We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of V Hotel Lavender

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
V Hotel Lavender
Ranked #150 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very Nice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

Took a trip here last March 2-4 for the supposed Foo Fighters concert. I stayed with 2 friends in a triple share room which had a double bed and a single bed. The room's quite tight, but it served its purpose.

They had very clean bathrooms which is important to me, but if you're a large person there's a slight chance that you might not fit. The rooms are clean too and we had a nice little view. There's free coffee or tea and also complimentary water that they replace every day. It's not a very spacious room, but if you're just there to sleep and shower then it's good enough.

There's a pool and a restaurant on the fourth floor which I wasn't able to see but from what I heard it was descent.

Their business center has four computers right where the lobby is. Their lobby is actually always full in the day and kind of messy cause everyone's luggage are in racks near the entrance and their are families that eat in the lobby with their snacks or even cup noodles.

It's a very convenient location, right on top of the Lavender Station and about 30 minutes from the airport via MRT. There's a convenience store and taxi stand downstairs, as well as a row of food places to choose from. It's walking distance from Little India and Bugis as well.

The price of the room is what you pay for and if I were to go back there, I would most definitely choose to stay in V-Hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neekelita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    1,441
    1,145
    334
    211
See reviews for
1,054
929
260
499
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (689)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

Had a staycation over the weekend. This hotel fulfills all your basic needs. Staff are not exactly friendly; they don't smile but they are polite and get work done. Room is small but typical of most cheap hotel rooms in Singapore. The room is clean, bedsheets/towels are clean. But the remote control for the tv and the mini-fridge wasn't working well. The hotel does not provide tissues and handsoap. But overall it was still a comfortable stay as we are not that fussy over these things. If you are on a budget, don't bother buying the hotel's breakfast. There are many 24/7 eateries outside the subway station which provide cheaper options and greater variety to try out local food.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wling06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
122 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

Hands down, the location of V Hotel is very convenient for tourists. The station is just one minute away, it's literally right beside it. There is Kopitiam beside the mrt that is open 24/7 so don't have to order food from the hotel.
HOWEVER, if you're into shopping, this is not the place to be. There are no shops beside the hotel. The hotel is surrounded by HDBs (local housing). So if you like to shop, say, in Orchard, it would take you around 20 minutes to go back to your hotel to leave your stuff... Or if you shop in Marina Bay Sands, allot 20 minutes also to go back to the hotel. If that's ok for you, then V Hotel is ok.
To and fro airport is very easy also. The MRT beside the hotel will bring you to the airport, just transfer at Tana Merah. And if your flight back home is still in the afternoon (and check out is at 11), you can leave your bags with the concierge.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TAGT2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

We stayed at V Lavender on transit to Ho Chi Minh. The rooms are very small. I wouldn't stay there for more than 1 night. We had 2 rooms and the fridge in our room didn't work. Smallest bathroom I have ever seen with very mouldy ceiling. Close to MRT station.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed there for 2 nights after being in India and KL..Everything you read about the reviews is what you should expect. I was not at all surprised.
-Small rooms
-Slow lifts
-Crowded
No face cloths or hand towels in the bathroom, hard small-ish bed, no glasses to drink out of only coffee mugs.
More of a private hostel room than a hotel room.
Everything for us was modern and clean, but dont expect any luxuries.
We would probably try somewhere else next time but it was fine for us! They gave us free wi-fi (4 codes to use for 2 nights) but not sure if its cause we mentioned it was our honeymoon.
They looked after our bags for us while we spent the last day touring Singapore before our 8:30pm flight home.
The food court outside the hotel at the station was good and cheap but almost NO vegetarian food (hard to find anywhere in Singapore)
Did not go to the restaurant because by looking at the menu it was a total ripoff!!!
All in all, okay! Would suggest to anyone staying in Singapore 1 or 2 nights. Lavender was a good location and easy to get to.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snowflakecarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

Stayed at the V hotel Lavender on two separate occassions each of one night (23 Feb, 1 March). This is a budget hotel and you get what you pay for.

Rooms are small, very small, bathroom is tiny, shower cubical super tiny, but on both occassions the room was clean, bed comfortable, shower hot and suited our needs for overnight stays. TV, phone and room safe.

The hotel position is directly on top of the Lavender underground station and perfect for getting to and from the airport taking around 35 minutes or so at a cost of around S$3.00 per person each way.

Check in and out was efficient both times.

Staff we came into contact with were friendly and helpful.

Food shops surround the hotel, both asian and western (a couple open 24 hours), and a money changer right outside the main entrance (A couple of points lower than other money changers).

No tourist shopping nearby, but hop on the underground and you can be anywhere very quickly.

As a budget hotel this is great for an overnight stay, but for longer stays near to tourist destinations, there are better choices (at more cost)

A few gripes: On both occassions, towels, and a few amenities, but no soap. (we always carry a bar ourselves so no problem for us).

Try to avoid being near the lifts, this is a tiled area and the first stay we were awakened by people scuffling passed the door (always travel with ear plugs, it solved the problem for us). The second stay we were away from the lifts on the carpeted area and no noise pollution at all.

This is a large hotel and many rooms. It has 6 lifts, but at peak times, there can be a wait.

If your travelling to the airport for an early morning flight, first train from Lavender is 6.03am and allow 35 minutes.

Bottom line, great for ovenight stay, cost effective and generally value for money. We will stay again when next our needs are only overnight. If you are looking for a longer stay, or larger rooms, suggest looking elsewhere.

Room Tip: Stay away from the lift area and lower floors are better if you want a speedy exit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wizardoz1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
117 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

We booked a Superior Room, which was small but probably normal for Singapore standards. You don't have much walking space in a room and couldn't fit more than 2 people in their standard room. Bed was pretty comfortable, and they let us check in really early without a fee (7.30am!) which was convenient. We didn't have breakfast included, but would recommend not getting it anyway and try the local food in the food court next to the hotel which was great. Pool was nice though could have done with more lounge chairs.
Pros: Great location with Lavender MRT literally next to the hotel which was great, and good bakery and food-court next to the hotel and MRT (Kopitiam) which was great for breakfast and snacks. They kept luggage for us after we checked out too.
Cons: We had a water leak from our air-conditioning vent onto the floor near the door, but the maintenance staff did fix it. Service at the hotel was pretty good even though it was very busy.
Overall, very reasonable price for a nice stay in Singapore. We stayed in 2 other hotels in Singapore and they weren't as good. Would recommend, especially if you can get a good price.
Cons:

Room Tip: Ask for one that overlooks the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YiliKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel Boss
#137 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
V Hotel Bencoolen
#167 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#61 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel G Singapore
#64 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Hotel YAN
#58 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Kampong Glam
Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to V Hotel Lavender? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about V Hotel Lavender

Property: V Hotel Lavender
Address: 70 Jellicoe Road, Singapore 208767, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — V Hotel Lavender 3.5*
Number of rooms: 888
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
V Hotel Lavender is an exciting new hotel located just above Lavender MRT station with direct access (via MRT/tube/subway) to/from the airport and various parts of Singapore (for instance, only stops to City Hall or Promenade Station). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your V Hotel Lavender reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
V Hotel Lavender Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing