We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms but not so for the location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality
Ranked #80 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed January 31, 2011

Partner threw a surprise mini birthday celebration for me at this hotel and I must say that the room was spacious and clean, there was also a small balcony attached.There view was not great but since Im living I this country, I have no complaints. The breakfast buffet spread was ok , not much variety but the restaurant had a nice ambience to it as it is outdoor style.
Location is not good if ure planning to do sight seeing in the town area as it is located in Changi which is at 1 end of Singapore,not in the town area.There is a shuttle service which brings you to the city abt 15-20 mins drive thou.If you are more incline to nature and wants peace and quiet,this is one of the hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank switsdaniq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianStampe, General Manager at Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2011

Dear Switsdaniq

Greetings from Sunny Singapore.

Thank you for your feedback. We will work with the team to look at improvements in the buffet spread. It is nice to sit outside the restaurant near our second pool and hope you enjoyed that experience.

We look forward to having you back with us.

Best Regards
Brian Stampe
General MA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,818)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,392 - 3,398 of 3,818 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2011

Stayed in this hotel during X-mas.Good hotel,nice rooms.More attention needed in case of luggage transfers of guests,especially when they are in groups.Guests had to search for their own luggage form the piled up trollies.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fromdoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianStampe, General Manager at Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2011

Dear PJC953

Greetings from Sunny Singapore!
Glad that you had a good stay with us.
With regards to the luggage transfer issue, we will look to ensure we have sufficient staffing and manning to facilitate this. Thank you for reminding us to do better.

Best Regards,
Brian Stampe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2011

Stayed here one night due to proximity to airport and ferry terminal, we should have stayed in town as the hotel was terrible.

Upon arriving we barely managed to drag our bags past the group of porters ignoring us while chatting to each other only to wait at reception for them to finish chatting to each other before being summoned forward.

After we dragged or bags upstairs we discovered our musky smelling somewhat grubby executive room just down the hall from the locked executive lounge that consisted of a room with a few plastic chairs and tables and a TV.

The evenings entertainment was observing the ladymen touting for business in the park opposite from our brightly lit (all night) balcony before the race of your life to secure the last crumb of a buffet breaky.

Checkout was the reverse of checkin only longer and more expensive.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedCentreAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianStampe, General Manager at Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2011

Dear RedCentreAdvisor

Good day to you.

Thank you for giving your feedback.
We will improve our porter service and responsiveness. On the areas of checkout as well, we apologize if we fell short in our service standards.

With regard to your comment about our executive lounge, the lounge is accessible via keycards for club guests. However we are confused on that statement of it being a few plastic tables and chairs.

Our lounge is able to seat 20 persons indorrs and another 12 at the outdoor verandah. Coffee, tea, soft drinks and juices are avilable from 0700-2200hrs daily on a self serve basis. We also provide computers for emails and serve breakfast in the mornings and have evening cocktails from 6-8pm (this is rather popular) where beer, wine, and cocktails plus snacks are served.

As for the balcony lights, guest just need to draw the blackout curtains in their rooms to ensure they get a good night or good day's sleep. In fact the balcony rooms are heavily in demand on most days with many guests asking to have those rooms.

We do apologize if we did not make your stay a good one and hope that we would have the opportunity to change your view of the hotel If you are ever coming back to Singapore.

Thank you
Best Regards
Brian Stampe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in the middle of a long hectic holiday. We wanted somewhere close to the airport as we arrived late one evening and had a very early departure flight, but we didn't want to be in the terminal. It was clean and stylish, check-in and out was fast and easy. The free shuttle to airport and city centre was great, but there wasn't much information around about it - we just asked at reception. The pool was lovely, very clean and clean fresh towels provided. As a whole this hotel provided everything we wanted from a quick stop over.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha_Pea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianStampe, General Manager at Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2011

Dear Natasha,
Greetings from Singapore. Thank you for your feedback. Glad that we were a good choice for your stopover. Well noted on the information of the shuttle service. We will make efforts to communicate to our guests on this upon check in and also have the information readily available in the rooms. Hope to have you back with us in the near future.
Best Regards,
Brian Stampe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

Stayed for a night where when we checked out we were asked whether we had ordered a room service. We did not ordered any room service and they insisted. One of the receptionist then had checked the restaurant and came back to assured us that we will not be charged on our credit card for anything. And apparently, a month later, my credit card bill came and it was billed with something which we were ASSURED of NOT being charged for.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wolwol0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianStampe, General Manager at Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2011

Dear wolwol0711,

Greetings from Singapore.

I am sorry to hear about the issue with the credit card charge for the room service. Please email us with your reservation details so that we can sort this out immediately. You can email my front office manager Hairul Anis - hairulanis@stayvillage.com

I noticed in the review that the rooms and value were rated poorly (1/5) but there was no mention of the room issue in your review. Also the sleep quality and the cleanliness were rated high (4/5). Please let us know if there were other issues so that we can work towards ensuring future guest's satisfaction.

Best Regards,
Brian Stampe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

Easy transit via the air conditioned modern small coach that picked us up from the airport and indeed, that we used every day to get down town to Orchard. Because the hotel is outside of the mainstream areas, the room size is impressive over its downtown cousins. Rooftop pool and jacuzzi are perfectly posiitoned, with an endless supply of fresh towels. Panoramic views of the China sea tributary and if the wind is in the right direction, check out the aircraft on final approach for Changi. Surprisingly, not that noisy. Well respecting front door staff and if you don't want to eat in, an amazing variety of restaurants and a great hawkery just a couple of minutes away. Rooms comfortable and clean. with plenty of the 4 star extras you get used to. Slippers etc etc. Easy access to the bum boats that cross regularly to Pulau Ubin island where cheap hire bikes and coconuts abound. Or, just relax under the palms on this side of the island. Nearly forgot to mention.. Being in a GREEN area, the crickets at night and at this time of year, practically deafen you. Thankfully, this hotel's double glazing system, blocks out the local noises, perfectly. You WILL enjoy your stay here, I promise. Listed and known as a transit hotel but I defy any traveller to find better value for money than this if considering a longer stay like we did. We WILL be back here, for sure, October 2011..

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Twanny53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianStampe, General Manager at Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2011

Dear Twanny53,

Greetings from Singapore. Glad you loved the views of the hotel. We are definitely happy to hear that you have appreciated the key difference between us and a city centre hotel.
Our precinct is unique and offers a different experience.

We look forward to having you back with us in October!

Best Regards
Brian Stampe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2010

I stayed here for 3 months, top floor (7th) ...don't have much complaints, the odd number floors are smoke-free, the even are for those who smoke. Found the hotel clean, sometimes they clean at 1 am (bathrooms downstairs) without hassling the guests. Service was excellent, my tip-be nice and they'll be extra nice to you. there's a ressonable gym on the 5th floor, spa for a nice massage on the 8th or 9th floor for those who want the special treatment (can hire the VIP spa for a few hours there with champagne etc for a price of course)
-laundry room on 2/3 rd floor...

I found the staff good, had breakfast everyday at the hotel made friends with a lot of the waiting staff, the omelette lady Bathmah and chef Albert were friendly. Victor the butler/bell boy gave me the timetable to the buses and tips for MRT..better to take the free bus to the airport and then connect to the sky city MRT from there..

I was doing a fast Postgrad with the Singapore Aviation Academy just 5 min walk. 10 min on heels from the hotel. make sure to take a free umbrella if you know it's gonna rain or take a taxi if you want. the pool was nice and didn't have a problem finding my way around...Mustafa is not that great, better to go to the bird Park, China Town, Little India and Sentosa if you have the time. ALso there is a small boat by the docks, opposite the hotel that goes to small islands nearby everyday, cheap to go only a few dollars.. Also there are lots of bikes for hire across the street if you want to get your heartrate up..

For the night life, you can go to Clarke Quay and shopping is all close by, can take bus 29 to Tempines...lots of things to do, also there is a food court close by and opposite the street. Or if you want to be in the hotel there is an excellent Italian restaurant at the top with an excellent selection of wine...make sure you take patience coz they take some time with the food...nice scenery though.

Or you can try the Japanese restaurant downstairs..ask for Okonomiaki and a glass of Japanese plum wine..not on the menu but the best in Singapore...
Would definitely stay here again...

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sing208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianStampe, General Manager at Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2010

Dear Sing208,

Glad that you enjoyed your stay which was definitely a long stretch. You are right about the LaCantina on the 8th floor with its excellent food. The crab linguine is fabulous. Will definitely use your recommendation at Choubei, the japanese restuarant on the 1st level.

Am glad that you could enjoy the area around Changi and the different atmosphere our hotel brings as compared to city hotels. You also managed to take the bumboats to the nearby islands plus an enjoyable spa at the VIP area. So all in all, I believe you had sampled almost everything we have, including the great neighbourhood eats in the vicinity.

We hope to have you back with us when you come back to Singapore in the future. Do let us know. Thank you for sharing the experience you had with us.

Until then,
Best Regards,
Brian Stampe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Changi Cove Singapore
#98 of 317 in Singapore
345 reviews
Capri by Fraser Changi City
#49 of 317 in Singapore
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport
#35 of 317 in Singapore
4,716 reviews
Furama RiverFront
#93 of 317 in Singapore
2,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality

Address: 1 Netheravon Road, Singapore 508502, Singapore (Formerly Changi Village Hotel )
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Singapore
#39 Business Hotel in Singapore
#39 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#72 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $90 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Changi offers a breath of fresh air from the other hotels in urban Singapore. The hotel is near the relatively untouched island of Pulau Ubin and the flora and fauna of the Chek Jawa Wetlands, which are both a bumboat ride away from Changi Ferry Terminal. Alternatively, guests can enjoy a leisurely stroll and enjoy the scenic Changi coastline.Located just 10 minutes away from Changi International Airport and 30-minute car ride from the Orchard shopping district, Village Hotel Changi is immensely popular with business travellers attending trade shows at the Singapore Expo, which is just 15 minutes away. With its proximity to the airport, the hotel is also a hot favourite with transit passengers who have a one or two-day stopover in our island nation.Village Hotel Changi's 380 rooms and 17 indoor and outdoor function venues make it ideal for both leisure and business travellers, with overseas meetings from foreign corporations, corporate retreats and team building sessions from local multinational corporations, weddings and solemnisations commonly held at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel Changi By Far East Hospitality Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing