We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1
Ranked #50 of 241 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My first time in an asian backpackers hostel.. anyway ,this place is SMALL! The dorms, shared area and bathrooms are all quite squishy, and there's only a few bathrooms for all the people. I stayed in a dorm room with 5 other girls, which was a bit of a tight fit, but it was good how they had big lockers for us to use. Aside from the lack of space, it's pretty alright - breakfast included, check in and check out hours are pretty flexible, wifi is good, and most importantly there is AIR CON! The location is probably the best thing about the hostel - literally a 2 minute walk from the Chinatown MRT, which is on one of the most popular/important lines. I'd stay here again if I was looking for accom in Sg!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (784)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

422 - 428 of 784 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Read all the good reviews and decided to booked way ahead of time for a group of 11.

bookings went smoothly event a complimentary of 1 bed was given. No issue on bookings and payment.

Realized the stair to go up is quite an exercise. Pls note to those who carry luggage, be prepared to do some lifting.

Room was smaller than photo. We were allocated into 2 rooms. 1 of 4 and 1 of 8. Stayed in the 4bedroom and paid more than those stard in the 8bed.

bed is clean, 1 pillow and blanket are provided. Aircon works well. walls are very thin i could hear every single words from next door room even front door neighbours too.

Unfortunately 5footway have less bathroom than i thought the should. I got very dissapointed that the common bathroom (unisex) has a very bad smell the whole night. This is a huge minus! I felt quite diguist to go there. So i decided to use the other bathroom on other floor. Decided to move out after 1 night but receptionist was very helpful thT she suggested to move to another 5footway which was 400m away.

Locationwise 5footway is the Best. Only less than 3min walk reaching mrt station. Only just bcs of the bathroom and walls issue that made me decide to move out and personally i would not go back though i quite like the service and minimalist design of the upper breakfast area.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IAmGlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The most advantage of this hostel is staffs. all of they were very kind. they help me everything.
especially 'Natra'. she helped us very kindly. she guided us the most delicious food near here Maxwell. the second one is location. it's only 1 min walk MRT Chinatown ! cool ! dorm was very clean. i really want to come here again soon . Thank you

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrimeYoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5footwayinn, Manager at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Hi PrimeYoon,

Thank you for your kind review. We love to host you again too. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in Singapore at this hostel for 2 nights in jan '13. Considering the price the hostel was quite nice and clean, complimentary breakfast was included (cereal, toast, coffee) which is always a bonus. MRT china town station is 1 minute walk which makes sight seeing so easy! Staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naomi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5footwayinn, Manager at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Hi Naomi S,

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us and remember to visit us again the next time you return to Singapore!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Its great to be here.The environment is nice,clean and easy to find.The guy Jun Jie serve us well,thanks for all the convinient he gave.For back-pager like me can save lat of money stay here.Also there provide breakfast which is nice .i think I will come back next time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AronChang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5footwayinn, Manager at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Hi AronChang,

We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us. The whole team strive to make every single guest's experience memorable. Thank you and we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Great hotel with extremely helpful staff! We stayed here twice and it was worth it. Facilities are nice and clean and location is good, next to the train station. Really helpful if you arrive by plane! Breakfast was also very good. Highly recommended place for travelers!

Room Tip: Recommended to choose a room that doesn't face the street. It can get pretty busy during the nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josefina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5footwayinn, Manager at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Hi Josefina E,

We are glad to hear that you had enjoyed your stay with us. Your positive feedback is our motivation to continue to strive to improve ourselves to better serve all our guests.

We look forward to having you back to experience the new wing and improvements that we have made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in 5footway.inn Chinatown for the whole duration of our stay in Singapore. The whole place is generally clean except for a few spots in the common baths and the kitchen which is mostly a fault of some inconsiderate people.
We stayed in a 6-mixed bed room which is quite small but not a big problem. We only stayed to sleep and eat breakast. Breakfast is free and is served from 6-10 AM. There are cereals and toast which is replenished everytime it goes low. There are also apples, pears and a range of ceffeinated beverages to choose from.
The whole place is a wifi hotspot. You can connect to the internet anytime, free of charge! After check-out, you can still leave your bagages in their store room, again, free of charge!
Kudos to the staff! They are very friendly and helpful. They are approachable and attentive to your needs.
The location is superb! I love how Chinatown is bustling with life everytime we walk to the MRT station which is just a few yards away. The place is very easy to navigate to wherever your next location is.
Overall, the place is great for budget travellers. I really hope that the place will be well maintained if not improved.
Thank you 5footway.inn!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nekomimichan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5footwayinn, Manager at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

HI Nekomimichan,

Thank you for your kind review on us. As what you hope for, we have added a new wing of rooms to Project Chinatown 1 and next step is refurbishing the current premise to upkeep the whole property.

We look forward to having you back in the near future to experience the improvements we have made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Chinatown
5footway.inn Project Ann Siang
Fisher BnB
#2 of 241 in Singapore
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
5footway.inn Project Chinatown 2
Quarters Hostel
#46 of 241 in Singapore
284 reviews
Chinatown
Adler Luxury Hostel
Adler Luxury Hostel
#8 of 241 in Singapore
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1

Address: 63 Pagoda Street, Singapore 059222, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 241 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: $21 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are new and we were opened since October 2011. At 5footway.inn, we are built on the concept that budget accommodation can be centrally located, can be tasteful, can be packed with amenities, and can come with 5-star service. Located at historic Chinatown, right by the MRT station, we are extremely well connected and within walking distance to many attractions in Chinatown, Little India, Clarke Quay, Boat Quay, museums etc. You will be glad you chose Chinatown as you spend very little time and money on traveling.. Great care has also been taken to ensure that comfort and service remain top of our list and that you'd wish you had stayed longer. We pack the premise with: 1) anti-dustmite beds equipped with privacy curtains 2) free breakfast3) spacious entertainment areas 4) spacious outdoor dining terrace5) hostel-wide broadband WIFI (yes, even in your beds)6) the latest iMacs for free guest use7) individual reading lights 8) hairdryers, shampoo, shower gel5footway.inn presents a break from the conventional hostel with its well-defined personal and communal spaces, clever use of design and attention to details. At 5footway.inn, small is spacious and budget is boutique. Come experience this with people from all walks of life amid the comforts of modernity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5 Foot Way Hotel Singapore
5footway.Inn Project Chinatown 1 Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing