We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Silk Happy In Singapore”
Review of Mahaco Impex

Mahaco Impex
Ranked #36 of 519 Shopping in Singapore
Attraction details
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Silk Happy In Singapore”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Visited Mahaco Impex today and totally agree with the other reviewers. So nice not to be accosted on the street and to be given the time to browse around without feeling pressured. If you are looking for frabric for drapes this is the place to shop. You can trust that what you are getting is a very high quality of silk for a very good price. They have been in business for three generations. Best selection!'

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Marilyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    9
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fremantle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“best silk shop in Singapore”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

thank you so much to the very friendly staff at Mahaco Impex! Their silk fabrics are very beautiful and of the highest quality with affordable prices. I was totally overwhelmed by the amazing colours and pattern of the silks and the huge choice. The staff were very friendly and allowed me to pace around the shop admiring the silks for a loooong time! There was so much I would have loved to buy... but due to a small budget I ended up getting some silk chiffon and 3 'fake' pashminas. They also had the most beautiful cashmir scarves - maybe I can afford to buy one next time...

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank lebenskuenstler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Silk material & scarves with knowledgable owner operator. Good $ value.”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Overall the best vendor in the Arab District for silk fabric/scarves encountered.Many to choose from. The owner is pleasant and knowledgable . Not a hard sell.

Helpful?
6 Thank Noade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful silks”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This shop has walls of beautiful silks and good prices. I shopped there several times (I kept going back to buy more) September 12 & 14, 2012. The owner, Mabir, comes from a family of cloth merchants so is very knowledgable and offers suggestions for fabric combinations. The assistant, Rica, is wonderfully sweet and patient - pulling bolts of cloth and opening them for perusal. They were friendly, honest and I can't wait to return for more shopping. I highly recommend this shop!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank MaryB694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Thank you Mabir Singh and your staff, for your professional and helpful customer service when I bought silk for curtains. I knew about Arab street, but had not been into Mahaco Impex before. Mr Singh helped me by holding up lengths of fabric to simulate the drop of the curtain, helped me with checking estimates of length etc, and gave a good fair discount for quantity without all the argy-bargy of starting high and bartering low.
The quality is lovely - what a pleasure to view such lovely fabrics.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Cos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mahaco Impex also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Mahaco Impex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing