We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but the ambience is bad”

Grandma's Restaurant
Ranked #4,679 of 10,798 Restaurants in Singapore
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Leichlingen, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good food but the ambience is bad”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The restaurant is just one of many, many restaurants located at the lower floor at Raffle's City Mall.

We had the Curry Laksa and Honey Chicken as well as some other dishes and all were very good. However, it is is very busy and really noisy with so many adjacent restaurants. I've been to some canteens as well as food courts where the ambience is much better.

With so many restaurants in Singapore, I'd go somewhere else.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank siri413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    28
    26
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“It should be called Granddaughter instead!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

1st experience there and tried their signature Assam fish head. The Cray pot was impressive, big size but once open up, it is only half filled and you can hardly see the fish. The taste of the Assam is disappointing! I am not interested to try their other dishes if they cant even do Assam well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MiffyOng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
1,179 reviews
910 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,395 helpful votes
“Nice food but small portions”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Each time we stay at the Fairmont Hotel, we end up eating here as the food is tasty, especially the char kway teow. This time, we tried a new rice dish, costing $14.90 before taxes. The broken fried rice was nice and you get a huge, crispy chicken thigh, which unfortunately was a little dry. The accompanying beef rendang was too small though, and there was also just two itsy-bitsy prawns in onion sambal, besides half a hard boiled egg. Quite a disappointment. Service was okay, though we had to wave to a few waiters at the start just to order.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Orator11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Good food. Poor service”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Beef rendang and chicken wings were really good but service was so bad. Staffs were just sitting around and not taking orders. Disappointing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Better to try some other restaurants”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This restaurant is right under the raffles city mall, and also underneath the Swissotel and Fairmont hotels. They had a different selection of Singaporean items and I had tried beef rendang at another restaurant so tried it here as well but found there version to be pretty bad. I had it for lunch and heartburn till late that night. Not sure if it was just that day but I wouldn't care to try the place again to find out.
Alsol their service wasn't that nice either. Overall just an ordinary place so not missing much if you don't try this place. Better to try out some other restaurants.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelibnebatoota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grandma's Restaurant also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Grandma's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing