We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy yet affordable”
Review of V Hotel Lavender

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
V Hotel Lavender
Ranked #151 of 316 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed September 21, 2012

My family and I stayed at the V Hotel Lavender for two nights during our trip to Singapore in July 2012. We stayed in a triple room.

The location of the hotel is fantastic and convenient. It is literally right above the Lavender MRT station, so it was very easy for us to take the MRT anywhere around Singapore. Taxis are also easy to find as there is a taxi stand right in front of the hotel.

The decor is very classy looking, but our room was small. There was only about a two and a half feet wide space around the beds for walking around. The bathroom is also very small, and the way it is designed, water from the shower leaks onto rest of the bathroom.

We were given free access to wifi every day, which was a plus. Also, we had breakfast every morning. The breakfast selection was good, and surprisingly varied. We had rice, pancakes, vegetables, fresh fruit, and a selection of meats. There was also a swimming pool, which we enjoyed swimming in. Because it's located in between two towers, the water doesn't get a chance to be heated by the sun, so it was always very cold. There is also a workout area, which my son used almost every night we were there.

The service at the hotel was okay. It seemed like a very busy hotel, so the staff didn't really go above and beyond what they were supposed to do, but they were still friendly. Our aircon was not working properly in our room during one of the nights we were there, so we had to repeatedly call the concierge to have them send someone to fix it. Eventually it was fixed, but it took several visits.

Overall, considering how expensive hotels in Singapore are, this hotel was good value for our money. We liked it for its convenient location and for its affordability.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Astrid V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,709)
There are newer reviews for V Hotel Lavender
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,314 - 2,320 of 3,709 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

We spent a night here as a stopover to London. SIA deal meant it was only $2 for the night and transfers to/from the airport. Yes the room was small, spartan,but very clean. Bathroom stocked with essentials which was unexpected. The pool area was good too. MRT just beneath hotel was convenient and there is a food area adjacent where we had a Singaporean breakfast. I think for Singapore, this hotel is reasonably good value.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank helsie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Pros:

1. Beautiful modern room
2. Ample parking at upper floors (I guess tourists seldom drive in Singapore)
3. Next to MRT station
4. Fast check-in and check out
5. Friendly helpful staff
6. Value for money
7. Nice swimming pool
8. Decent food below hotel (foodcourt, and for Muslims there are Wendys and few halal foodstalls)

Cons:

1. Tiny room and bathroom, good if you are only there to sleep
2. Bathroom has this musty smell
3. No complimentary parking for hotel guest...it's SD2 per hour (max SD12 per day)
3. So-so breakfast, but nice outdoor breakfast

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank An72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I think this hotel really needs to be reviewed in terms of perspective. What exactly is a traveler looking for? Well, for me, I was traveling on business to SGP and needed 3 nts in a hotel which was close to the airport, Marina Bay Financial Centre and Orchard Road, had some decent food nearby or within and was well served by transport.

To all these points, the V scores very well. While the customer service may not be to the extent of knowing you by name etc, they are professional which is what matters for a business hotel. I give them excellent points for giving me an early check (which they weren't obligated to) well in advance since this is a reason I often complain about large hotel chains especially in Asia.

The check in was fast (even though there are around 800 rooms) and I was up in my room quickly. Even though there are large groups waiting to Check in, it never really is an issue since the staff are so fast.

Coming to the rooms, Yes they are small as echoed by other reviewers. If you're a couple or a family, its going to be a problem. Storage space is a premium and I had to put up my large suitcase on the window sill (which could easily be converted into a day bed). Amenities are all there with free wifi, cable LCD tv and room service (till 10 PM). The bathrooms are small (very small even for my short height) but do contain all the needed amenities. Considering the price i paid, the room is decent. Though low on space, its high on functionality and amenities.

Food isnt a problem since you have a lovely range of takeaway joints, food court and a Wendy just below the hotel. There are ATM's galore as well as a currency exchange counter within the hotel. If you want to go anywhere, there really isnt a worry because its just on the Lavender MRT, though i preferred to use the AC taxis to travel here and there.

All in all, its a good budget and business hotel, and the rates are extremely reasonable compared to the competition.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank premjit_pc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed here for one night after arriving to Singapore and heading for Penang the next day.
The hotel is close to the airport (you just take the MRT line from Changi airport - no problem!)

The rooms are a bit small, but for short stays this hotel is perfect. Good breakfast outdoors, nice swimmingpool and friendly staff.

Prices are good.

Recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holter-Nilsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Pros: This hotel is relatively cheap as compared to other hotels. Very clean and staff is polite. The location is very good. The MRT station and the bus station is right outside the hotel which is a huge plus. The swimming pool at the 6th floor has a nice cool breeze and you can sip a glass of beer enjoying it. If you are looking for a singapore trip where you dont care much about the hotel as you just spend nights at the hotel and roam almost all the day, this is real good choice. Hotel to airport taxi is around 20 SGD. Hotel to Night Safari is almost around 20 SGD.

Cons: If you book over net, you might not get very good rooms. You call them before booking.The room size is very small and bathrooms are small too. (They dont have a tub ). I booked this through expedia, and the room I got was around110 SGD, There was no view to this room. I got our room on the backside of the hotel. (Open the curtain and you see a building in front of you). I asked them to change to from view, which they did at an additional charge of 30 SGD per day. The Internet is not free, 10SGD per day. They give 2 bottles of water everyday. ( Additional bottle is 1 SGD, though generally they wave this charge)

Overall its a decent hotel to stay. I would expect a little more as a I paid 30 SGD more for a little better room. Internet should have been free.

Room Tip: Call them before you book the rooms to get a better view
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rajesh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I'd stayed at this hotel several times. Last stay was early September. Still cannot found any hotel with this great location (right above MRT Lavender station which is same line with Changi Airport and 24 hours foodcourt) and fair price.

Always allowed to early check in (9-10 am) and yes the room was small (twin or double). Don't know about the premiere room as never book one.

Yes, it was always crowded with tourist group or individual. Yes, the bathroom was small (not as small as Japanese rooms) but very clean and good shower pressure. Bed sheets little bit uncomfortable for last stay but acceptable. Bell boy or concierge with black suites mopped the floor at recieption and main entrance all the time :)

Will be staying here again until i've found one better than this.

Overall, if you looking for a hotel with great location and FAIR price and don't mind the crowded tourist group and little bit small room, give it a go....

Room Tip: From hotel oppsite bus stop take a bus 2,12 and 33 to Chinatown and bus 133 to Suntec and Marina Bay...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gomed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel Boss
#148 of 316 in Singapore
1,746 reviews
V Hotel Bencoolen
#158 of 316 in Singapore
1,341 reviews
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#65 of 316 in Singapore
6,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampong Glam
Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality
Hotel G Singapore
#68 of 316 in Singapore
813 reviews
Aqueen Hotel Lavender
#154 of 316 in Singapore
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to V Hotel Lavender? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about V Hotel Lavender

Address: 70 Jellicoe Road, Singapore 208767, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Spa Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $99 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — V Hotel Lavender 3.5*
Number of rooms: 888
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
V Hotel Lavender is an exciting new hotel located just above Lavender MRT station with direct access (via MRT/tube/subway) to/from the airport and various parts of Singapore (for instance, only stops to City Hall or Promenade Station). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your V Hotel Lavender reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
V Hotel Lavender Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing