We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Indian food at a great price”
Review of The Star Inn Cafe - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Star Inn Cafe
Cuisines: Indian
Neighborhood: Little India
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Little India
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Indian food at a great price”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I just moved to Singapore and we have already tried ten different Indian restaurants. This one is the best. The staff is friendly, the prices great, and (most importantly) the food is amazing. Definitely worth the walk.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“So good we went twice”
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Fell upon this place by accident as we were desperate for a beer. The waiter gave us complimentary samples of parata and sauces with our beer which were so good, that after we had travelled all round Malaysia and even visited the Marina Bay Sands Hotel that day, we had to return and they were just as we remembered. An unassuming, even a bit scruffy place but the food, hospitality and cold beer made up for that but it was the food. Familiar, like home, but so so much better

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Baroncustard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Just Like Your Cosy Local - but Indian Style”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Arguably one of the most wecoming pubs in Singapore, the Star has become a firm favourite of ours over the last few years. No trip into Little India could now be complete without a couple of pints there. The Manager, Tareq, is a downright gentleman, always warm and friendly and, upon me walking through the door always greets with a smile and a beer. Seated outside it's a fascinating place to watch the colourful culture of this vibrant area and passers by will chat. Especially good atmosphere when there is cricket on as the place attracts a wide audience who will gather on the street outside and it's nearly as good as being at the match. An interesting selection of Indian beers on sale, but I'm not going to reveal my favourite as you might turn up and drink it all...!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MJandPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious Roti”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Quiet, delicious food, we went twice in the same day. What makes it so special, it staff with big smiles and attention to detail!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“The real deal, not polished but an authentic gem”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Roaming the streets all day, ended at 21:00 before Lonely Planet recommended Bismillah Biryani which just closed the doors. Opposite we found Starr Inn Cafe. Starr Inn looked a bit too authentic to our taste, but as we were hungry, we took our chances here.

The staff were super authentic friendly (not in the tourist way). We were a bit prejudiced by the looks, but as the locals were eating here too, we ordered our meals.

The meals were pure, raw, authentic Indian, with fantastic flavors! I even ordered a second portion similar to the one my wife had. This place is the real deal.

Will we go back? Oh yes we will!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank marcelrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Star Inn Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing