We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You (almost) get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parc Sovereign Hotel - Albert St.
Ranked #164 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“You (almost) get what you pay for”
Reviewed January 23, 2012

This hotel was only okay. Nothing fancy, but it wasn't a budget hotel either. I was only staying one night, and I was thankful for that. The staff was friendly, though.
The room was small, and relatively clean. The walls were thin - I could hear kids crying from rooms down the hall.
NO free wi-fi. Um, hello!? In this day and age? And with the price as expensive as it is for a standard room? To me, that was unacceptable. The connection didn't really work in my room, and they didn't do anything to credit all of the time I spent trying to connect. You can't hook up more than one device to the wi-fi either, and need to use the time you've got all at once, or you lose the money. Not happy.
The location was good. - close to Little India and lots to do within walking distance; easy to get to MRT station as well.
Next time I go to Singapore, I will not be staying at the Parc Sovereign.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    333
    302
    101
    96
See reviews for
303
314
93
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

This hotel is a relatively new and is a clean and efficient place to stay for a business traveler. Very small room but with good climate control, TV with good selection of channels, Coffee maker, iron, etc. makes it nice and easy.

Negative: I paid $20/- for 20 hrs of Internet access but discovered too late that a visit out of the hotel made it impossible to get back on. The reception explained that "you're only allowed to log in once" which means that if you go out of the hotel or restart your machine, you just lost your 20 dollars! They had no understanding for my complaint.
Even if you are in the hotel you can anyway only connect with 1-one device which also made it impossible to connect my iPad/iPhone on the same $20/- account.
This kind of system simply seems to be designed to rip-off their customers.

In the end they charged me another $3/- to call a cab when leaving for the airport..

So I hated the place when I left (yes, I was angry), but I may go back anyway as the hotel was good and now I know what (not to) expect..

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank finnwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We stayed at an executive room at a reasonable price

Pros

> good location, near sim lim (electronics haven) & shopping & eating area
> nice pool but small gym
> hotel is between little india mrt station & bugis but nearer to little india (arnd 250 meters)
> nearby the hotel is an eating area, aston's express is a must try (sirloin steak priced at S$12 with 2 side dishes)
> the room is clean & comfortable (though the bed is not as soft but we don't mind)
> nice smelling hallway :)

Cons
> not sound proof, can hear the closing of doors from other rooms
> not carpeted

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsKYRig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zamboanga City, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We booked online in this hotel for 3nights through Agoda for a holiday after our trip from Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

Pros:
It's a new hotel perfectly located in the heart of Bugis. Very accessible by taxi and just less than 10min walk between Little India and Bugis MRT stations. Particularly convenient for tourists as almost all of the basic needs are within walking distance such as restaurants, hawker centre & fruit stall, Sim Lim Square for gadget needs, Bugis Junction for affordable shopping/souvenirs, bazaars like OG Albert, BHG & more are nearby, there's also a Chinese drugstore, and a 7 eleven store is located just below the hotel. Our room in the 5/f was small & simple yet superbly clean & comfy, free of cigarette smoke & 2 spare pillows were available in the closet.

Cons:
1. What we didn't like is that we were asked to pay SG$100 for deposit and for room cleaning since we requested for a Non-smoking room.
2. They don't offer free wifi, so if you really want to use the net, then just pay, its SG$6 for 2hrs.
3. The very small bathroom is flooded when using the shower! (No partition between shower & toilet).
4. Walls, I think, are made up of thin wood because you can hear banging of doors from the other room.
5. Hotel staff is not so welcoming.

All in all, we had a nice stay since we only settle for the night. I would still recommend it to my friends especially to those who are first timers in Singapore due to the proximity of the location and I'm giving a 3 star rating out of 5, to be fair, since we really didn't encounter major problems except for the cons listed above. Besides, it’s a pretty good value compared to some budget hotels in Singapore if you opt for good location, cleanliness and comfort since everything else in Singapore are expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the upper floor with a city view for good ambiance :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelChicPh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Just nice for SGD138nett (booking.com) . Clean and comfort hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank icarolyap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2011

Stayed 3 nights in this hotel in October while on a business trip with hubby. Booked this hotel because of it's location (we had to be in the Bencoolen area) and price ($158p/nite after tax, room only, booked online).

Pros:
- new hotel, shiny, clean. New fittings, new furniture.
- location: convenient if you have to be in the Bencoolen/ Bugis/Little India area.
- lots of food all around. Huge variety of cuisine to suit all budgets. Good Bar-B-Q Steamboat at Albert St Mall opposite Sim Lim Square (100m from hotel). Good fruit stall across the road from hotel (sit and eat fresh durians & mangoes).
- nice pleasant walk (15mins) along Albert St Mall to Bugis Street & Bugis Junction for great shopping.

Cons:
- very hard and cold ambience throughout (lots of tiles, marble and plastic).
- very very tight room. We had a Superior Double without any space to lay out our luggages (tiny boxy wardrobe not friendly). After we laid them out on whatever floor space we had, we could hardly move around! Would recommend paying a bit more for an Executive Double or Twin Room with a bit more space.
- very tight bathroom, whole bathroom gets wet during a shower. Not enough towel rail space, no hooks.
- strange unpleasant odour in room at times, probably from the toilet
- very very hard bed, could not sleep well. Woke up with backaches every morning.
- no free wifi. We paid S$20 p/24hours for 3 days, but signal strength was bad!
- nearest MRT stations are not that easy to access, Little India MRT: 10mins walk (dusty with lots of traffic & roadworks), Bugis MRT 15mins walk (pleasant walk but lots of human traffic). Plenty of taxis around but be aware of huge surcharges during peak hours.

Will probably not stay here again, the hard bed is quite an unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the Executive Rooms which have more space,the Superior Double Rooms are just too tight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mummytraveller64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2011

We booked a room for 3 people. 2 adults & 1 child. We booked through Expedia and picked this hotel because it was cheap but not That cheap ($160us). The location was fine 5-10 mins walk to the mrt and taxis are cheap but take a map as none of them know the hotel.
It was a basic bland room with 1 queen size bed in. I told them I needed a fold out bed as well but they said No (to be fair there was no space in the room for one). I asked to upgrade but was told that would be another $75us!! I did look at the other room and it was certainly not worth the money.
It was just one night, so we managed but overall very disappointing. A basic basic hotel at far from basic prices!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sian30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Parc Sovereign Hotel - Tyrwhitt
#126 of 312 in Singapore
906 reviews
Hotel Boss
#148 of 312 in Singapore
1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
V Hotel Bencoolen
#158 of 312 in Singapore
1,305 reviews
V Hotel Lavender
#153 of 312 in Singapore
3,620 reviews
Little India
The Daulat Hotel
The Daulat Hotel
#134 of 312 in Singapore
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parc Sovereign Hotel - Albert St.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parc Sovereign Hotel - Albert St.

Property: Parc Sovereign Hotel - Albert St.
Address: 175 Albert Street Parc Sovereign Hotel, Singapore 189970, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Parc Sovereign Hotel - Albert St. 3.5*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parc Sovereign Hotel - Albert St. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parc Sovereign Hotel - Albert St. Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing