We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun afternoon”

Yixing Xuan Teahouse
Ranked #21 of 521 Shopping in Singapore
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Few have experienced the ambience and the highly therapeutic effects of the traditional art of Chinese tea making in an authentic Chinese teahouse. In fact, avid Chinese tea drinkers are known to pursue the perfect tea leaf as fervently as connoisseurs of fine wines. At our Tea Workshops, you will learn about: 1. Chinese culture, Arts and the History of Tea 2. Recognising and using the various kinds of tea leaves and equipment 3. Preparing tea the traditional way 4. Tea and its relationship to your health. Come and participate in our tea workshop today!
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A fun afternoon”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I didnt expect much, but after a few minutes you just cant help getting involved. We had a tea apraisal lucky enough with the owner and drank some magnificent teas. Sit and relax in the shade and people watch whilst drinking some very fine tea. Its a real throw back to colonial times and a must do if visiting china town.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank PaulyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    15
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A glimpse of Singapore's past”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

The aroma of fresh-brewed Chinese tea wafts through the air, drawing visitors to relax and step back in time at Yixing Xuan Teahouse in Singapore's world-famous Chinatown. Just steps away from the magnificent Buddha's Temple of the Tooth, located in a traditional "five-foot way" shophouse on Tanjong Pagar, the teahouse gives a glimpse of Singapore's past and an opportunity for the travel weary to rest and enjoy the finest teas on earth.

The shop stocks an incredible variety of teas, along with absolutely must-have tea pots. The dim sum complements the tea nicely. A very nice secret get-away in the heart of Singapore.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank kaleimakamae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Best Tea House in Singapore”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We went to this place with friends on a Friday evening and the owner Vincent gave us an excellent "lecture" about Tea. After this lecture and a long faq session with Vincent we had some snacks (dim sum, etc.) to eat with the 4 types of tea. It is THE place to go for anyone interested in top quality tea in Singapore.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank RB_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
“Our second trip to the Yixing Yuan Teahouse.”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We have just had our second visit in 3 years and couldn't rate the experience higher. The tutorial and information session were very informative and incredibly interesting. My partner and I have now become avid tea drinkers due to the health benefits, the refreshing taste and the sense of calm it gives. The food at Yixing Yuan is also delicious.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great visit”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

I took a group of 9 year old school children to Yixing Xuan Tea house as part of a unit of study on Ancient China. Vincent, the owner gave the children a wonderful talk on the history, culture and benefits of tea drinking as well as the opportunity to learn about the preparation and tasting of the teas. The children had the opportunity to sample each of the teas of which Vincent spoke and it was a valuable learning experience. A well as being an interesting place to take students, small groups of adults would also benefit from Vincent’s expertise in this area and I would thoroughly recommend a visit to this lovely tea house.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank EGF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yixing Xuan Teahouse also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Yixing Xuan Teahouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing