We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“intimately small”
Review of Marrison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marrison Hotel
Ranked #266 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed December 5, 2011

tiny room, limited space, you can't have enough even to store your luggage.

bright side is: helpful staff, a VERY good location, affordable and they provide breakfast in the nearby restaurant.

you will not be finding difficulties to eateries. turn your head around, the famous shabu-shabu restaurants, korean bbq, local cuisines. shopping? few paces away from Bugis junction.

would definitely stay again. I like the big mirror on the walls and location.

Room Tip: I chose a standard without windows. they swapped the windows with lots of mirror which I find it amu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hadi_lukito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

221 - 227 of 294 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2011

Stayed in this hotel end October 2011. I paid extra for a room with a window and although the room was small but it had everything you needed. I only stayed one night on a stopover so it was ok but I think it was a bit pricey compared to other places I have stayed in Singapore. Close to Bugis Junction and Suntec shopping centres and Bugis station,

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and I think you need a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HolSoloTraveller2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

ok...lets face it... the rooms are tiny... but this is the ideal place for people who are lookin to having fun in singapore... going to places and seeing the attractions... rather than a luxury hotel room..... we wanted a room that was comfortable enough just to sleep in and freshen up in... and this place offers just that!
very clean rooms...room service is great.... and the location is jus a 5 mins walk from the bugis mrt.... and bugis junction is so centrally located from every place u need to go in singapore.... so if u wanna spend on having fun and minimum on stay with the facilities of a three star this is definitely ur place.... rooms also have a kettle... coffee sachets... a hair dryer... and two tiny bottles of drinking water :)

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samy884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Bath room is so small, you can touch all four walls when standing in the middle of room. Breakfast is very limited, soft boiled eggs or french toast is all that's available. Gross coffee/tea. We tried other eateries after the first morning. The location and the cleanliness is all this hotel have going for it. Better described as luxury backpackers.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel. Location is all it has going for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

If you are looking for a budget hotel with clean room to sleep and conveniently located within a short walking distance to shopping area, mass rail transit, and eateries - this one's for you. Don't expect much from the room - its a budget hotel for starters. It's small with little luggage space but it's clean and air conditioning is great. Reception staff is polite and efficient.
Within a 5-10 mins casual walk, there are lots of great restaurants, Parco shopping complex with 2 great food courts and restaurants, Luma shopping complex, the famous Bugis Junction, MRT station. A little further walk, there's City Hall shopping complex and MRT, Singapore-Malaysia taxi station, Funan IT mall, National Library, and F1 circuit.
Great hotel if you're looking for much.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wazir88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

We stayed at Marrison from 18th to 21st Oct as it is one of the cheapest hotels near Suntec during high occupancy period of Suntec Convention Center as you know when Suntec Convention Hall is high occupancy the rates of hotels nearby also go up way too high. We booked for Superior room without breakfast as posted at booking.com. Easy check-in, no waiting took place but when we get into the room we have trouble positioning our luggages because the room was so tiny and with our luggage the space left for us was the bed and the restroom. Because we find it uncomfortable to move in a very limited space we requested to be upgraded to the higher category of room Executive Deluxe but it was full so we waited for 2 days to be upgraded. On the last night of our stay we were upgraded to Deluxe with breakfast with additiional 50 Singapore Dollar- it was not a problem because we wanted a much bigger space to move around. We let the hotel move our stuff and when we came back from Suntec Conventiion Hall we found out the Executive Deluxe room was still very small, so I went downt o the reception and asked whether we are in the rigth room and they told me yes, so I asked what size is the Deluxe and what size is superior because it is the same. And they told me the size is the same and the only difference between Executive Deluxe and Superior is that Executive Deluxe - it has window and breakfast while Superior room has no window and no breakfast. I was a little bit disappointed because for 2 days we've been living like sardines in the room and the staff were not helpful in explaining the difference between superior and executive deluxe rooms. But I thought it's done and I could not do anything about it, so it's ok, one more night and it's over. The following morning we went into breakfast only to find out they served only porridge. My companion told me we should have not upgraded ourselves and we could have enjoyed eating in a decent restaurant with our $50. It's the same anyway, so we might as well enjoy the food in Singapore with our $50 instead of spending it for window and porridge. Well, with our experience, the only nice thing about Marrison was the clean rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Salome2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Stayed in Marrison Hotel for 3 nights, price was good compare to many others.
It is a fairly new hotel, so everything looked pretty good.
Room is clean, bed is comfy. But it is super small!! After we put our luggage on the floor, we barely have space to walk around.

It is ok for a few nights' rest.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruth_stephliew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Fragrance Hotel - Bugis
#177 of 319 in Singapore
444 reviews
Downtown Core
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#216 of 319 in Singapore
153 reviews
Hotel 81-Bugis
#246 of 319 in Singapore
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Kai
#144 of 319 in Singapore
258 reviews
Downtown Core
Park View Hotel
Park View Hotel
#238 of 319 in Singapore
231 reviews
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#125 of 319 in Singapore
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marrison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marrison Hotel

Address: 103 Beach Road Marrison Hotel, Singapore 189704, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #266 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: $78 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marrison Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Singapore's bustling city amidst extravagant shopping, entertainment and the Central Business District, Marrison Hotel is your contemporary 96-room 3 star hotel. Welcoming personnel receives you to the cosy and relaxed lobby of our contemporary-styled hotel; a 20 minutes-drive from the Airport. Our aim is to provide our hotel guests with a restful and hassle-free room stay when they retire from their activities in Singapore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Marrison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marrison Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing