We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1
Ranked #47 of 230 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Location to Stay”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

This Hostel location close to the MRT(Metro Station). This place quiet and clean. I will recommend my friend come stay this place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emilychang_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    317
    142
    34
    33
See reviews for
86
86
197
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2012

5footway.inn is a nice place to stay. They are very friendly and helpfull for us that don't understand about singapore too much.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AudityaBrilliant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5footwayinn, Manager at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Dear AudityaBrilliant,

Thank you for your review on 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that we were able to help you understand Singapore a little. We hope to be able to welcome you the next time you're back to explore Singapore more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oroquieta City, Oroquieta, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

27 November 2011 yolabuton would recommend this property

Liked: The place was easy to locate and we liked it at once when we got inside...It was exactly what they said on their website: clean sheets and dustmite-free beds and very clean toilets and bathrooms...clean everywhere you go in their cozy place, and you can go walking on bare feet without getting your feet dirty.. The guests we met were all very decent and respectful... We liked the serve-yourself breakfast at the terrace...and most of all, we were right in the heart of Chinatown where everything is just at your fingertips. 5FootWay.Inn is simply amazing and if we come back to Singapore we will definitely stay there again. My friends were so grateful that i chose 5FootWay.Inn and we have no regrets. Thanks to Ellyn, Red, and Monet for making us feel so safe and secure and so very special. Hope to see you again, Friends!!!

Disliked: I suggest that guests be provided with slippers so that we can walk around and not feel the cold shiny floors .. and also to avoid accidents in the bathroom.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yollie_a2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5footwayinn, Manager at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Dear yollie_a2012,

Thank you for your full rating and glowing review on 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1! We are glad that you made us your choice of accomodation in Singapore, and doubly glad that we did not fail to surprise and content valuable guests like yourself.

We hear your suggestion of providing slippers for walking around our hostel, and to avoid accidents in the bathroom. Trust that we appreciate every feedback given by guests, so as to allow us to make considerations to achieve 100% satisfaction and comfort of our guests. You would be pleased to know that there is no no-shoe policy at our upcoming outlet.

On behalf of the team at 5footway.inn, we thank you for your very kind and encouraging words. We hope to be able to make you feel secure and special again, either at our Chinatown or upcoming outlet (do keep a lookout!).

Once again, thank you for your rating, review and recommendations. It is guests like you who spur us to perform even better to further please and satisfy our guests! We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Overall this hostel was nice and is in a great location. The beds are excellent and the lower bunks come with a privacy curtain. The upper bunks have a small curtain, but offer no privacy if someone is standing up beside the bed. The hostel does not have enough towels for every guest, so either bring your own or ask early. There does not appear to be an age policy as there were two young kids yelling and screaming early in the morning. The staff did nothing to correct this. There is a no shoe policy which results in shoes being scattered all over the stairwells as there isn't enough space on the shoe racks.

Room Tip: as for a lower bunk
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ELHV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5footwayinn, Manager at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Hi ELHV,

Thank you for taking time to post a review on 5footway.inn Project Chinatown. We appreciate and value all of our guests' feedback, and rest assured, we take your opinions and suggestions seriously.

We regret that you experienced young kids screaming in the morning. We do have a policy of not allowing children under the age of 7 in shared dormitories, and staff are reminded to enforce house rules at all times. However, the damage has been done, and we will learn from this incident, to better the hostel experience of all our future guests.

Also, allow me to take this opportunity to clarify that as with most hostels, we do not provide towels. However, guests may rent a towel from us for the minimal fee of S$2.

On days with very high occupancy, as is happening frequently now, we notice the lack of space for storing of shoes on the shoe racks, and rest assured we will be devising storage solutions to tackle this.

You may be pleased to know that our upcoming outlet will have no no-shoe policy, and we hope to welcome you back in the near future, either at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown or Project Sultan Mosque.

Once again, thank you for taking time to write us your review, and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Very quick and easy booking (I did mine over email) and helpful directions. Super close to the subway (MRT) and it takes probably 30-40 mins and just a couple of dollars to the airport.
The staff were very welcoming and helpful. I stayed in a female-only dorm and it was quiet and clean. Fresh, white sheets. Air-con and a fan. They provide lockers and give you a key which is useful. Also there is a charge point and shelf and light by each bed which is very helpful.
Breakfast is included and is cereals or toast and fruit. Hot drinks machine available the whole time. Free wifi and a nice terrace area where most people hang out to check their emails and chat. All you could want really!
The bathrooms were shared but I rarely had to wait for one to be free. Occasionally I had a cold shower but most of the time the water was really hot (and it's so muggy in Singapore that I didn't mind too much). I'd really recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5footwayinn, Manager at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Dear Emma S,

Thank you very much for the perfect rating and your glowing review on 5footway.inn Project Chinatown. We are truly glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that we could provide you with all your accomodation needs. Customer satisfaction is of utmost importance and priority, and your encouraging words serve to spur us at 5footway.inn to strive to perform even better in serving future guests.

Once again, we thank you for allowing us the opportunity to host you, and we look forward eagerly to welcome you again soon, either at Project Chinatown or Project Sultan Mosque!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

A picture says more than thousand words. Is this a cell or a room? And of course; NO WINDOWS in the private rooms. what kind of sick mentality is that? you pay more for the "double" private rooms, but the dorms get the windows???? our room was also next to the kitchen so it was very noisy! A polack crew of 6 persons partied there the night we arrived to 4 am!

BUT...we had a reservation and it was fully paid for 6 nights. After the first night we talked to the staff and everyone was very friendly and helpful. They talked to the manager and they accepted the money back for rest of the stay.
If u are a dorm sleeping kind of person you would like it here. Nice outdoor kitchen. Great location. the breakfast was very basic.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank varoojan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshuagoh1978, Owner at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear Sir,

We are very sorry about your disappointment and please allow me the opportunity to explain the situation to manage your expectation as wells all the other future potential guests of 5footway.inn.

5footway.inn is promoted on various online platforms and that we did state on all platforms that the twin rooms are equipped with bunk beds and there are photos that you can find either posted by us or by our guests. The photo you posted did not differ from the rest available online.

You may have booked the room expecting a double king or queen size bed in a hotel environment and perhaps come with windows and views. We are very concerned what could have brought about the misunderstanding and we are conducting a thorough search online to erase any possibilities of misrepresentation.

We may have our limitations in terms of size due to the economic conditions and land value in Singapore especially for the prime location we command. But during your brief moment with us, we hope you do appreciate our strategic and convenient location, our deep concern for guest's security and comfort, and our dedication to cleanliness and customer service. It is not our usual policy to refund guest on issues like this which is clearly not a case of misrepresentation from us. Nevertheless, customer satisfaction comes first in all situation and thus we have refunded you fully.

Please feel free to contact us should you think this response was not objective and in any way unfair to you. We thank you for your feedback and we will take it seriously.

Yours sincerely,
Joshua
Owner of 5footway.inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

It was a pleasure staying there. It's just 1 minute walking distance from MRT Chinatown, it's clean, beds are comfortable and the terrace for breakfast is wonderful. But the staff is the best part, they make you feel at home, they're really helpful and nice. Thank you for everything!!! Miguel y Sara (Spain)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samiki5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5footwayinn, Manager at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Hola Samiki5!

Muchas gracias for your perfect rating and gleaming review of 5footway.inn Project Chinatown! We are gratified by your kind words, and we are spurred even more to strive for the maximum satisfaction and delight of our future guests. We thank you for choosing 5footway.inn and giving us the opportunity to host a delightful guest like yourself, for your stay in Singapore.

Once again, thank you for taking time to post a review on us to share with the TripAdvisor community. We hope to be able to host you again on your future trips to Singapore!

Salud and hasta pronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
5footway.inn Project Boat Quay
Chinatown
5footway.inn Project Chinatown 2
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Adler Luxury Hostel
Adler Luxury Hostel
#6 of 230 in Singapore
598 reviews
Chinatown
5footway.inn Project Ann Siang
Chinatown
Wink Hostel
Wink Hostel
#12 of 230 in Singapore
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1

Property: 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1
Address: 63 Pagoda Street, Singapore 059222, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 230 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are new and we were opened since October 2011. At 5footway.inn, we are built on the concept that budget accommodation can be centrally located, can be tasteful, can be packed with amenities, and can come with 5-star service. Located at historic Chinatown, right by the MRT station, we are extremely well connected and within walking distance to many attractions in Chinatown, Little India, Clarke Quay, Boat Quay, museums etc. You will be glad you chose Chinatown as you spend very little time and money on traveling.. Great care has also been taken to ensure that comfort and service remain top of our list and that you'd wish you had stayed longer. We pack the premise with: 1) anti-dustmite beds equipped with privacy curtains 2) free breakfast3) spacious entertainment areas 4) spacious outdoor dining terrace5) hostel-wide broadband WIFI (yes, even in your beds)6) the latest iMacs for free guest use7) individual reading lights 8) hairdryers, shampoo, shower gel5footway.inn presents a break from the conventional hostel with its well-defined personal and communal spaces, clever use of design and attention to details. At 5footway.inn, small is spacious and budget is boutique. Come experience this with people from all walks of life amid the comforts of modernity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5 Foot Way Hotel Singapore
5footway.Inn Project Chinatown 1 Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing