We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and central ok but very very small you get what you pay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1
Ranked #50 of 241 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Reviewed January 8, 2014

+ easy to find, just next to metrostation, really 5foot away, very central in chinatown
+ it is clean, the sheets are white and fluffy and fresh, i have to admit
+ the staff is helpful and friendly, not a 5 star service, but ok

- breakfast quite poor
- extremely small ! i am not sure if this is even legal, cultureshock! haha it is more like a shoebox! 4 men in a 9m2 room --> and whit it goes strange smells and bad air

all in all, you pay what you get, maybe one night or two, but then you need to find a real accomodation (i just came hear until I find a longterm flat in Spore) might be ok for backpackers who just need a bed

Room Tip: aks for a window !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marko B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (786)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

325 - 331 of 786 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed Macau for 2 nights, is convenient and free shuttle bus from ferry terminal to Ponte 16, and our hotel just cross the street! Great location and can excess to nearby attraction by walk. A lot local food nearby and don't miss those hidden inside the alley. So delicious that we can't help to repeat order for our food!

The room is small, but is reasonable for the amount of $$ I paid. Breakfast offered is simple, but can just walk out of the hotel and go to the local coffee shops nearby for authentic local food.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vickkybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I stayed here for two nights with four friends. We booked Chinatown 1 and an additional bed nearby for friend 5 at the last minute.

I live in Seoul and it's a very noisy place. I understand that there is street noise in a city and everything, but this place was next level. We stayed above Bee Chien Hang, just down from the check in cafe. A store downstairs a few doors away played music on repeat NON STOP and it was so loud that sleeping in was not possible. A nap was achieved after reaching pure exhaustion running around all day.

Chinatown is a very busy place with a TON of tourists, so it is very noisy. Above and beyond normal city noisy. It's also right at the main exit A for Chinatown MRT, so the traffic is heavy. To be fair, I really didn't expect that kind of noise when booking "a great location."

If you've been to Seoul, it's like booking a room on the second floor above Myeongdong (or above Times Square in NYC).

The rooms themselves were very simple. My bed was fine. Sheets and bathroom clean. Nothing special. My friends didn't like the bunk beds, they said the ladder was a pain. Wifi worked well everywhere, even on the street outside the hostel. We had Room 6 facing the street, which definitely made the noise worse. There were really no windows to insulate any sound. Just one single pane. There were shutters on the outside that were decorative, old and didn't really close, so the noise just poured in nonstop.


Again, the rooms were fine, the staff was kind and helpful (kept my lost wallet, extra keys were no problem), just be warned about the over the top noise volume.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

10 mins-walk distance to the landmark travel spot, many restaurants and shops nearby, the only drawback is no shuttle provided. The way for free transfer is to take shuttle from Venetians to Ferry Pier and walk 5 mins!

Room Tip: good for budget travel, especially go on red days(Public Holidays)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agnesnyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here twice in 2013. Location is very good, breakfast is quite nice, staff is ok, rooms are quite smelly and I would say mattresses old even though they may be a new hostel. Did not sleep comfortably. Still, its ok because of the good location and for just one or two nights.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Esssie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Hello, i am Fitri. Me and friends spent 2 nights there. We satisfied for all the hostels services. They have clean room and bathroom, and nice front desk officer, fast internet connection and close to MRT station. So, no doubt to choose 5footway.inn as your reference.

Room Tip: i think all the rooms are okay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fitri Ramli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

5footway.inn is extremely convenient located just 5min walk from the MRT. The hostel is centrally situated at the busy Chinatown too! If you are looking for conveniences, just go ahead to book on this premise. If you are looking for more privacy and less busy holiday, please look for somewhere else! There are a few hostels near Clark Quay which are hidden within the busy Singapore! Otherwise, just spend a few extra penny for a 3-star hotel, at least you are guaranteed with an ensuite BATHROOM and a BIGGER ROOM when stay in a hotel instead of a hostel. Listen up guys... your girlfriend will appreciate it!

Room Tip: Ask before hand the bed configuration to avoid disappointment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frankie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Chinatown
5footway.inn Project Ann Siang
Fisher BnB
#2 of 241 in Singapore
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
5footway.inn Project Chinatown 2
Quarters Hostel
#46 of 241 in Singapore
284 reviews
Chinatown
Adler Hostel
Adler Hostel
#8 of 241 in Singapore
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1

Address: 63 Pagoda Street, Singapore 059222, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 241 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: $22 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are new and we were opened since October 2011. At 5footway.inn, we are built on the concept that budget accommodation can be centrally located, can be tasteful, can be packed with amenities, and can come with 5-star service. Located at historic Chinatown, right by the MRT station, we are extremely well connected and within walking distance to many attractions in Chinatown, Little India, Clarke Quay, Boat Quay, museums etc. You will be glad you chose Chinatown as you spend very little time and money on traveling.. Great care has also been taken to ensure that comfort and service remain top of our list and that you'd wish you had stayed longer. We pack the premise with: 1) anti-dustmite beds equipped with privacy curtains 2) free breakfast3) spacious entertainment areas 4) spacious outdoor dining terrace5) hostel-wide broadband WIFI (yes, even in your beds)6) the latest iMacs for free guest use7) individual reading lights 8) hairdryers, shampoo, shower gel5footway.inn presents a break from the conventional hostel with its well-defined personal and communal spaces, clever use of design and attention to details. At 5footway.inn, small is spacious and budget is boutique. Come experience this with people from all walks of life amid the comforts of modernity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5 Foot Way Hotel Singapore
5footway.Inn Project Chinatown 1 Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing