We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Bad Service and bought the Deal Voucher $25 for $50 worth of crab is useless.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of House of Seafood

House of Seafood
Ranked #7,752 of 10,424 Restaurants in Singapore
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood, Asian, Singaporean
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Bad Service and bought the Deal Voucher $25 for $50 worth of crab is useless.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Visited 180 Yio Chu Kang Rd Branch on 28 Sep 13. Bought the $25 for $50 worth of crab voucher from DEAL, It is useless. DO NOT BUY IT. Crab came in very small size and Billing Time took a long time to come. The manager is not professional at all. He told my family and i that the crab voucher is under promotion the crab is suppose to be small! WTH man!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcmax2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    17
    21
    10
    74
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“First & Final Visit”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

1) don't be deceived by the large tables on the first floor; the tables on the second floor are very closely packed and it was an uncomfortable experience for my family.

2) at our table of 10, there was "no lazy Susan"... But other tables had.

3) because one of our elderly cannot eat spicy food, we deliberately ordered special dishes with no spice. We even repeated the order to confirm our request.
They got 3 of our orders wrong, after waiting about an hour for the crabs.

4) the lady taking our order was clearly multitasking. Taking to us and then asking us to slow down so she could take our order BUT she was talking on the earpiece to another colleague. We understood mandarin.

Please go elsewhere.
Food was mediocre at best.
Service terrible.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank merismer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bad service and DEAL voucher not worth buying”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

I just visited house of seafood at 36 Yio Chu Kang last weekend and place a booking. We reach there around 5.50pm and the place were not crowded. We request to sit in aircon place and the service staff say is big table for big group. We have 5 persons. We thought ok if that is for big group so we request to sit outside the the restaurant instead of on the road side. The waitress again told us is for big table. They are many empty table in the aircon room and outside the restaurant. We were reluctant and sit by the road side. We ordered crab and given them 3 deal voucher and to my surprise the carb is like mini crab. I think is around 1kg or less. The voucher I paid $75 and the value suppose to be $150 but the crab they serve is less than $50 value. Another surprise thing is when I walk-in to wash my hand, I saw many table sit with 2 person and 4 & 5 persons also have. They are just not giving any seat to you and given excuses. Please do not visit this restaurant because it is not honest. Please beware.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank FKLov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not worth the discount”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Me and my wife were looking forward to enjoy the deal.com discount of approx $25 for $50 worth of crab. So we booked the house of seafood opposite serangoon stadium last month. The black pepper crabs we ordered were so small, not even worth the $25. In addition, we order one vege and one soup dish enough for two, with service charge and gst, I paid additional $50, Really got ripped off.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jlim2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“SINGAPORE FAVOURITE FOOD not a favourite seafood restaurant”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had just visited the "famous crab restaurant" and found that the food was only average and the crab dish was not any better than any of the other seafood restaurants. The crabs and fish we ordered were not worth their weight as charged.

The crab dish was purchased with online food coupon which stated that the estimated weight of the crab served by the restaurant will be up to 700 gm but they had only provided a crab of about 450 gm because it looked small.

When we showed the "Singapore Favorite Food" booklet that offers a 10% discount (to be mentioned before ordering) to the waitress who took the order, she confirmed the 10% discount if we order a-la-carte dishes only.

When the bill arrived, there was no discount with a whole load of excuses that because we ordered 2 crab dishes with online food coupons, the discount is not allowed. They had not honoured what was promised in the advertisements. Even when we asked to speak to the Manager, he did not appear but sent another senior waitress to explain. When that failed, another one appeared, and we gave up and paid the bill - no discount!

We were disappointed because we traveled from Jalan Bahar to Yio Chu Kang to enjoy the 10% discount and the prepaid vouchers. The morale of the story....cash money buys cash goods, if it is prepaid, the goods will not be what you are expecting.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Ang S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of Seafood also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to House of Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing