We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good spot”
Review of Bistro Du Vin

Bistro Du Vin
Ranked #609 of 10,680 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $75
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Orchard Road
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
146 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“Good spot”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Not a huge fan of Les Amis group but this is the exception – good location with easy parking, decent menu with some solid bistro specialties and friendly service, which can even be attentive. Very noisy when there are large groups – the room is too boxy to diffuse noise so be prepared for a full on sound assault.

Good desserts too and affordable wine selection (you can also ask to speak with the sommelier of the wine shop next door or of Les Amis restaurant further down if you fancy a splurge).

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank apactraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    90
    18
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
105 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“hearty french food, nice bistrot athmosphere, lunch is good value”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

went for a busines lunch, three course menu competititvely priced with lots of choice, hearty & tasty mediterranean cuisine; bistrot atmosphere: not so suitable if you need privacy, but perfect for a business casual lunch.

would I go again: YES

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank drarbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great food and ambiance”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This was french food at its bistro best. Delightful flavours and a real feeling that you are dining in Paris. We loved it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GDayMateAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
252 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“French Bistro with a Bang for Your Buck”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Firstly if you were dining on a budget, $30++ gives you excellent choices for three courses. However you can amp up the volume by paying addition for foie gras or other course with more expensive ingredients. I started with an excellent foie gras terrine which was excellent value at $6 additional. A large slab of the terrine came on a board with brioche toast & quince jelly. Buttery & rich, the terrine was an excellent foil for the sweet jelly & warm toast. Pure indulgence.
For main, I opted for the grain fed ribeye ($10 additional) served with bearnaise & excellent french fries. My only complaint would be there was too much fat & gristle on my cut of meat. It was cooked to my specifications (medium rare) though I would have preferred it more charred & crusty on the exterior. But with the thinness of the cut, it would have resulted in an overcooked piece of meat I fear.
Dessert was a French bistro classic - apple tart on a thin puff pastry base with vanilla ice cream - a lovely finish to a nice meal. Service was friendly & my server performed her duties with cheerfulness & a smile. I will definitely return.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Kenneth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
214 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Competent bistro food”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Pros
(1) Competent French bistro food. Menu has changed
(2) Service is fine.

Cons
(1) A little dark inside.
(2) Trying to copy Bistro Du Sommeliar but not as good.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kallang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Du Vin also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Bistro Du Vin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing