We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple and clean hotel”
Review of V Hotel Lavender

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
V Hotel Lavender
Ranked #153 of 314 Hotels in Singapore
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Simple and clean hotel”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Trying to find for a not too expensive hotel in Singapore that's clean, near to mrt, and nice for a day trip-and this hotel delivers!
On the same line with the mrt to airport and the fact that the hotel is just practically right above the mrt make this hotel conveniently located.
There's a kopitiam too next to the hotel, open for 24 hours, so don't really need to pay for extra breakfast at the hotel. We got special deal which includes breakfast, but the breakfast is not really remarkable, I think if the breakfast isn't included in the package, i'd rather have breakfast at the kopitiam downstairs.
Room: a bit tiny, bathroom: even tinier!
Yet, it's actually fine since i had come prepared for a small room, and as long as it's clean, new, and there's enough space to move around (I've been to tinier london hotel room back in my younger days).
It's a really packed hotel, but if you only need a place to sleep and spend more of your time wandering around Singapore than enjoying the hotel, I think this hotel is a really really great choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda_ch4n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    1,496
    1,185
    345
    226
See reviews for
1,118
962
267
514
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (711)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I stayed here for three nights on a short sight seeing trip to Singapore and here's what I've got to say:


1.THE ROOM
Description: "Superior Room"; 8th floor; the particular one we got had no view, just the opposite building of the hotel.

1.1 Cleanliness-

1.1.1Positives:
-Bed, Bedsheets, floor, bathroom were clean (very important for me!). No insects or vermin encountered at all, unlike other reviewers.

-Housekeeping was efficient, we'd intentionally leave the room slightly messy the first two days (as a test) and every time we came back in the afternoon/evening the room was serviced and cleaned.

-Complete toiletries: soap, shampoo, shower gel, lotion, shower cap and two disposable toothbrushes with toothpaste in sealed plastic.

-Swimming pool was clean.

1.1.2 (Slightly) Negative:
-While housekeeping gave us fresh towels daily, a close inspection of some of the towels at times though would show some had faint stains. I'm sure they were thoroughly washed, but I guess some stains just don't wash out. Anyone who does their own laundry would know how hard it is to get stains out of white fabric, and the success rate will depend on how soon you get to wash it after it gets soiled. The towels are quite thin, and one of them was quite frayed on the edges (see uploaded picture).

-The towels smelled clean though, and we used them.

1.1.3 Neutral (not a complaint, just placing this here for the record)
-At times, you'd detect a faint whiff of cigarette smoke at the corridor near the lifts. Probably some guests would smoke on the sly in a no smoking building?

1.2 SIZE/COMFORT LEVEL/SOUNDPROOFING

1.2.1 Neutral (not a complaint, just placing this here for the record)
-The rooms are not large. I didn't bother to measure but I figure that the walk space around the queen size bed was less than 2.5 feet to each wall.

-The shower stall was about the size of a small closet (refer to uploaded pictures, I placed my US size 10.5 sneakers in the corners for scale comparison).

-Had no problems with the hot water. The a/c was powerful enough, but quiet.

-Walls and door are quite thin, you would hear the entrance door and closet doors in the other rooms if someone slammed them hard enough (which happened once in a while) but I guess we were fortunate that most of our "neighbors" were reasonably quiet at the time of our stay.

2. SAFETY/SECURITY
-I felt very safe in this hotel. No seedy characters, etc. just fellow tourists, and the hotel was in a decent neighborhood.

-We had nothing stolen from our belongings.

-I will confirm the problem with malfunctioning key cards though. Mine malfunctioned on the 3rd and 4rth day. While this was an inconvenience, I'd say its better to be locked out than to for someone to get easy access to rooms. I tried the cards (when they were working) on the doors of other rooms as a test and they remained locked. I strongly disagree with a complaint by another reviewer here that the housecleaning maid should let a guest locked out of his/her room with her master key card. I'd say it is right on the part of the hotel to require the guest to go down to the concierge as a proper security measure. Then again, the keycards shouldn't malfunction in the first place!

3. LOCATION (Probably this hotel's major selling point)
- Excellent! Midway between the airport and the city center. Easily accessible too. Just hop on the East West Line MRT from the airport and you're there.

- Convenience stores on the ground floor, a money changer, ATM's, a bargain priced souvenir shop and a food court with cheap but clean food. We stuffed ourselves for days and we never got sick. Didn't eat at the 4rth floor resto so I can't review that.

4. SERVICE/CONCIERGE
-It must be a cultural thing (my Singaporean friends tell me about folks in their country going about their jobs way too seriously than is healthy), but the folks at the concierge are a bit too stiff, and the general impression is that they can't be bothered/distracted what whatever they're working on at the moment (perhaps the hotel CRS/GDS). While I didn't fly all the way to Singapore to get chummy with hotel staff, their line of work is in the service industry. One doesn't have to be obsequious or fawning, but making a guest feel welcome is ALSO part of the job. As a fellow Asian, I don't believe one should treat people like cattle or goods that you just move in and out of rooms. The whole atmosphere is soulless. Everything's just numbers and figures. You might as well just put in a reservations computer and a vendo machine where you swipe your credit card and out pops your key. One time, it even seemed to me that the doorman resented the fact that I was off heading out to have a good time while he was stuck working. Maybe they're overworked, who knows? The were never rude though, but just barely.

-Yes, I will also confirm what other reviewers have said that the lobby is constantly full of large groups of guests coming and going, but on the part of the hotel, it can't be helped if they have a lot of guests. That's just how it is. Despite my positive review in #2 above, I don't know how well they secure all the baggage placed for storage in the lobby though.

5. OTHERS/MISC.
- Everything that was stated in the hotel website that was included in the room (amenities/complimentary Wifi) was included in the advertised rate. Did not use their Wifi though, so I cannot review connection speed or reliability.

CONCLUSION
Overall, if your concept of a good hotel is one where you expect to be waited on hand and foot and to spend your time there awash in luxury, this is not the place for you. Book at the pricier 5 star hotels downtown rather than whine and rant on this site. However, if you need a decent, safe, conveniently located hotel at the upper middle end of the scale in terms of amenities and price, albeit with overly stressed (?) and robotic staff, this place is excellent.

I have no qualms staying here again in the future, but now that I'm familiar with the city's transport system, there are cheaper, yet equivalent level hotels around in Singapore if you do your research well.

Room Tip: Hotel appears to be shaped like an "H". Ask for a room facing out, not inwards if you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nurikabe_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The only positive aspect about the hotel is its proximity to the MRT line. Lavender station is practically next door, so even if the hotel is away from downtown Singapore, it is easy to reach everywhere, including the airport. However, apart from that the hotel was AWFUL.

First of all, both check-in and check-out were terrible, very slow and unprofessional. The staff were also rude. We specifically asked for a room facing outside in our booking, but they neglected this request and did not change our room. Our room was facing inside, and the window view was basically another wall. The room was near the elevators, so I guess that wall was the elevator shaft. The room was extremely small! Even two people cannot stand at the same time in the room. Besides, it was not very clean, in fact it was dusty and there was an odd odor in the room. The bathroom was also the smallest ever! Our sink was overflowing and it took them hours to get it done. Amenities were also insufficient. They gave us only one towel per person (not a separate towel for hands, only one bath tower for shower and everything).

The hotel is stated as 4 stars in the booking.com, but I cannot believe that this hotel can be 4 stars in any standards. We were really frustrated with all these since this hotel is not a budget hotel at all. So I am sure you can find a better hotel for the same price and similar location.

Room Tip: If you must stay at this hotel, at least make sure that your room is facing outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gulberk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Seoul, South Korea
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Had to find a hotel for my family of 5 so looking for a value.
Booked two rooms and thankfully they were near each other.
Location: convenient near MRT station; food court nearby-- worth visiting
Room: small and efficient; shower was small, poorly designed-- water ran over the ledge and flooded the bathroom floor
Breakfast buffet: adequate; same things everyday,didn't change 1 menu item in the 3 days we ate breakfast there; coffee was lukewarm; many plates cracked
Pool: adequate; not enough seating around the pool deck

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the road, other wise you'll wind up facing a concrete wall or the next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GarFamIly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The V Hotel is a big hotel in a great location. In under 30 mins you can travel from the airport by train to Lavender station which is under the hotel. Yes it is true that the rooms are small but 3 of us stayed in a room at the hotel for 6 nights during the recent F1 GP and we were fine. The staff were helpful and knowlegable. One of the good things about the area was the bakery just outside the hotel that sold fresh croissants and muffins, with another shop blending fresh fruit juice of your choice which goes down well in Singapores climate. The nearby 24hr food court has great local food with cheap prices. The swimming pool was used by us and is a good way to cool off.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

PRO:
- LOCATION (nearby MRT - great to explore this city, also a short trip to the airport),
- STAFF (exceptional helpful),
- ROOMS (not big, but enough for our trip and more than the size you can normally expect in Singapore, very clean)

BAD:
- WIFI not included in room rate
- breakfast (not very diversified, but enough for us)

OVERALL IMPRESSION / EXPERIENCE:
- the staff was very welcoming, we had some flight issues and arrived one day early. The hotel was already fully booked, but the manager arranged another room nearby. This service was exceptional (evening of 06/August/2012), thank you very much for your service.

- prices are good for singapore

- overall, I will come back and can highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runningTOBY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Finding a hotel at singapore sometime requires a lot of research, especially if you have budget constraint yet you demand good hotel in good location. In Singapore, where MRT is the most efficient and best way to travel around, Hotel located nearby MRT usually cost significantly more. V Lavender is one good exception, its very simple compact hotel in a great location, perfect for any occasion of stay

CHECK-IN / CHECK-OUT
Check-In was SUPER slow. It was saturday afternoon and the lobby was very busy. There were 3 person next to me queuing to get their rooms key. The receptionist took about 10-15 Minutes to handle each visitor. Me myself booked 3 rooms through agoda.com and the receptionist took so long time to get my room key sorted out. This is unacceptable standard. However, the check-out was the fastest i've ever experienced.

THE ROOMS
Travel with families of 8 person, i booked 2 triple rooms, and one standard room. Room is very compactly small but the design is very efficient and thoughtful. It is not spotlessly clean, i can easily spot dusts in every corner, but not that much that it may trigger your allergy. Basic amenities and toiletries is provided, just for surviving. Don't expect hair dryer, cotton bud, hair comb and such extras. Bathroom is quite small with shower, basin and toilet. On Triple rooms, they provided everything triple, three set of amenities, three pair of slippers, three towel and etc. Bear in mind that the hotel doesn't provide extra bed due to room space constraint. So if you are travelling 3 person, make sure you get the Triple Room, it has one queen and one single bed configuration. Sachet coffee and tea are provided, bottled water are practically unlimited, since the roomkeeper always left their cart at the room corridor. Full with amenities and bottled water :D

THE FACILITIES
there is swimming pool at the breezy 4th floor and massage chair (1 dollar for 10 minute). Cafe and restaurants also at the same floor I didn't try any of them.

LOCATION
now.. this is what makes this hotel stands out! It is literally located on top of Lavender MRT station (green line, go direct from Changi Airport). There are many food stall nearby such as Old Chang Kee, Bee Cheng hiang, and Kopitiam food court which open for 24 hour! There are 2 convenience store nearby, a shop selling fruits at next block, money changer. Don't opt in for breakfast at hotel, simply go downstair to Kopitiam and enjoy singaporean style breakfast (milk coffee, kaya bread, and soft boiled eggs). 15 minute walk to bugis, and 20 minutes walk to Mustapha shopping centre. And its location proximities will not hurt your pocket much if you take cab to Orchard, City hall and Marina Bay Sands (less than $10 at non-peak hour / no extra fees). Excellent location really.

OTHER THINGS
Once checked-out, you can drop the luggage for pick up later. The doormen always smile. There are 6 lifts so it will never get too crowded.

OVERALL
Despite the annoyingly slow check-in, it was good experience for me. definitely best value for its great location. Given the price i paid, i really get everything plus excellent location. For 120-150 dollar per night, it's not a budget hotel for backpackers mind. Next time i'm going to singapore, this hotel will be my definite choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sandycolondam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel Boss
#148 of 314 in Singapore
1,664 reviews
V Hotel Bencoolen
#163 of 314 in Singapore
1,317 reviews
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#65 of 314 in Singapore
6,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel G Singapore
#67 of 314 in Singapore
679 reviews
Hotel YAN
#54 of 314 in Singapore
374 reviews
Kampong Glam
Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to V Hotel Lavender? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about V Hotel Lavender

Property: V Hotel Lavender
Address: 70 Jellicoe Road, Singapore 208767, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — V Hotel Lavender 3.5*
Number of rooms: 888
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
V Hotel Lavender is an exciting new hotel located just above Lavender MRT station with direct access (via MRT/tube/subway) to/from the airport and various parts of Singapore (for instance, only stops to City Hall or Promenade Station). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your V Hotel Lavender reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
V Hotel Lavender Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing