We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, lovely appartment and pool” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 8 on Claymore Serviced Residences

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
8 on Claymore Serviced Residences
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely appartment and pool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

Good location for metro and hop on hop off buses. Orchard Rd is on your doorstep and the local food courts make eating out when you are flagging so easy but so tasty (like indoor hawkers markets and not like the fare you would find at the local Westfield!). We had a studio room with a little kitchenette and washing machine/dryer. It worked a treat for us as a base and somewhere to recharge when we had run out of steam; clean, comfortable and very quiet. The only thing I would flag is there needs to be a plug near a mirror or a moveable mirror so you can see to style your hair while drying it (I know, the humidity got it anyway but a girl’s got to try!). The hotel pool is fantastic and hardly used. We had a couple of lovely mornings reading on the covered day beds and swimming which made a welcome change from sightseeing. Breakfast is buffet and very good. There are also coffee capsules and tea available all day. Staff are very welcoming and keen to help with any queries. Really pleased we booked here and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connollyc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
8onClaymore, General Manager at 8 on Claymore Serviced Residences, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Connollyc3,

Thank you for taking the time to submit this lovely review here on TripAdvisor.

It is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, and especially to hear of your appreciation towards the facilities and the team members. We are also glad that our location have benefited you during your stay here in Singapore.

Your recommendation is very much appreciated and will most definitely assist other travelers in planning their trip here.

The feedback and suggestion you have pointed out for a plug-in point to be near a mirror will definitely be looked into for future improvisation moving forward. It is feedback received just like yours, from guests sharing of their experiences which makes us continue to strive towards overall guests satisfaction.

Once again, thank you for submitting this review and we look forward to welcome you back again to 8 on Claymore Serviced Residences.

Warmest regards,

Patrick Fiat
Chief Experience Officer (CEO)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    42
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
150
57
15
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

With the slightly hilly Claymore road on the front and Scott's road at the back, I found the location superb. Claymore hill offers residential neighborhood experience, while getting through the back entrance it's super easy to get to the busier area that provides all the daily needs and a variety of shopping opportunity. Local food and Orchard road in less than 5 min, as such Orchard MRT is a 5 min walking distance.
The staffs are friendly and attentive, with their greetings and attire it's family feel. I like the 24hours Nespresso coffee/tea station in the breakfast/ lounge area, nice size pool with complimentary sunscreen. The gym is not big but don't feel small, likely because of it's facing Claymore hill road and overlooking a row of trees. Very inviting. I also like the buffet breakfast that provides various food choices (personal tastes).
I stayed in a studio for a week. Checking in is great. Staff guided me from the entrance to the check in site. A welcome drink is much refreshing after a long flight. The staff introduced the facilitates, lead me to my studio, and introduced everything from how to use the washer/dryer to how to get around. I was surprisingely happy with the 1-time complimentary food and drinks stock. It's really nice no need to run out to the street for food after a long flight. Just boil the water and make the instant noodle a late lunch. They have my favorite TWG tea bags, Nespresso coffee maker, cold drinks, and 1L of quality fresh milk! I didn't use the kitchenette but it's well equipped. The only catch is no study table but just the sink connected bar table top and stool chairs for working/study, or else lay on the bed. It's tiring to work on the bar table all the time. Inquired about study desk and chair but replied room small can't fit and desk/chair not available. IMO a small standard height reading chair (not bar table height) would be more comfy, and there is space for it. Small study desk would fit into the corner too. The closet is hiding in an inconvenient corner, farthest from the bathroom but I guess not much could be done.
Overall a very nice experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank N0Name789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
8onClaymore, General Manager at 8 on Claymore Serviced Residences, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Noname789,

Thank you for taking the time to submit this wonderful review in sharing your experience during your recent stay with us.

I am glad to know that the location together with its facilities and amenities were greatly appreciated and have been beneficial to you during your time here. I must say you are one of the first to mention of the team’s resort attire, which indeed is to provide guest with a urban-resort family-feel. The team here at 8 on Claymore Serviced Residences are doubtlessly the gems of the organization and we are very thankful and proud to have them. Rest assured your good words will be shared with all.

Your feedback and suggestion for the study desk and location of the closet have been well noted, and will be looked into for future improvisation that may be carried out. It is through valuable feedback shared such as yours, that motivates the team and organization to continuously strive for excellence in ensuring that our guests' expectations are met.

Before I end, many thanks again for writing this lovely review. We wish you the best for the rest of the year and sure hope to welcome you back here again real soon.

Warmest regards,

Patrick Fiat
Chief Experience Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

I have stay in this apartment for 5 month, is excelent service, clean room, the staff are friendly..facilities are good..I give a rate 10/10 for those are looking for nearest place for enjoying bar.. Location was ideal and was excellent to be in the heart of the city and so close to Orchard Rd. The 1 bedroom serviced apartment i lived in was clean, comfortable and modern.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JuvianderrickJalung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
8onClaymore, General Manager at 8 on Claymore Serviced Residences, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear JuvianderrickJalung,

First and foremost, thank you for submitting this lovely review here on Tripadvisor!

It was a pleasure to know that you have had an wonderful stay with us. We could not thank you enough for the excellent rating you have provided on your overall experience. We will definitely continue to strive in delivering and exceeding guest expectations to all guests of 8 on Claymore Serviced Residences.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we hope to be able to welcome you and your family back here again.

Warmest regards,

Patrick Fiat
Chief Experience Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

We booked the Royal Plaza on Scotts hotel and at check-in received a sales pitch to stay at the serviced apartments (8 on Claymore) which is a sister property. This worked out pretty good, the studio apartment was spacious and the breakfast was included and has a nice variety. The pool area is large and quiet during the day. The only negative is that the entrance to the apartment building is behind the hotel and you have to go through the parking area to find it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
8onClaymore, General Manager at 8 on Claymore Serviced Residences, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Rob S,

Thank you for your submitting this nice review here on Tripadvisor.

It is indeed a pleasure to know that the upgrade had worked out well for you and that you have had a pleasant stay.

We have noted of your feedback of the entrance to the building via the basement car park from Royal Plaza on Scotts Hotel. We regret to know that perhaps, this was not shared with you during your stay that there is an alternative entrance via the 1st floor lobby along Claymore Hill. Nevertheless, we are grateful for your feedback and will look into enhancing the above process moving forward.

Meanwhile, we certainly look forward to your continuous support and in welcoming you back to 8 on Claymore Serviced Residences in the near future.

Thank you.

Warmest regards,

Patrick Fiat
Chief Experience Officer (CEO)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed at 8OC for a month when we first arrived in Singapore and had such a wonderful experience that we will always remember.
The 2 bedroom serviced apartment we lived in was clean, comfortable and modern. Location was ideal and was excellent to be in the heart of the city and so close to Orchard Rd. But most of all, our stay was made memorable thanks to all the amazing staff of 8OC who went out of their way each day to make us feel welcomed and help our family with whatever needs we had! Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
8onClaymore, General Manager at 8 on Claymore Serviced Residences, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Gerry C,

Thank you for taking the time to submit this wonderful review of your experience during your stay with us.

We are most delighted to learn that you have had a memorable time and that our staff were a huge part of it. Please be assured that your kind compliments to the team will be shared to all. I am certain that with this, it will motivate the team to continue to strive in delivering exceptional service to all guests of 8 on Claymore Serviced Residences.

Thank you for choosing to start off your journey in Singapore with us and we sure hope to welcome you back here again real soon!

Warmest regards,

Patrick Fiat
Chief Experience Officer (CEO)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

We recently stayed at 8 on Claymore with our 2 young sons (ages 4 & 1) for 10 nights for a family holiday. We loved our stay at 8 on Claymore, especially the lovely pool area and children's playground. It was very refreshing to return for a swim at the end of a day of sight-seeing in Singapore's heat. The whole place had a very friendly feel to it, including the staff and the other families staying there. Breakfast was excellent, with plenty of options which changed daily.

We were most grateful for the upgrade to a 3 bedroom apartment as it gave us much more space in the living areas for the kids to play. The apartment was modern, comfortable & clean, and the daily housekeeping service was well-timed so that we were always out of the room when it occurred. We enjoyed the views from the 22nd floor, as we could see down to Scotts Rd & Orchard Rd just below, as well as Marina Bay Sands in the distance.

The proximity to Orchard Rd shopping, dining, supermarkets and MRT was a huge benefit when travelling with young kids. We would definitely stay here again on future trips to Singapore. The price is more than a hotel but the extra space, washing/drying facilities in the room, free wifi and the full kitchen made it better value for money for a family than multiple hotel rooms.

Room Tip: Good views from the upper floors. Light and airy rooms with almost no noise from the busy streets be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brissy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
8onClaymore, General Manager at 8 on Claymore Serviced Residences, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Brissy77,

Thank you for taking the time to submit this lovely review..
We would also like to thank you for taking up the option to stay with during us your time in Singapore.

Your kind words of commendation for the staff is truly appreciated. They are indeed the gems of 8 on Claymore Serviced Residences.
We are certainly glad that you are pleased with the upgrade, as well as with the modern layout of the apartment. With the strategic location we are in, I am glad that this has benefited you and your family during your stay.

Many thanks again for writing in with your words of appreciation and for sharing your experiences. I am sure it will benefit other travelers in planning their trip to Singapore.

Meanwhile wishing you and your family well, and the team here at 8 on Claymore Serviced Residences shall look forward in welcoming you back here again in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Patrick Fiat
Chief Experience Officer (CEO)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Stayed here as a couple while in Singapore for a week. We prefer apartments for the extra amenities and space. The studio was spacious enough for two with plenty of storage in the bathroom. The combination washer/dryer was a little difficult to operate but only because we didn't have the briefing which was offered by the staff on a couple of occasions.
There are two stools for sitting at the breakfast bar but no other seating. You need to sit on the bed to watch TV. This didn't bother us at all. Bed & pillows are comfortable. Shower was great with a hand held rose and an overhead rain shower.
A nice touch was the complimentary minibar of fridge and pantry items.
Buffet breakfast was nice. Regularly topped up with a fairly good variety although a little limited in some choices.
The staff were excellent. Friendly and very helpful at all times.
The pool area was nice but I wish the pool was heated. There is also a gym but can't comment because we didn't use it.
Located close to the Orchard MRT and bus stops so easy to travel anywhere.
We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a room on higher floors for great views of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carolyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
8onClaymore, General Manager at 8 on Claymore Serviced Residences, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Carolyn N,

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a wonderful review.

It is great to know that you and your partner settled in well during your stay with us. I am glad that we managed to cater to all your needs and to ensure that your stay has been a comfortable one.

Your valuable feedback will be taken into consideration. It will be great if we can see you again soon!


Warmest Regards,

Patrick Fiat
Chief Experience Officer (CEO)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Raffles Hotel Singapore
#1 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,738 reviews
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
One Farrer Hotel & Spa
#10 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Royal Plaza on Scotts
#44 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 8 on Claymore Serviced Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 8 on Claymore Serviced Residences

Property: 8 on Claymore Serviced Residences
Address: 8 Claymore Hill 8 On Claymore, Singapore 229572, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — 8 on Claymore Serviced Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
8 On Claymore Serviced Residences is a member of Preferred Serviced Residences, a collection of Preferred Hotels & Resorts. A 5-minute walk to Orchard MRT station, this serviced apartment is set amidst lush greenery and is just steps from essential amenities that include gourmet supermarkets, embassies, banks and medical specialists. Residents will enjoy free daily buffet breakfast, free parking (1 lot per unit), and free unlimited high-speed WIFI for multiple devices. All units come with modern kitchen appliances, washer/dryer, unlimited utilities and over 70 cable channels.The serviced residence is managed by Royal Plaza on Scotts, an award-winning hotel which is located adjacent to the serviced residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your 8 on Claymore Serviced Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
8 On Claymore Serviced Residences Hotel Singapore
8 On Claymore Serviced Residences Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing