dryer and you cant run both at the same time.
Other than that, seriously lovely, bright, clean place to stay in a very convenient location right by Chinatown and about a 5min walk from 2 different tube stops.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaJ570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

Stayed here in Feb on a stop-over holiday to South Africa. Absolutely stunning hostel that, if it weren't for the shared rooms and amenities, would put many a hotel to shame.

CHECK-IN: I checked in at 2am in the morning since my flight arrived so late and had no problem being helped. I was quickly checked in and shown around.
SLEEPING ROOMS: Clean, and the cubicles are such a great idea to give everyone some privacy. Reading light, "headrest" and peep/chatting hole for if your friend is in the cubicle next to you.
BATHROOMS: Clean, bright, warm water and complimentary toiletries were even provided.
BREAKFAST: Standard continental breakfast of coffee/tea and toast. Had chocolate spread! Yum.
PRICE: Dirt cheap for what you got, even if not the cheapest by hostel standards.

Was so impressed, I tried to stay there again on my return leg back to Asia. Unfortunately I waited too long and clearly many people know how great this little hostel is, because it was fully booked. Book in advance cause you don't want to miss this one.

Room Tip: Ask for a bottom "cubicle". It's much easier to get in an out of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SOLTATIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

I stayed in this hotel with 7 of my friend. We stay here for almost a week at the female bedroom. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, Meg was the one who is constantly in charge. Since the beginning of our arrival, Meg is always being helpful and always giving us some useful information.
The hotel itself located in the funky ann siang road, which 10 minutes away from either MRT Tanjong Pagar or Chinatown. My first impression after meg took me around was "This is even better than in the photo". The rooms were almost the same as in the pic, so was the clean bathroom and the cool attic. Not to mention there is also a massaging room. We also can have a free flow of food and beverages (cereal, bread and jam, several kinds of juices and milk). In addition, there is a foodcourt few minutes away from the hostel.
The only flaw for me was it's location, which is not that close to the MRT station. So whenever we feel extremely tired after walking around singapore for the whole day, we still have to manage to walk from the MRT station to the hostel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hasea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

Perfect location. Attention to detail. Personalized experience. Going the extra mile, every time, all the time.

Aside from the location (Ann Siang Road is PERFECT for backpackers/flashpackers - Orchard is overrated), what sold me the most about this hostel is the fact that you get such a customized experience in a place that’s just bursting with so much personality.

Matchbox actually gives you MORE than what you paid for. The pod-style beds were just the right size, gave me the privacy that I needed. All the amenities were more than satisfactory - they even had a hairdryer & curling iron in the ladies' dorm! I had such a hassle-free, comfortable, safe stay in Singapore - thanks to this hostel. (Big plus: The owners are so friendly and accommodating!)

One of my best hostel experiences ever, without exaggeration. I’d recommend it in a heartbeat, a hundred times over :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arriane0629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#55 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
Chinatown
Adler Luxury Hostel
Adler Luxury Hostel
#5 of 227 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Chinatown
Fernloft China Town
Fernloft China Town
#91 of 227 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
iStay.inn Singapore
iStay.inn Singapore
#125 of 227 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Chinatown
No photo provided
Heritage Hostel
#155 of 227 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Chinatown
The Club
The Club
#15 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matchbox The Concept Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matchbox The Concept Hostel

Property: Matchbox The Concept Hostel
Address: 39 Ann Siang Road, Singapore 069716, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated near Chinatown, Tanjong Pagar and Telok Ayer MRT Stations, Matchbox The Concept Hostel is the best one-stop pod hostel to stay at during your adventure in Singapore. With two famous hawker centers - Amoy Street Food Centre and Maxwell Road Hawker Centre -located just minutes away from our doorstep, you can definitely eat your fill of the many delicacies of Singapore. If that's not what you are looking for, fret not, as we are certain that one of the surrounding cafes, restaurants and bars will be able to satisfy your cravings. Besides that, we also provide complimentary daily breakfast, as well as, free flow of coffee, tea, milk and juice to kick-start your day. Not sure where to go to after having your meal? Feel free to check with any of our friendly staff who will be more than happy to provide you with maps, tips and information on the best places to visit in Singapore. No matter whether you are more interested in culture, history, shopping, entertainment or relaxation, we are absolutely sure that we will be able to find something that will suit your needs. In addition, enjoy special discounts when you purchase attraction tickets from us during your stay. After a long day of exploring Singapore, we know that your feet and back might be sore. Hence, Matchbox offers you exclusive complimentary use of our full-body massage chair, neck massager and foot massager. Moreover, we also provide you with two pillow choices - hard and soft pillows -to ensure that you will have a good and comfortable rest for another day of adventure. Want to say a few words to your friend sleeping in the pod beside you before you sleep? Simply unlock the creatively designed peep holes that we offer between our pods. However, if you are too lazy to entertain your chatty friend, you may wish to lock up your side of the peep hole so that he/she won't disturb you (Kidding! We hope you won't do that to your friend! Haha!). For added privacy, Matchbox also offers satin curtains for each of our pods as we believe in providing you with a good night's sleep. So what are you waiting for? Book with us now as our friendly team can't wait to welcome you at our hostel!:) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Matchbox The Concept Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matchbox The Concept Hostel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing