We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and nothing more”
Review of V Hotel Lavender

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
V Hotel Lavender
Ranked #153 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Spent 5 days there. MRT station is under the hotel. Room was very very small. Extremely crowded hotel. Always had to wait for the lift.
Although whole hotel is in non-smoking property the first room had stench. After our request to change room we were provided with another one without such problem.
Average experience. Money ok. SGD 160 (no breakfast/no wifi)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xMIGx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,871)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,365 - 2,371 of 3,871 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

We enjoyed staying over in the V-Hotel as it was a clean bed to sleep in and the Lavender-MRT station at the Hotel makes it convenient for commuting. We even used the MRT to go directly to the Changi Airport (only $2 per person) - very Easy!
We found the Hotel to be a "Value for Money Deal", even if some downsides to staying there! Thus ultimately I think it's a personal choice between upmarket vs affordable...

Downsides included:
1. Very small room & bathroom. Initially ok with the space, but as you use the room as a couple, you will find that you are often "in each other's way", struggle to find space to organise your own goods and practically use the bathroom (especially if you are two).
2. For Inwards facing (pool-view) room, you feel uncomfortable to keep the curtains open, as other rooms look into yours and with such limited space to move around, curtains are rather kept closed, making it even feel a bit locked-in and dark/gloomy.
3. Although rooms have aircon, they are initially "hot and stuffy" with no windows for fresh air-flow
4. Even though there is the convenience of the MRT, the Hotel is not very central and you DO need to use the MRT/Taxi. Only two 24-hrs fast-food type restaurants available outside the Hotel (we used the western-style Wendy's a few times). No other eating places outside worth walking to (within a few blocks). I reccommend rather to use the Hotel Restaurant or Lunch/dine before you return to the hotel area.
5. Although the breakfast was only $14pp (good value compared to most restaurants and other meal options), the "outside deck" location was very windy and hot. We were required to use a table in the glaring sun, with cold-drinks warming and hot-food/drinks cooling rapidly in the wind. Buffet not much to choose from and stops as early as 10h00. Generally table cleaning service is also very bad - but that's also true for most Restaurants in Singapore. Service found to be generally bad overall.

A great service however at the reception area, is that they will keep your suitcases safe for you prior/after check-in/out with a reference ticket and bag count. They even lock-up bags with electronics (e.g. laptop bags).

Reception was always busy, but always efficient and very helpful.

Lot of young people moving around and some families. Definitely not a hotel for the upmarket/older clients, even though I believe they would also find it a practical stay.

Loved to cool down in the pool after a long hot day. Towels and showers are provided at the Pool (we even used these after checkout)

Will use the Hotel again if I have to, but next time will rather look to find a similar priced/value Hotel closer to City-central if possible - but in Singapore would be a difficult find...

Room Tip: Choose an outwards facing (city-view) room, as the you feel uncomfortable to keep the curtains open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marius S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

First they are far too efficient at getting the money in at check in at the cost of service when predictably you are tired. They ask you to sign without advising they are charging, charge your credit card up front and don’t explain the hotel terms and conditions. You have to figure out card, room, lift etc all yourself! Even had to chase up on room housekeeping service and ask about 5x. Then there is no option but for it to be done whilst you are in the room which so small you can’t even swing a cat in it. Sure Singapore has a premium on space but the shower and room are too small for the price they charge.

The real battle was how hard it was to get help when I lost my credit card and how totally different was another’s same experience when it occurred at the next hotel I stayed. The On Duty V Hotel Manager was not prepared to advance any cash even though they had the visa print out from the day before and were quite content to leave me without any money to buy any food for nine hours. How I was to get to the airport without any money the next day was just not their concern and I had to phone home to get funds arranged. Usually in a hotel they will use petty cash to give you a minor advance until bank hours when it can be sorted. Not so here!

Such a shame when the morning when so enjoyably spent at the Garden on the Marina.

Room Tip: Just too small same with shower so go for a double room as may be bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SingSlinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed in this good hotel last week for 4 nights.
Check in was in 60 seconds & smooth.
We were given Triple room on 15thy floor with a great view of the river, city & the flyer at far.
Room is adequate for 3, it has central AC, a wardrobe, 32``TV, electronic Safe, coffee maker..
Linens were clean & changed everyday.
Bath area is really small (68cms x 65cms) . if obese cannot get into it / move in the bath area!!
Lift at morning is slow- stops at every floor.
Taxi is available all the time at portico.
MRT station is at underground & very convenient to get around.
Lots of food counters(Kopitiam) & fruit stalls in the same building.
Check out was 30 seconds job!!
We do not know about other - double rooms....

Room Tip: Even if 100SGD more, choose triple room on top floor, they have enough space(not in bath area), &am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CRB42_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Rooms are small but have everything you need. Plenty of eateries around hotel. Had lovely pizza at hotel restaurant. Staff very friendly and helpful to travellers that had never been to singapore before. Hotel had a quite a few school groups staying when we were there and space in pool was at a premier. I think next time knowing singapore better we would stay closer to town though the MRT was very handy and easy to use.

Room Tip: Do not turn showers on to fast before getting in as the flood if you do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vickij266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights, it was not a great hotel, but was good, service and staff where good. Won't recommend the breakfasts there, but can take a train MRTwhich is just below the hotel or go around. Defntly will stay again, if coming for a shirt trip. Also booked for tours at the hotel concierge, the tours where really great and friendly would recommend to book it from the hotel.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Jagadish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

good location, easy to reach little india and other places. rooms are very small but neat and well maintained. we are vegetarians and so vegetarian food was a issue at this location .breakfast was fruits,cornflakes and bread everyday . rest of the day we were outside sightseeing so we managed .we selected this hotel because it was one of the few which had an extra bed in the room for the kids (age 11 and 12)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shwe7612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boss
Hotel Boss
#157 of 319 in Singapore
2,000 reviews
1 mi away
V Hotel Bencoolen
V Hotel Bencoolen
#151 of 319 in Singapore
1,434 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel YAN
Hotel YAN
#64 of 319 in Singapore
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Mi
Hotel Mi
#148 of 319 in Singapore
73 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parc Sovereign Hotel - Tyrwhitt
0.4 mi away
Destination Singapore Beach Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to V Hotel Lavender? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about V Hotel Lavender

Address: 70 Jellicoe Road, Singapore 208767, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Spa Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $101 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — V Hotel Lavender 3.5*
Number of rooms: 888
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
V Hotel Lavender is an exciting new hotel located just above Lavender MRT station with direct access (via MRT/tube/subway) to/from the airport and various parts of Singapore (for instance, only stops to City Hall or Promenade Station). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your V Hotel Lavender reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
V Hotel Lavender Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing