We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, bad room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1
Ranked #47 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good location, bad room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed one night in private room (4 bed) in January 2013.

Good things:

* Location - a few steps from MRT Chinatown station. Just off Pagoda street - the main Chinese street market. Probably 15 minutes walk to the riverfront, Clarke Quay etc. However, it's +45 minutes travel from the airport - for a really short stay, it might be worth finding a place closer to Changi.

* Nice terrace, where breakfast was served.

* Clean bathrooms, although a shower on our floor was not working & we had to go to one floor upstairs.

* Free coffee. Free wifi.

Not so good:

* Well the fact is that you pay +100 USD for a REALLY, REALLY SMALL ROOM WITH BUNK BEDS, NO WINDOW AND CONCRETE FLOOR. Yes, objectively it's still "good value" for expensive Singapore - but it doesn't feel like that.

Alltogether, for a family - OK for one night stay, if staying longer we would pay more and choose a place less claustrophobic.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PawelWu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5footwayinn, Manager at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Hi PawelWu,

Thank you for your review and it is important to us. Due to the prime location, space is regrettably limited. We are looking into improving our representation of the actual room images and information online for guests as reference and prevent unnecessary disappointment. If window is a mandatory criteria for your family in choosing accommodation, we do provide Superior room with window as an option too.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to hosting you and your family in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    315
    134
    30
    32
See reviews for
86
84
189
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Yes yes we all know that Singapore is expensive, but in my mind $120 for a jail cell is expensive in any country. I now understand why this place is called 5foot inn this is because the private rooms are 5foot by 5foot. We had a private room with bathroom, the beds were confortable, the rooms clean, but small and dark, the bathrooms small with hot showers. Other positives include free wifi and breakfast included in the price. Breakfast was ok - toast and cornflakes. Staff were pretty friendly and helpful. Location is good, close to Arab area which seems to be the most 'soulful' area of Singapore. All in all this place is ok, if i ever come back to Singapore (God help me that i don't), i would try my luck somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Orwellwasright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5footwayinn, Manager at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Hi Orwellwasright,

Thank you for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed the service of the crews.

Due to our prime location, we regret that space is limited. However, you might have posted the review wrongly. 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1 is located at Pagoda Street, away from Arab area. Furthermore, we do not have any room with en suite bathroom.

Nevertheless, we look forward to welcome you back to any of the 5footway.inn outlets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacolod City
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

I opted to book a stay at 5footway.inn for an overnighter in Singapore because of good reviews. It was my first time to stay in a "hostel" and it was not bad. Room and beds were clean. AC was running well. Showers and toilets were ok.

A lot of places were within walking distance especially Maxwell Food Centre and the temples.

I would highly recommend this place for travelers on a budget or for those with short layovers.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5footwayinn, Manager at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Hi ilych,

Thank you for your kind review of 5footway.inn Project Chinatown.

We are glad that you had a great stay with us and we look forward to having you back in the near future.

See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed at the 5footway Inn over Chinese NY. The location was awesome, steps away from the MTR and the Chinatown markets. The room was quiet but small. You get what you pay for and this hostel is a good option in a very expensive Singapore. Staff were great and very helpful. We had a great time

Room Tip: Stayed in room 7, same size as the other rooms but so quiet. No window though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiCourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5footwayinn, Manager at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Hi KiwiCourt,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad that you had a great stay with us. Regrettably, due to the prime location, space is limited. However, we hope our friendly service did made your stay a memorable experience.

Do let us know when you are coming back and we will love to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had a lovely stay at the five foot way inn!The staff are so friendly and helpful and make you feel really welcome,The rooms and bathrooms were clean and comfy.We would definitely come back again and would recommend the accommodation! All in all a very pleasant stay :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirstymmorgan34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5footwayinn, Manager at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Hi Kirstymmorgan34,

Thank you for your positive review on 5footway.inn Project Chinatown.

Your pleasant feedback motivates us to continue to serve with passion. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

5footway.inn Project Chinatown is perfectly located, only a few steps from Chinatown MRT subway station. I can say it's right in the heart of the hustle and bustle of the Chinatown in Singapore. Even so, the hostel is quite, not noisy. It's a very clean hostel, and has a very good service. The lounge area is equipped with hot and cold water dispenser, and a machine for coffee, latte, cappuccino, etc - free to use for all guests.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramli T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5footwayinn, Manager at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Hi Alisius,

Your positive review of 5footway.inn Project Chinatown is greatly appreciated.

We are most delighted to know that you had a great experience staying with us. Your recognition is rewarding for our team and we will continue to serve our guests with friendliness.

Lastly, we would like to welcome you back in the future. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Lovely place with accommodating staff, beautiful green rooftop terrace for breakfast and quiet to hang out on in the evenings. I stayed for a longer time so was perfect for what I needed with other guests that were there for long stays too. Some of the rooms are a little tight on space though, so less good if you're heavily laden. Not a loud party hostel if you're looking for that! Location is right by Chinatown MRT which is handy and its only a 10min walk to Clark Quay. Definitely was made to feel at home here!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5footwayinn, Manager at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Hi Carol M,

Thank you for writing a review for 5footway.inn Project Chinatown.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Space is regrettably limited due to the prime location. Our team continuously try our best to serve our guests better.

We look forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
5footway.inn Project Boat Quay
Chinatown
5footway.inn Project Chinatown 2
Chinatown
Beds and Dreams Inn @ ChinaTown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Chinatown
Maple Lodge at Chinatown
Maple Lodge at Chinatown
#71 of 227 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Chinatown
5footway.inn Project Ann Siang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1

Property: 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1
Address: 63 Pagoda Street, Singapore 059222, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are new and we were opened since October 2011. At 5footway.inn, we are built on the concept that budget accommodation can be centrally located, can be tasteful, can be packed with amenities, and can come with 5-star service. Located at historic Chinatown, right by the MRT station, we are extremely well connected and within walking distance to many attractions in Chinatown, Little India, Clarke Quay, Boat Quay, museums etc. You will be glad you chose Chinatown as you spend very little time and money on traveling.. Great care has also been taken to ensure that comfort and service remain top of our list and that you'd wish you had stayed longer. We pack the premise with: 1) anti-dustmite beds equipped with privacy curtains 2) free breakfast3) spacious entertainment areas 4) spacious outdoor dining terrace5) hostel-wide broadband WIFI (yes, even in your beds)6) the latest iMacs for free guest use7) individual reading lights 8) hairdryers, shampoo, shower gel5footway.inn presents a break from the conventional hostel with its well-defined personal and communal spaces, clever use of design and attention to details. At 5footway.inn, small is spacious and budget is boutique. Come experience this with people from all walks of life amid the comforts of modernity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5 Foot Way Hotel Singapore
5footway.Inn Project Chinatown 1 Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing