We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
8 on Claymore Serviced Residences
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I got this as an upgrade when I booked into the Royal Plaza on Scotts. staying by myself but visiting family in Singapore. Visited for just under a week at the end on January 2014.

I got a studio apartment which was ideal. Small kitchenette - lovely clear view out as I was on 21st floor and got the sunrise in the morning. Super facilities - basic cooking facilities and had a washer dryer too. Good location - near orchard station and opposite the Far East Shopping Plaza. Staff were attentive and keen. Didn't get much of a chance to use the pool or the gym but they looked good. Keen to go back! very clean and surprisingly quiet.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
8onClaymore, General Manager at 8 on Claymore Serviced Residences, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Dear David H,

Thank you so much for taking the time in submitting this nice review.

I am most delighted to hear of your appreciation towards the upgrade, and thank you too for agreeing in taking up the offer. Great to hear that you have had an enjoyable experience while staying with us! The team here at 8 on Claymore Serviced Residences most definitely hope to welcome you back here again next time.

Till then, wishing you well and have a wonderful week ahead.

Warmest regards,

Patrick Fiat
Chief Experience Officer (CEO)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (399)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

306 - 312 of 399 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014

Our family was relocating to Singapore and stayed at 8 on Claymore for a month. The location couldn't be better with kind and helpful staff. Our arrival was 1am in the morning but the staff was very help us in getting to our room and helping us with the luggage, keeping admin work til the next morning so that we can rest. The facility was clean and efficient and very friendly with a small child. It isn't a huge place (we were in 2bedroom unit) but I think it's a typical size for Singapore serviced apartment(900+sqf). I'd definitely recommend this place for your mid to long term stay in Singapore!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovetelaviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
8onClaymore, General Manager at 8 on Claymore Serviced Residences, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Lovetelaviv,

Thank you for your kind feedback.

I am happy to hear that you had an enjoyable experience while staying with us. Indeed, it’s the best place to be – right in the heart of the city where everything is so conveniently close by. We are honoured to receive your vote of confidence and we thank you in advance for recommending 8 on Claymore Serviced Residences.

Many thanks again for taking time to write this review. Meanwhile wishing you and your family well and hope to welcome you back here again real soon!

Warmest regards,

Patrick Fiat
Chief Experience Officer (CEO)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Things I like:
- Friendly and helpful staffs. the service feel personal maybe also due to the number of rooms at the property is not too high
-Relaxed resort feeling in the middle of city
-Location 5-10 minutes walk to orchard road/scotts road where there are tons of shops/restaurants (and orchard mrt station) and yet the place is at the quiet and green residential area.
-Nice pool which is never get crowded (and a decent gym as well), 24hr access
- espresso machine in the residents lounge area and in your room for coffee lover
-good breakfast the buffet selection changes daily (although it starts to feel repeating during my second week stay...)
Overall it's like a stay at a 4 star hotel/resort in addition of having kitchen/big fridge/washing machine in your room. I think perfect if you are with a family or just would like to cook your own meals during a long stay overseas.
I am not giving a 5 stars just because honestly this is my first stay in a serviced apartment and I am not familiar with how others service apartments are in Singapore and how much they cost relative to 8 o C.
Anyhow quite a happy stay and I will recommend this property to others.
One small drawback is the size of the bed on the studio room is quite small for two people (queen size bed?)

Room Tip: I was at 17th floor, the view is great and it is completely noise free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aprasetio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
8onClaymore, General Manager at 8 on Claymore Serviced Residences, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Dear aprasetio,

Thank you for taking time in submitting this nice review!

It is definitely great to hear that you have had a happy stay with us. Thank you for highlighting and promoting the amenities and location of 8 on Claymore Serviced Residences, which I am sure that others' too can benefit while staying with us.

We are certainly grateful for this review and sure hope to welcome you back here again soon.
Thank you.

Warmest regards,

Patrick Fiat
Chief Experience Officer (CEO)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed at 8 on Claymore for 10 nights. Our two bedroom apartment was well appointed, spacious and immaculately clean. Staff member Shannon took us through the apartment and answered questions we had. I thought this was a nice personal touch - rather than having to read through the impersonal 'guest information' folder. We had a buffet breakfast included. The breakfast included plenty of choice (everything from fruit and cereal to hot food like eggs or noodles) and everything was well presented and really delicious. A great way to start the day before sight seeing. There is a huge swimming pool and three very comfortable cabanas (as well as plenty of lounge beds and umbrellas) - pool towels and sunscreen were provided.

The location is excellent - restaurants, malls, grocery stores, chemist, medical and public transport, cab stand are all within easy walking distance.

The staff at 8 on Claymore were all wonderful and from checking in to leaving we were really impressed with the outstanding customer service. Special mention to Hesh, Nash, Shannon and Neeta, who made us feel very welcome and were genuinely interested in ensuring we had a great stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebTravels291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
8onClaymore, General Manager at 8 on Claymore Serviced Residences, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear DebTravels291,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of us.

I am delighted to hear that the staff managed to deliver personalised and thoughtful experiences during your stay with us. It is as well with great pleasure to know that the amenities we offer here at 8 on Claymore Serviced Residences suited well to your needs.

Thank you for your commendation of Hesh, Nash, Shannon and Neeta – They are indeed valued members of our team and we are very lucky to have them with us.

We look forward to having you back with us again!

Warmest regards,

Patrick Fiat
Chief Experience Officer (CEO)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

This place is fine , perfect for a retreat after a day of touristy stuff ,
nice food , nice staff , only gripe I had was I wanted to leave after 5 nights and they refused to refund the other 9 nights :(( but sod it !! :)

Room Tip: just upgrade before you go , though this place is not the cheapest .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robgrove1key
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
8onClaymore, General Manager at 8 on Claymore Serviced Residences, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear robgrove1key,

Thank you for submitting this review here on Tripadvisor!

I am glad to hear that you have had a pleasant retreat while staying with us.

With reference to the inability of shortening of stay during your stay, we seek your understanding that this is due to the pre-termination terms and conditions which we trust had been communicated to and agreed upon. Nevertheless, we hope that this will not deter you from returning to stay with us.

Once again, many thanks for sharing your experience and we hope to see you back here again soon!

Warmest regards,

Patrick Fiat
Chief Experience Officer (CEO)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I had planned a two week stay at the royal plaza on Scotts and was pleasently surprised with an upgrade to a studio room at 8 on Claymore.
I have stayed in the royal plaza previously and the rooms were quite similar apart from the kitchen at Claymore.
The stand out for me was the service, nothing was to much trouble and the staff were extremely friendly offering advice and excellent service.
I was even pleasantly surprised with a birthday card personally signed by all the staff and a birthday cupcake.
A happy place to stay and will book again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will6292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
8onClaymore, General Manager at 8 on Claymore Serviced Residences, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Will6292,

Thank you for submitting this lovely review!

We are grateful to you too for recounting the pleasant experience and you have had whilst staying with us. It is definitely pleasing to hear of your appreciation towards the upgrade to the studio unit here at 8 on Claymore Serviced Residences and we thank you for taking up the offer.

It is still not too late to wish you a Happy Birthday and hope you have had a wonderful one. :)

Once again thank you for writing this review and we shall hope to welcome you back soon!

Warmest regards,

Patrick Fiat
Customer Experience Officer (CEO)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We originally were booked for 5 nights at the Royal Plaza on Scotts but were offered a single bedroom studio apartment in 8 on Claymore upon check-in which we accepted. In hindsight we would have liked to view the room at Royal Plaza before accepting, however we were not disappointed with the overall experience.

The single bedroom studio apartment has all the facilities of a regular hotel room, perhaps a bit more room with a small/compact kitchen area which allows for some cooking if desired (albeit with so many eating options in Singapore, why would you bother?). The bedroom area of our room was a bit tight and did not provide us with much space for suitcases which ended up being on the floor in the middle of where the TV/lounge area is supposed to be - not sure if all of the single bedroom apartments are similar. The check-in process was a bit long in the tooth given we had to transfer from the Royal Plaza to 8 on Claymore which is next door. It also takes a bit of navigation through the lobby, out the back door and through the carpark into the lift lobby of 8 on Claymore and vice versa if you wish to access Orchard Road rather than take the back streets which is where the main entrance of the hotel is. Nonetheless, a great location being a very short walk to Orchard Road and all it has to offer in terms of shopping, dining, etc.

The room overall was very clean, modern and up-to-date. There is the usual gym and pool and breakfast room where an excellent buffet breakfast is available. The staff were all very courteous and friendly and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. They also were extremely helpful with our early morning departure and even arranged for one of their security staff to assist us with our luggage despite the very early hour.

Like with most hotels in Singapore, you only get what you pay for and whilst the 8 on Claymore is certainly not the cheapest hotel, it does give very good value for money and is well worth a look at if you are planning a longer term stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
8onClaymore, General Manager at 8 on Claymore Serviced Residences, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Daniel E,

Thank you for taking time in writing this pleasant review here on Tripadvisor.

Thank you also for taking up the offer to stay in the Studio unit here in 8 on Claymore Serviced Residences. I am pleased to learn that you were not disappointed by the whole experience.

We have noted on the areas of concern raised and will work towards a more seamless and efficient process when upgrading guests from our hotel property, Royal Plaza on Scotts. Nevertheless, we are grateful for the feedback you have shared.

We hope that you have had an enjoyable and memorable time during your holiday here in Singapore and shall look forward in welcoming you back here again next time.

Warmest regards,

Patrick Fiat
Chief Experience Officer (CEO)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Royal Plaza on Scotts
#43 of 317 in Singapore
4,518 reviews
Orchard Road
Pan Pacific Orchard
Pan Pacific Orchard
#37 of 317 in Singapore
2,526 reviews
The Forest by Wangz
#1 of 240 in Singapore
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Orchard Parksuites by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 8 on Claymore Serviced Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 8 on Claymore Serviced Residences

Address: 8 Claymore Hill, Singapore 229572, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 240 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: $150 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 8 on Claymore Serviced Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
8 On Claymore Serviced Residences is a member of Preferred Serviced Residences, a collection of Preferred Hotels & Resorts. A 5-minute walk to Orchard MRT station, this serviced apartment is set amidst lush greenery and is just steps from essential amenities that include gourmet supermarkets, embassies, banks and medical specialists. Residents will enjoy free daily buffet breakfast, free parking (1 lot per unit), and free unlimited high-speed Wi-Fi for multiple devices. All units come with modern kitchen appliances, washer/dryer, unlimited utilities and over 70 cable channels. The serviced residence is managed by Royal Plaza on Scotts, an award-winning hotel adjacent to the serviced residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your 8 on Claymore Serviced Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
8 On Claymore Serviced Residences Hotel Singapore
8 On Claymore Serviced Residences Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing