We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting and tasty food with value for money”
Review of Yang Gui Fei

Yang Gui Fei
Ranked #5,932 of 10,676 Restaurants in Singapore
Cuisines: Chinese
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Interesting and tasty food with value for money”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is the second time we've been here. What we liked were the tasty dishes which are not on a standard Singapore Chinese restaurant menu.

The atmosphere is pretty basic and the decor too, but there is a good mix of hot, cold and spicy meat and veg dishes to satisfy all palates.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emerald_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    7
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Tasty food for late evening street dining”
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Firstly, late evening Smith Street is closed to cars and rough tables are placed outside. So this review is based on a few good male mates having a good tasty meal, all washed down by street hawkers selling big bottles of Tiger beer. We were not seated inside at any point. The service was friendly enough once she figured out we were hungry, liked spicy, meat dishes and were not too picky. We tended to go for meat dishes without worrying about authenticity. That said there were a good number of Chinese people indoors eating away, looking happy, which is always a good sign in a Singapore restaurant. The food was good, the company were happy and the price of food and beer was reasonable. This Smith Street outside dining is not for people looking for napkins or even table cloths. A note of caution, they are 'renovating' this area of Smith Street, so things may change.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank DustyBillBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A pot luck find”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Fantastic, authentic Chinese food on a busy street in China town. It was pot luck that we chose this restaurant but we were so glad we did.
The rack of lamb ribs was amazing as were the green veg cooked in garlic which were served piping hot and fresh.
the fried rice was also really good. the sweet and sour chicken and 'Chinese burger' were nice but not as nice as the other dishes.
they were very accommodating and did a special dish, not on the menu, for our 3 year old who is a fussy eater. she had sliced fish balls in a soup which was also delicious.
the menu was easy to read and what we found very useful was the spice guide. 0,1,2 or 3 chillies to indicate the level of spice was very easy to understand and accurate.

if you're wandering around china town looking for somewhere to eat, don't hesitate, just go for this place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tinaranft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Don't let the wooden stools fool you... the Chines food is scrumptous !”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We liked the look of this little restaurant from Smith Street. When we entered we were a little taken aback by the wooden stools which on first appearance would seem to be a little uncomfortable...
Sit down, order a lovely cold Carlsberg - shame they did not have Tiger (or something else that takes your fancy) and the stool started to become a whole lot more comfortable.

Jianes is the Manager / Owner and he could not have been more helpful. My wife ordered a chicken and potato hotpot and some accompanying dishes... and it had been a long while since I had tasted the ubiquitous Sweet and Sour Pork, so I had it. The mains were absolutely mouth-watering. I must say - it was one of the nicest meals that we had while staying in Singapore.

Thank you Jianez and your staff - you did a great job and we will come back again!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OldTar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Excellent Find”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We were very happy to find this restaurant in Chinatown. It is a very small place with an excruciatingly small bathroom. The food however is exceptional. Beware though, some of it is really really spicy. And make sure to order all the specials.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Miran_Ali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yang Gui Fei also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Yang Gui Fei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing