We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfy and Convenient--Housekeeping (Jaya Seetha) the best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Village Residence Hougang by Far East Hospitality
Ranked #45 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Very Comfy and Convenient--Housekeeping (Jaya Seetha) the best”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Totally enjoyed my stay at Hougang Village Residences. The communiques with the staff before our arrival was always professional and timely. I have family in Singapore and they were able to preview the apartment for us (we live in USA) so that was a big plus. We were 3 adults and two kids and got a 3 bedroom unit.. Traveling with two 11 year olds and staying in a hotel would have been a bit cramped, so having a whole apt to ourselves was the best way to go.
We all love the pool especially as the chlorine level was just right and it was a big, big pool. The water was always warm though, but I think it has to do with the country's weather. I do like to plunge into a cool pool. Initially, there were no pool towels but a few days after we arrived big green and white towels were ordered and dedicated to the pool. However, there just weren't enough towels and they ran out on the weekend.
It was nice to have airconditioning throughout, except at times the master bedroom air con seemed to just be blowing "fan"air rather than cool air. I spoke to Serena about it and she saw to its maintenance right away. But, I think the unit just needs to be replaced. The Master room gets pretty hot on sunny days and a new powerful aircon would improve its status.
Also, the master mattress wasn't that comfy even though it was clean and the linens at standard. I could feel some springs on my back so maybe the mattress could be replaced and good firm mattresses like the 4-5 star hotels put in. I didn't notice the springs the first few days as I was exhausted from the long journey, but once I settled in, both my husband and I noticed it.
The kids did not complain about theirs so that's good. There was plenty of closet space, but would be nice to have more hangers.
Just a few more kitchen supplies would be nice like a potato peeler and big wok. After all this is SE Asia and what is a SE Asian kitchen without a regular sized wok. Nice full sized stove. Microwave in an awkward position but nice big fridge.

Our housekeeping lady, Jaya Seetha was the person we saw regularly (3 times a week) and she was always pleasant, smiling, and helpful. She gave us extra towels when I requested them. Even when I pointed out things that could be improved, she listened intently and said she would pass my comments to the office. (There was some mould in the master bath but once I brought it to the attention of Seetha, it was resolved.) Even when we were home, Jaya Seetha managed to clean thoroughly and not make us feel as if we were in the way. I was very pleased with her work. She speaks and understands English so that was a plus.
Recommendation about the master bath: Older tile needs to be updated once in a while with silicon or grout to freshen up the look (esp in master bath).
Also, the master bathtub is very slippery and perhaps yáll could put some anti-skid strips. The current bathmat was even more of a hazard when I tried to use it. Those strips are easy to lay down or a good coating of anti-skid would work too.
All in all this was one of the better accommodations I've had on my umpteen visits to Singapore. Would be nice to have been given preferential treatment when I requested a 2 bedroom for my extended visit. But...oh well, I'm off to Sentosa for the rest of my stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolelachica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chin C, Manager at Village Residence Hougang by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Nicole,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We noted your comments on the swimming pool towels, unit’s air-conditioning, mattress and the toilet’s bathtub. Your valuable feedbacks are important to us and we are sorry on the few issues that had happened in your unit.

We are also delighted to hear your compliments on our staff especially on Jaya Seetha our Housekeeper. We have informed her that you have written to us and she was overjoyed in receiving your good comments.

We are glad that overall, you had enjoyed your stay with us and we noted your compliments on our facilities.

We will work on further enhancement measures to spruce up the property in order to serve you better on your next visit to Singapore again.

We look forward to welcome you back with the improved service and facilities in Hougang Village

Warmest Regards
Chin Chi
Residence Manager
Hougang Village Residences
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    43
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
7
1
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed March 21, 2013

It is a great place to stay, safe and excellent service.
We like the centralized location of just a few MRT stops away from Ochard road. The ease of having our meals at the 24hr food court with variety of food on offer and NTUC fair price mall just beside the residence.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boonchang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chin C, Manager at Village Residence Hougang by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Boon Chang,

Thank you for the positive comments about your stay experience with us. We are thrilled to know that you had thoroughly enjoyed your stay here with us in Hougang Village. We do look forward to recieving you and your family again and we will be more than happy to assist you with your reservations.

Warmest regards
Chin Chi
Residence Manager
Hougang Village Residences
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2013

it is really good experience.The house keeping is really excellent.Turnaround for any issue is very less.At last it is very great place to stay.I stayed in 11-01 and house keeping is very excellent. furniture provided is updated and cooking equipment's are really good

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atmpraveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chin C, Manager at Village Residence Hougang by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Praveen,

We are delighted to hear that you had enjoyed your stay with us. We noted your compliments on our apartment and most important of all, our Housekeeping staff. We have informed our Housekeeping team that you have written to us and they are all overjoyed in receiving your good comments.

Thank you for making Hougang Village your preferred mode of accommodation and we look forward to welcome you again.

Warmest Regards
Chin Chi
Residence Manager
Hougang Village Residences
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Dear Hougang Village Residences,

Though my stay here was short, only 3 weeks long. I am a traveling man and have traveled all over the world and I'm going to have to say that staying at Hougang Village Residences was a absolute delight. The staff were always so helpful. If I needed help finding a good place to eat or simply directions for the correct train (MRT) they were there telling me the correct way. The pool was very big, and the workout room was just perfect. So no complaints on this end. As far as management I wanted to mention the names of three employees that were a great help. Chin Chi, Mohd Salleh, and Serina Yeo were excellent hosts. Thanks guys.

Sincerely,


Josh Dunn

Room Tip: As far as I know every room here is great I have heard no complaints from other tenants I have met t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chin C, Manager at Village Residence Hougang by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Joshua,

We are delighted to know that you had enjoyed your stay at Hougang Village Residences. It was a pleasure serving you and we are glad that you had enjoyed the services and facilities.

We noted your compliments and we are all overjoyed in receiving your good comments.

It has been our privilege to have you here in Hougang Village, do let us know when you are planning to visit Singapore again and we will be more than happy to assist you with your reservations.

Warmest Regards
Chin Chi
Residence Manager
Hougang Village Residences
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I stayed with my family in 3 bedroom apartment for 3 weeks. We absolutely loved it, it was really clean, staffs/security guards/cleaners were so so friendly and made us feel at home. We loved the gym and pool which were always kept really clean. Big thank you to our lovely cleaner Marian and all the staffs especially Serena and her team. Thank you so much ! xxx

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 833jnicholas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chin C, Manager at Village Residence Hougang by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear 833jnicholas,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We noted your compliments on our apartment, location, facilities and most important of all, our staff. Once again, thank you for making Hougang Village your preferred mode of accommodation and we look forward to welcome you again

Warmest regards
Chin Chi
Residence Manager
Hougang Village Residences
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2013

It has a very nice pool that is great for children. The staffs are warm and friendly. Especially Chin Chi and Serena, they make you feel right at home. The guards and the rest of the staffs are also eager to help you in any way they can.

It is perfect for families with children who want to stay in the heartlands.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ssidarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chin C, Manager at Village Residence Hougang by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Ssidarta,

We are excited to see your compliments on our staff and facilities here, especially the title you have given in your review. We are delighted to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Hougang Village and we noted your motivating and positive compliments on our staff.

We thank you for making us your preferred choice of accomodation. Kindly let us know when you are planning to visit Singapore again and we will be more than happy to assist you with your reservations.

Warmest Regards
Chin Chi
Residence Manager
Hougang Village Residences
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I forgot my package(with passport in) on bus,after police or bus office call the hotel,Bernard(from office) and Ramsey(Concierge Desk) drive me to Queens St. and get it back.
They're very kindly to my family.
And check in quickly even without passport.
Thanks all.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenshao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Village Residence Robertson Quay by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Residence Hougang by Far East Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Residence Hougang by Far East Hospitality

Property: Village Residence Hougang by Far East Hospitality
Address: 1 Hougang Street 91 Hougang 1, Singapore 538692, Singapore (Formerly Hougang Village Residences )
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Residence Hougang by Far East Hospitality 3.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Select your choice of apartments in Singapore from any of our 78 two and three-bedroom suites at this intimate residence, set in a cosy residential neighbourhood. Located above the Hougang 1 retail podium, you will enjoy the convenience of a mall comprising 24-hour food court, Fast Food outlets, different cuisine restaurants, supermarket and few other retail shops right at your doorstep. Our fully furnished apartments in the Hougang district of Singapore are available for immediate occupancy. All units are completed with complimentary wireless Internet access. Our facilities includes Swimming Pool with kiddy pool, Jacuzzi, Sauna, Gym, Tennis Court, Children Playground and garden with BBQ pits - cater to business executives, leisure travelers and families alike. Located just a short 10-minute journey from both Hougang MRT and Buangkok MRT, Village Residence Hougang is also a mere 20-minute drive from Orchard Road and the Central Business District via expressway. We also provide complimentary Shuttle Bus services to Ang Mo Kio MRT Station on weekday mornings (except public holidays). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Priceline so you can book your Village Residence Hougang by Far East Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Residence Hougang By Far East Hospitality Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing