We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super hostel! Clean, safe, nice to hang out, great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1
Ranked #50 of 241 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Reviewed January 25, 2013

The staff is friendly. The dorms and public areas are clean and nice. Under the beds they have big lockers, i had a big backpack and it fitted. Breakfast is okay. Right in the center of china town. You have wifi in the room.Great hostel!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jente A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5footwayinn, Manager at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Hi satelliet,

We enjoyed having you with us too.

Thank you for writing us a review and we look forward to your next visit.

Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (784)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

439 - 445 of 784 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

After reading lots of great reviews about this place we were disappointed when we finally arrived. We had a private room for 2 but it was more like a prison cell. I have stayed in lots of hostels and this was definitely near the bottom of my list of favourites. The room was small, dark, smelly and had no windows. The bed literally took up all the room, leaving a tiny space to stand. There was a ridiculous sliding door. The breakfast was appalling. A loaf of bread and jam left on the side and a toaster. There were no staff around so it was just mayhem and you had to fight for a slice of bread. We gave up in the end and went for dim sum instead. Next time I'll pay a bit more for a hotel, even if it means being slightly less central.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LAS12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5footwayinn, Manager at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Hi LisaCambridgeEngland,

Thank you for your review.

Due to the prime location, space is regrettably limited. However, we do state on our website that rooms are without window. if having a window is a requirement for you, you may choose to book the Superior rooms instead.

In order to maintain the freshness of items, we top up the breakfast regularly instead of putting alot from the early morning. We do encourage our guests to avoid rush hours during breakfast.

Nevertheless, we apologise for the discomfort that you experienced and please rest assured that we take all feedback seriously and will look into improving on the mentioned points.

We welcome you the next time you are in Singapore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

The location of this hostel is very good just a walk distance from the chinatown mrt. The staff is very friendly and helpful , they have a very nice kitchen in the back garden. Bread, tea or coffee is available every morning. A little downside is the room quite small (i stayed in private room with 4 bed) but the matress is comfortable. The shower also have hot water and clean. This is one of the very best value hostel in singapore.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Czar19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5footwayinn, Manager at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Dear Czar19,

Thank you for taking time to write a review for us. Our staff were happy
to have you here. As for the small rooms it is due to our prime location in
Chinatown thus we are unable to have bigger rooms at this price point. We
are always committed to bringing the best value to all our guests. Hope to
see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Our stay at 5footwayinn was very pleasant. We booked the 10 bed dorm and upon arrival we got the 8 bed dorm instead. The rooms are clean and the shared bathrooms are so so, since of course it is shared. Comfortable mattresses, with lamp and socket on your bed wall. The location is great, train station just right outside the hotel. Also, great for shopping for cheap souvenirs, good local food just around the corner.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5footwayinn, Manager at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Dear Ray R,

Thank you for your positive review. We are happy to be your host and hope you
will stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Rooms were comfortable, service was good and the location was perfect, very close to showps at chinatown, MRT, etc. Dining area was very cosy as well...

However, the bathrooms and toilets need to be cleaned and maintained more.'

Overall, and affordable and convenient place to stay for a few days.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atmajeevasree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5footwayinn, Manager at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Dear Atmajeevasree,

Thank you for taking time to write us a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We have looked into stepping up the cleaning intervals and we will be upgrading our bathrooms so your next stay with us will be more enjoyable. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The location is fantastic, just few minutes walk from Chinatown station.
In overall, the room is clean. Especially the bed sheet and pillow cover in white colour and Ikea furniture, make the room looks neat even though it is small.
One thing not so good is the bathroom. I was staying in a 4pax room, with shared bathroom.
The plumbing and water run off don't seems to be sufficient if 3 bathrooms are occupied and used. I was showering with both of my feet soaking in the water for the first night. The next day morning while only 2 persons using the shower, the water running off smoothly.
In summary, it gives you basic thing that you need, and their price is really attractive. :)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annsyinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5footwayinn, Manager at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear Annsyinn,

Thank you for taking time to write this review and appreciate your compliments about our good location and cleanliness. We have looked into upgrading our bathrooms, it will make your next stay with us more satisfying.

Also, I am sure your images are beneficial as a reference for other travelers. We truly appreciate your guesture.

We looking forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Our stay at 5Foot Way was nice, our private room was lovely decorated by cute furnitures, bathroom was lovely as well. Otherwise, the location was great, we could walk to ChinaTown for few minutes. Could easily find out some Chinese reataurants with apecial tastes as well.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AiSimply
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5footwayinn, Manager at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Dear AiSimply,

Thank you for your review of us. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Chinatown
5footway.inn Project Ann Siang
Fisher BnB
#2 of 241 in Singapore
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
5footway.inn Project Chinatown 2
Quarters Hostel
#46 of 241 in Singapore
284 reviews
Chinatown
Adler Luxury Hostel
Adler Luxury Hostel
#8 of 241 in Singapore
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1

Address: 63 Pagoda Street, Singapore 059222, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 241 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: $21 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are new and we were opened since October 2011. At 5footway.inn, we are built on the concept that budget accommodation can be centrally located, can be tasteful, can be packed with amenities, and can come with 5-star service. Located at historic Chinatown, right by the MRT station, we are extremely well connected and within walking distance to many attractions in Chinatown, Little India, Clarke Quay, Boat Quay, museums etc. You will be glad you chose Chinatown as you spend very little time and money on traveling.. Great care has also been taken to ensure that comfort and service remain top of our list and that you'd wish you had stayed longer. We pack the premise with: 1) anti-dustmite beds equipped with privacy curtains 2) free breakfast3) spacious entertainment areas 4) spacious outdoor dining terrace5) hostel-wide broadband WIFI (yes, even in your beds)6) the latest iMacs for free guest use7) individual reading lights 8) hairdryers, shampoo, shower gel5footway.inn presents a break from the conventional hostel with its well-defined personal and communal spaces, clever use of design and attention to details. At 5footway.inn, small is spacious and budget is boutique. Come experience this with people from all walks of life amid the comforts of modernity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5 Foot Way Hotel Singapore
5footway.Inn Project Chinatown 1 Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing