We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The great hostel in Chinatown” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1
Ranked #47 of 226 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Saitama, Japan
1 review
“The great hostel in Chinatown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

The location is perfect, only 1 minute walk from the Chinatown station.
The room is clean and comfortable. The staff here are friendly and reliable.
I really enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shuntaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5footwayinn, Manager at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Hi Shuntaro,

We would like to thank you for taking time to write a review for us.

Our team is really glad that you have enjoyed the stay and we look forward to having you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    315
    134
    30
    32
See reviews for
86
84
189
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Lismore, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Great location, friendly helpful staff who made every effort to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. The air con is nice and cold which was soothing to return to after being out in the humidity. The breakfast is humble but does the job (toast with peanut butter and jam or cornflakes with milk) but they do have a coffee machine for lattes or cappuccinos which is free of charge 24hrs. Anyone that bags this hostel out is kidding themselves, either your a snob and should stay in the comfort of your own home or pay triple the cost for the essentials when travelling.

Room Tip: Get a ticket for the harbour cruise its $4 cheaper when booked through the hostel and is best done a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JedandLauraPeisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5footwayinn, Manager at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Hi JedandLauraPeisley,

Thank you for your kind review of 5footway.inn Project Chinatown.

We are really delighted to know of your great experience with us. It really keep us moving forward in serving our guests better.

See you soon, our friend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

This hotel is very recomended for tourists who is looking for low budget hotel. The location is very easy to reach from Chinatown MRT Station. The surrounding area is pretty busy until midnight because it is at the Chinatown Street Market. So no worries if you happen to go out until midnight. The security is excellent too. This was my first time traveling to Singapore. Will certainly book for it again for my next trip.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5footwayinn, Manager at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Hi Sheila N,

We would like to thank you for taking time to write us a review.

Definitely, we would love to host you again on your next trip.

See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

The staff is friendly. The dorms and public areas are clean and nice. Under the beds they have big lockers, i had a big backpack and it fitted. Breakfast is okay. Right in the center of china town. You have wifi in the room.Great hostel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jente A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5footwayinn, Manager at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Hi satelliet,

We enjoyed having you with us too.

Thank you for writing us a review and we look forward to your next visit.

Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

After reading lots of great reviews about this place we were disappointed when we finally arrived. We had a private room for 2 but it was more like a prison cell. I have stayed in lots of hostels and this was definitely near the bottom of my list of favourites. The room was small, dark, smelly and had no windows. The bed literally took up all the room, leaving a tiny space to stand. There was a ridiculous sliding door. The breakfast was appalling. A loaf of bread and jam left on the side and a toaster. There were no staff around so it was just mayhem and you had to fight for a slice of bread. We gave up in the end and went for dim sum instead. Next time I'll pay a bit more for a hotel, even if it means being slightly less central.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LAS12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5footwayinn, Manager at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Hi LisaCambridgeEngland,

Thank you for your review.

Due to the prime location, space is regrettably limited. However, we do state on our website that rooms are without window. if having a window is a requirement for you, you may choose to book the Superior rooms instead.

In order to maintain the freshness of items, we top up the breakfast regularly instead of putting alot from the early morning. We do encourage our guests to avoid rush hours during breakfast.

Nevertheless, we apologise for the discomfort that you experienced and please rest assured that we take all feedback seriously and will look into improving on the mentioned points.

We welcome you the next time you are in Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

The location of this hostel is very good just a walk distance from the chinatown mrt. The staff is very friendly and helpful , they have a very nice kitchen in the back garden. Bread, tea or coffee is available every morning. A little downside is the room quite small (i stayed in private room with 4 bed) but the matress is comfortable. The shower also have hot water and clean. This is one of the very best value hostel in singapore.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Czar19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5footwayinn, Manager at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Czar19,

Thank you for taking time to write a review for us. Our staff were happy
to have you here. As for the small rooms it is due to our prime location in
Chinatown thus we are unable to have bigger rooms at this price point. We
are always committed to bringing the best value to all our guests. Hope to
see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Our stay at 5footwayinn was very pleasant. We booked the 10 bed dorm and upon arrival we got the 8 bed dorm instead. The rooms are clean and the shared bathrooms are so so, since of course it is shared. Comfortable mattresses, with lamp and socket on your bed wall. The location is great, train station just right outside the hotel. Also, great for shopping for cheap souvenirs, good local food just around the corner.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5footwayinn, Manager at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Ray R,

Thank you for your positive review. We are happy to be your host and hope you
will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
5footway.inn Project Boat Quay
Chinatown
5footway.inn Project Chinatown 2
Chinatown
Beds and Dreams Inn @ ChinaTown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Chinatown
Maple Lodge at Chinatown
Maple Lodge at Chinatown
#71 of 226 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Chinatown
5footway.inn Project Ann Siang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1

Property: 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1
Address: 63 Pagoda Street, Singapore 059222, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 226 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are new and we were opened since October 2011. At 5footway.inn, we are built on the concept that budget accommodation can be centrally located, can be tasteful, can be packed with amenities, and can come with 5-star service. Located at historic Chinatown, right by the MRT station, we are extremely well connected and within walking distance to many attractions in Chinatown, Little India, Clarke Quay, Boat Quay, museums etc. You will be glad you chose Chinatown as you spend very little time and money on traveling.. Great care has also been taken to ensure that comfort and service remain top of our list and that you'd wish you had stayed longer. We pack the premise with: 1) anti-dustmite beds equipped with privacy curtains 2) free breakfast3) spacious entertainment areas 4) spacious outdoor dining terrace5) hostel-wide broadband WIFI (yes, even in your beds)6) the latest iMacs for free guest use7) individual reading lights 8) hairdryers, shampoo, shower gel5footway.inn presents a break from the conventional hostel with its well-defined personal and communal spaces, clever use of design and attention to details. At 5footway.inn, small is spacious and budget is boutique. Come experience this with people from all walks of life amid the comforts of modernity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5 Foot Way Hotel Singapore
5footway.Inn Project Chinatown 1 Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing