We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oasia Hotel Novena, Singapore by Far East Hospitality
Ranked #44 of 316 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I had stayed at the Oasia before so I was dreading the noise I had experienced in the past. I explained this at check in and was given a most quiet corner room on the 19th floor--pleasantly bright and certainly more spacious than the last room I had stayed in. Oasia is great value for money--it's convenient location makes it prime, the newness of it's features are still in place, I'm glad there was free Wifi finally and the breakfast, while busy and raucous, still had good offerings. Poolside is pleasant, gym is small but well functioning. Staff and front of house particularly warm, especially by their taxi stand. Kudos especially to Mr. Roslan for being of the utmost service. A very good choice for Singapore. Mind you, it can be busy but still, highly recommendable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JVATravels92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oasia_Hotel_SG, General Manager at Oasia Hotel Novena, Singapore by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear JuliaVanderbilt,

Thank you for your review.

We are happy that your stay this time round has met your expectations and that you had an overall comfortable experience.

It is also pleasing to know that you enjoyed the amenities in the room including the cleanliness, comfortable bedding and coffee machine.

We appreciate your kind words for our associates which will be a source of motivation for them.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Teo Joo Leng
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,684)
There are newer reviews for Oasia Hotel Novena, Singapore by Far East Hospitality
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,795 - 2,801 of 3,684 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

New hotel (opened in 2011) in an uninteresting part of the city. Fortunately one ot the 6 elevators (no waiting) will take you to level B3 and to an underpass leading to Novena MRT station and to a shopping mall.
The hotel is very modern, including the lobby where you will not find cosy sofas but wooden benches (therefore not many people hanging around). The rooms, with large windows, are quiet and clean. Not very large (20 square meters) but well designed with modern materials. The beds are extremely comfortable, the pillows either soft or firm. The bathroom, especially the shower, is quite nice. The view (15th floor) is not breathtaking. Wifi (free) works quite well. There is a real coffee machine in addition to the usual tea/coffee making facilities. Unfortunately the coffee offered tastes terrible.
On the 8th floor you will find a small pool facing apartment buildings. A perfect hotel for short business trips. Finally a word about the staff: very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Higher floor. Not facing the apartment buildings.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nano96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oasia_Hotel_SG, General Manager at Oasia Hotel Novena, Singapore by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Nano96,

Thank you for your review of Oasia Hotel.

We are glad that you had the time to enjoy our hotel facilities during your recent visit. It is our pleasure to know that you found direct accessibility to the underground train station convenient, the beds comfortable, the shower facilities in the room refreshing and the associates accommodating.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Teo Joo Leng
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We were very excited with our staycation night at Oasia, an hotel with an excellent location (easy access by Novena MRT station, proximity with our workplaces, relatively central location) and an interesting Club room system, entitling the club guests to enjoy some privileges, like rooms on higher floors (and great views over the city), a semi-private pool + jacuzzi on 22nd floor, a 24hours access to a cool lounge and chill-out area with nice view. This was also for a special occasion, my girlfriend's birthday. Unfortunately, as i'll explain later, we had to deal with disappointing facts and pretty much unacceptable annoyances.

For booking in advance a romantic room, I went to the reception and met a very friendly, polite and efficient junior manager. He took time to make me visit the different club rooms options, in order to find the best solution : a corner club room, with amazing view over Bukit Timah area. I guess this would not have been possible to get such a nice room through the normal e-mail our web booking system.

When we checked-in, we were welcomed at the 22nd floor living-room chilling and pool area. The lady was relatively polite and efficient, but, as i wil explain later, she "forgot" a very important information.

We were very happy with the club room when we first discovered it. The view was breathtaking, the design, mix of new-zen simplicity and modern edginess, smartly mixing dark marble, wood, steel and glass, was very elegant (typical from what you would get in more expensive trendy hotels). The room was small, like all the rooms in Oasia, but pretty convenient. We were touched by the nice welcome "happy birthday" decoration and cake, too, provided without asking for it at all.
Later, we had some trouble with the air con, though. It was very very cold in the room and impossible to change the temperature significantly, even after having called the technician, it was obvious that the only way to go back to a more normal temperature was to switch the air con off...

So far, so good... So why a (very generous, given the annoyance) "average" only rating ?

Well, there have been some incidents and disappointments during our stay that spoilt our day (and night) and that were, simply, totally unacceptable. I guess if we would have been some more grumpy or demanding guests, the hotel staff would have been in trouble...

The first and main disappointment is the lack of honesty : the entire club level was not available for guests because there was a shooting for a movie taking place in the club lounge level of the hotel (and also in other parts of the building, like the 8th floor pool area as well). And we were NOT told about that at the check-in. Of course, if we had known it before, we would have cancelled our stay, given the annoyances caused. Basically, the main reason why paying for a more expensive club room (meaning enjoying a semi-private nice infinity pool + Jacuzzi + free drinks + chill-out area open night and day) was blown away without any warning and any clear apologies or commercial gestures.

At first, when we went to the club pool area, just after check-in, still in early afternoon, we were told it was impossible, because of the filming. Surprised, then appaled and quite disappointed, we explained that we had precisely arranged the booking in order to enjoy the pool for the sunday afternoon, as we were entitled to. The answers were vaguely embarrassed and not satisfactory. When we asked when the club area would be available, after some confusion and hesitations, we were told that it would be available after 7pm. Our project of spending a nice afternoon in the club pool and enjoying the view, basically the main reason why we chose the club rooms, was then seriously damaged...

Obliging, despite our disappointment, we went to the general hotel's pool, at the 8th floor, instead - and the experience was not very nice.
The pool itself is okay, cute and attractive. The tiny sauna and gym area are also pleasant, but...
Contrary to the 22nd floor club pool, this 8th floor pool was not sheltered against the (fortunately not so annoying) drizzle. Contrary to the club pool, we had to cope with lots of families with noisy kids and we had to share a tiny, not so clean (some strange things were floating, looking vaguely like excrements), jacuzzi next to used diapers literally left at the edge of the pool - ewwwww...
To add to the disappointment, the towels were a bit smelly and left some dust on our skin. Then, possibly furstrated to have only the best part of the building all for themselves, the film crew invaded part of the 8th floor pool and lawn area after a while, too. Our good mood was still here, but already quite cracked.

After dinner, we came back at the 22nd floor lounge level, just for a drink and a chill-out moment under the stars, hoping that it would make us forget the afternoon's frustration and annoyances. This time, a security guard did not even allow us to enter. The film crew was still shooting (!) and they were not only preventing the guests to reach the pool area, but even the entire bar, lounge and chill-out area ! Once again, it took some time to obtain vague information about what was going on. We were told that the filming would stop around 2:30am. The tone was factual and quite unapologetic. This time, we got really angry and felt totally cheated. Given the lack of understanding of the staff present at that time, we asked to see the manager.

It took a while for getting the manager's attention. He made his best to apologise but we had to make a lot of efforts to convince him that, at least, the lounge, bar and balcony chill-out area, just occupied but not used by the film crew, had to be left open and that, as club guests, we were just asking for having access for an area we paid for, after all... Even this was not easy and it took like 30 minutes for the film crew to leave the common club area available for the guests...

The only commercial gesture the manager (Joseph) made for us was to give us a rather petty 20$ rebate on our room's fees and the possibility to have a late check-out - we explained him that the day after being a monday, we could not enjoy any late check-out, having to go to work. We even obligingly let him say some enormities, like pretending we had been informed about that or even implying that it was a bit our fault to have not booked for more than one night...

Fuming, we went back to our room. Later in the night, the noise of the machines used by the film crew, just one floor above our heads, made me go back to the club lounge area, for explaining them that preventing the guests to have access to what they were entitled too AND preventing them to sleep was definitely too much. They apologised and the noise stopped.

I supposed having Oasia hotel featured in a local filmed fiction is great for the hotel's image, but how many guests have been heavily disappointed because of this shooting about which they had not been informed before checking in ?

In the morning, the club pool area was empty and open, at last. We could enjoy a decent breakfast, served by polite and friendly staff, and my girlfriend spent an hour enjoying the morning sun at the club pool.

But the annoyance did not stop, unfortunately.

Just immediately after checking out, my girlfriend noticed she left her watch in the bathrobe's pocket. Since she had to go to work, she could not spend some time at the reception for this matter. But she called them.
After many attempts (how come is it so difficult to get the reception on the phone?), she finally got someone who was willing to answer. She described very precisely the so-called "lost" item and its location and asked for the staff to pick it up, before the bathrobe could be sent to the laundry.
The answers were vague and, during the whole day, she spent time trying to contact the strangely uncontactable reception, hoping to get some clear information about the so-called "lost" item. Finally, after having said that the item was not really lost, but just left and easy to retrieve and that, given the lack of basic goodwill of the staff, she was now considering it stolen, she could get the manager's feedbacks. But once again, the day manager did not give the information to the night manager...

Never, in the 3 days of this ridiculous episode, the staff did the simple effort to contact us and keeping us informed about the "lost item" matter... We had to contact them, instead, and each time the answers were vague, with the feeling that nobody really cares about that matter.
Finally, three days later, my girlfriend went at the reception again and got her watch back : it was broken, since nobody could be swift enough to prevent it to be sent to the laundry and nobody among the staff and cleaning members did have the simple common sense reflex to check if anything (like a heavy watch) could have been left into the bathrobe's pockets.

Very disappointed by this experience, we will probably not go to this hotel anymore. It's sad, because the design is great, the veiw amazing, the location excellent, the staff most of the time polite and friendly...
As i've said, the rating would have been close to "excellent", minus these annoyances, and i insist on the fact that the "average" rating i chose is very generous - lots of more demanding customers would have not hesitate to give a "terrible" rating or even to sue the management for (mis)handling so poorly the situation.

Room Tip: corner rooms with bukit timah view are the best. Club rooms are better, provided you can have full...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank E C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oasia_Hotel_SG, General Manager at Oasia Hotel Novena, Singapore by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear E C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your recent stay with us.

We are dismayed to learn of your experience and apologise that you were not able to enjoy the full usage of the facilities in the Living Room especially the swimming pool. There was a video shoot at our Club floor during the day of your stay and the production schedule overran due to intermittent weather conditions. We have reviewed our internal procedures to ensure comprehensive communication of any facility closure to our guests.

We are also sorry to learn of your watch strap and have since highlighted to our attendants on the importance of checking all soiled linen. It is regrettable to hear of the trouble you went through to locate your watch. Please rest assured that corrective measures have been put in place to prevent any recurrence of such incidents.

I understand that our Front Office Manager Douglas Fernandez has sent you an email as we like to explain the incident in person and hopefully another opportunity to be of service to you again.

Kind Regards,

Teo Joo Leng
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I was pretty unimpressed upon check-in. I had specifically booked a double bed, but was told I had requested a twin bed, so that's what I will end up with. I had my booking confirmation with me though and it clearly said 'double', so it's evident they were overbooked and didn't manage the reservations well. Once in the room, I find the single beds extremely tiny and the light that hang above the desk was not working. Again, I was unimpressed and quite pi**ed as I was hoping to get some work done. The breakfast spread was very limited. Location-wise, the hotel is a 15-20 minute drive from Clarke, Robertson, Boat Quay.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
Thank xksb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oasia_Hotel_SG, General Manager at Oasia Hotel Novena, Singapore by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear Xksb,

Thank you for your review and it is indeed regrettable that we were not able to provide the confirmed bedtypre that you had originally reserved. We are also sorry that some of the items on the room were not working.

We have since taken corrective measures to ensure there is no repetition. We seek for your kind understanding and also hope to have another opportunity to be of service soon.

Kind Regards,

Teo Joo Leng
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is a very comfortable hotel with bright modern and spacious rooms. Stayed here business because it was close to my client's offices. Right above an MRT station which is a couple of stops away from Orchard Road so handy for shopping, restaurants etc. MRT in Singapore is fantastic and stays open late so if you do not want to use taxis this is a great alternative. The hotel staff are pleasant and efficient including good laundry service and housekeeping. Did not eat at the hotel apart from breakfast which was ok. recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheWestCountryNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oasia_Hotel_SG, General Manager at Oasia Hotel Novena, Singapore by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear TheWestCountryNomad,

Thank you for your review and we are happy to know that you have enjoyed your recent stay at Oasia Hotel.

We are pleased that you found our location highly accessible to your office as well as being directly connected to the underground train station.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Teo Joo Leng
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I stayed at the Oasia on business for 3 nights last week in a club room,
The club room is no cheaper than anywhere else I preferred (M hotel and Royal on Scotts).
I arrived at 8.30pm and it was a warm 29degrees. After check in on club floor the first two impressions were not good. after stepping out of the lift, the hall carpets were filthy. Entering the room was the biggest shock as it was like an oven. It took over 45 minutes for the aircon to cool the room to a "liveable" state. The room itself is very tiny but at least the shower was a nice size.

The club lounge was very nice and had a great range of options for breakfast.

The other catch was that most club rooms have a one or two piece of laundry allowance per day.
I had put a pair of trousers in for laundry,only to be surprized with a $16 bill. On questioning I was advised that it is only "pressing" at Oasia and not laundry?????

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graeme017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oasia_Hotel_SG, General Manager at Oasia Hotel Novena, Singapore by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Graeme C,

Thank you for posting your review.

We are concerned to learn of your experience regarding the room temperature and corridor carpet during your recent stay with us. Our engineers have rectified the fault in the air conditioner unit and we are also reviewing our hall carpet colour.

We do specify in our welcome letter that we extend complimentary pressing. Allow us to explore the possibility of providing free laundry for our Club guests in future.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that you get to experience the improvements on your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Teo Joo Leng
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for our anniversary. We heard alot of good reviews about celebrating anniversaries at this hotel. I think this hotel is used to assisting in celebrations which is good and bad. Good because they have a standard package to help you decorate, cakes, etc at an affordable price but bad because, with that they have nothing FOC. All the previous hotels I stayed normally will give a small gesture of cake or something for anniversaries/ birthday but because they have this package here, we got nothing.

Overall, it was a nice stay because the rooms were very comfy. We stayed in a deluxe room and it was big enough with bay windows. You can sit at the bay windows and admire the scenary (would recommend high floors/ corner rooms). The bed is very comfortable with fluffy pillows. Aww..

There is a rainshower in the toilet with toiletries provided. Bathrobes and bedroom slippers were also provided together with a coffee machine and 2 capsules. It was not bad !

TV was not bad with a variety of channels including MTV and NAT GEO on top of normal Singapore channels. There are movies but you have to pay for it.

Swimming pool/ gym was not bad, but nothing to scream about. There is a warm jacuzzi and a small half lap pool. There is also a sauna/ steam room unisex at the swimming pool area with lockers. The gym has screens for you to watch tv/ surf the net.

Hotel is directly connected to Novena MRT, Square 2 and Velocity shopping centres where you can eat/ shop/ buy groceries from the supermarket. You can also take a train to Orchard which is 5-8 min away by train. It is also beside Novena Medical Centre/ Tan Tock Seng Hospital where you can find more food.

Room Tip: Corner rooms, high floors
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oasia_Hotel_SG, General Manager at Oasia Hotel Novena, Singapore by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Jessica K,

Thank you for choosing Oasia Hotel in celebrating your special occasion.

We are glad that our arrangements served you well; we had included some complimentary items but they may not be apparent as all the items were offered in a bundle. Importantly, we are delighted to know that you enjoyed the comfort and facilities in the hotel during your stay with us.

It is a pleasure to know that you found our deluxe room comfortable including the bed and pillows which are tailor made just for the hotel.

We received numerous positive feedback on our accessibility to the nearby malls and underground train station and are glad that you identified with it.

We do hope to have another opportunity to be of service to you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Teo Joo Leng
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
One Farrer Hotel & Spa
#15 of 316 in Singapore
1,061 reviews
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#9 of 316 in Singapore
1,245 reviews
Naumi Hotel
#16 of 316 in Singapore
2,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oasia Hotel Novena, Singapore by Far East Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasia Hotel Novena, Singapore by Far East Hospitality

Address: 8 Sinaran Drive, Singapore 307470, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#18 Family Hotel in Singapore
#24 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#28 Business Hotel in Singapore
#44 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $126 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oasia Hotel Novena, Singapore by Far East Hospitality 4*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the charming enclave of the Novena district, Oasia Hotel Novena, Singapore is a premier business hotel that offers distinctively elegant accommodations in its 428 guestrooms. Perfect for unwinding or having high-powered business meetings, Oasia's award-winning Club Lounge - The Living Room and its private pool provide Club guests with absolute exclusivity. There is direct basement access to the Novena MRT Station which allows convenient travel to Orchard Road and the Central Business District. Each of the hotel's guestrooms is contemporary furnished with sleek, Asian-inspired designer fittings. Guests at Oasia Hotel Novena also enjoy complimentary WiFi, coffee/tea making facilities and a rain shower in the bathroom with invigorating bath amenities. Facilities include a 24-hour fitness centre, pool and The Marmalade Pantry - a restaurant that is popular for its modern bistro cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oasia Hotel Novena, Singapore by Far East Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasia Hotel Novena, Singapore By Far East Hospitality

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing