We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good stay”
Review of Orchid Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Orchid Hotel
Ranked #95 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed here during our holidays in Singapore and just loved the hotel and location. very convenient for outing and shopping. Rooms are pretty well maintained and offers all amenities. Buffet breakfast was fabulous and just loved the variety everyday, Overall a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Western side has good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abhishek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (420)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

237 - 243 of 420 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. The location is good as it is opposite to MRT station Tanjong Pagar.
From here you can go to little India or to Jurong Bird Park.
The rooms were good. Near by a big hotel is being constructed but inside there was no disturbance.
They charge internet for 24 singapore dollar. Also the connectivity on the higher floors is an issue. You get good connectivity at the reception only.
There is a level difference between the outside and inside floors. I hv seen many tourists falling on the ground because of this. They shud do something about this.The breakfast has only continental menu. So if you like Indian breakfast,you will be highly dis appointed like us.
Though the continental breakfast has good choices.
Hope above will help you.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank dkgupta49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I have stayed here and found this property simply good. best thing about this hotel is the room size and the view from your room. i would love to stay here again...

nearby attraction - ChinaTown just a walk away, MRT station few blocks away, Bugis in 2Kms. proximity, Little India 2kms, and Marina bay...

downside -
I just found the lighting issue in bathroom area, if you are shaving then the lighting is not that sufficient..

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pankaj A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

we had two attached rooms both self contained suite rooms clean with coffee kettle a place to relax after a hard days walking tour of the city, the best part was china town was a stone throw away with lovely street food, the metro station was a block away just opposite the hotel the staff were very helpful and courteous

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dericrebelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

The best thing about Orchid Hotel is the location. It stands just on the opposite of the metro exit, quite convenient.

Speaking back to hotel itself, it is really one of the most uncomfortable stay I've ever had. The lobby is quite small and full of tour groups, very crowded and noisy. The elevator is quite small, really small.

The room is spacious enough, but equipped very old furniture.

The most terrible thing is the shower - NO HOT WATER in the day???? How come this could happen? I still can't believe it.

Didn't for go breakfast, but my friend told me that it was poor.

Generally speaking, this hotel is not my cup of tea. But for those who prefers a reasonable price and good location, and doesn't care much about the facilities, Orchild is good to recommend.

BTW, the service is just in standard. I don't remember much of it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dadaniu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

stayed with my family for 4 nights in June 13, had booked the same through Agoda. hotel is at an excellent location. Rooms are lovely and large and the location is very convenient.Hotel is good for business people but would not but would not recommend for couples and families on vacation. Short walk to good outdoor restaurants and shopping facilities. if you have kids of very young age, pls avoid as the people in adjacent rooms might get disturbed and its gets nasty sometime. we had a bad experience. overall a decent property.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saurabhgautam2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Nice hotel with large rooms. Lots of facilities. Fits fine for people on business, but would not recommend for couples and families on vacation. Short walk to good outdoor restaurants and shopping facilities.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frode U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Dorsett Singapore
#88 of 317 in Singapore
986 reviews
Amara Singapore
#67 of 317 in Singapore
1,947 reviews
M Hotel Singapore
#118 of 317 in Singapore
1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#64 of 317 in Singapore
1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Hotel

Address: 1 Tras Link, Singapore, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $121 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Orchid Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA and Cancelon so you can book your Orchid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing