We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Room is worthy, but location is not the best.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of @ Little Red Dot

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
@ Little Red Dot
Ranked #73 of 218 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Room is worthy, but location is not the best.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The capsules and restrooms are all clean. Each capsule is equipped with a bed lamp and plug, very convenient and pratical. But the bunk beds at the female only room are not well arranged, some of the plugs are blocked by the pillars of the bunk. The staffs are all nice and friendly, they helped me a lot when I stayed there. The location is so so ... From the hostel to the nearest MRT station(lavender mrt station), it costs around 10-15 mins by foot. The hostel is just next to a funeral home, not difficult to find it. Generally speaking, I think the hostel is worthy. 膠囊跟廁所都很乾淨. 每個膠囊都配有一個床頭燈跟插頭, 很方便, 很實用. 但是女性專用房裡的床鋪並沒有安置好, 有些插頭被床鋪的柱子給擋住了. 員工們都很好, 很友善, 在我入住期間給我很大的幫助. 這旅社的位置還可以...從旅舍走到最近的地鐵站大概要10-15分鐘. 旅社就在一間殯儀館旁邊, 不難找到. 總而言之, 我覺得這旅社挺值得的.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elva4u2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    127
    56
    18
    15
See reviews for
13
49
126
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paranaque, Philippines
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

It was a really nice place to stay for people on a budget. We stayed there with our friends. We're 6 in total, including my 1y/o baby, so we ended having a room for 6 to ourselves. The room was clean, the people were nice, the toilet and shower area are clean as well.
I just didn't like the stairs, it was too steep and a little dangerous for people who'd be carrying heavy stuff and for those in high heels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eumi2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have stayed in our share of hostels, but never in such a small little cubby hole. You get what you pay for in Singapore. Overall, it was a relatively pleasant experience. The staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast was included. The location was one block to a hawker area (with yummy food) and also close to a subway station (5 minutes walking distance). The biggest plus was that it was cheap. If we were staying in Singapore for a longer period of time, we would have picked another place. But our stay was short, so the experience was novel.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank EthanandJocelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nah Trang
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great little hostel in Singapore. The staff are extremely friendly and welcome you with a shot of ice tea. We stayed in a 6 person dorm which was fine. Although being at the front of the property the main road was quite noisy but we were able to sleep. Breakfast was included and although simple (cereal,toast, tea and coffee) was very welcome. The whole place was very clean and the guests were very friendly. There is a good common area with the breakfast table and outside space.

The staff have lots of advice for exploring the city and recommended a few nights out for us. They also took us on a walking trip of the local area showing us the local foods and drinks which was a nice touch.

Would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Try the larger dorms. From those we spoke to the capsules are very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Backpacker558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Pro's- staff are very helpful,cubicles were comfortable,no waiting for showers,near to MRTstation,good air con in the cubicles,everyone was considerate and quiet,discounts for tourist activities,cheap rates!
Cons-Creepy male guest hanging out staring at girls,pretty stinky in the rooms as no air flow,blinds in cubicles don't cover the cubicle so let light in and are see through,just a curtain between male and female,tiny corridor to female cubicles full of bags so you can hardly fit through,breakfast was terrible-everything was really dirty eg kettle and toaster,shower room was mouldy,area where tv was and outside smelt of sweat and feet where everyone leaves their shoes.
In summary,you get what you pay for :) but I would stay again if I had no money and needed cheap accommodation,just don't expect it to look like the photos!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I booked this hostel because I came over the Singaporean national day and the one that I usually stayed at had no vacancy anymore. For that I got rewarded with a new hostel experience - as I slept in a cozy little capsule for the first time and it was great. Whoever gets annoyed by bunk beds (like waking up at night because the person above or below is moving) should definitely try this one out - I had a great sleep!

The breakfast was simple but nice and gives you a good start into your day - Singapore is so full of great and cheap food courts that you dont want to fill up on Western style breakfast anyway..

The staff was also really friendly and attentive, could give me some tips for some unique Singaporean experiences and especially helpful doing some little printing and copying job for me that I urgently needed.

A minus point was that the free wifi was so slow for 3 days that the internet was quasi non-existent - but thumbs up for the hostel crew/management because they actually took the complaints on and fixed the problem! From then on it was the fastest wifi I have had in a hostel in a long time!

All in all, I can really recommend this place and will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are a girl, choose the female dorm - it is just a partition from the mixed dorm but has LOTS...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatalieAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Pros: Good value for a hostel in the most expensive country in SE Asia. The pods are great with your own little lamp and plug socket. Breakfast was also good. Showers were adequate but the walls could do with a spot of decobwebbing! Walking distance to the Lacender food market which has really great food at a more than reasonable rate.

Cons: the bloke on reception. When I checked in I was made to feel like I was disturbing him from something on his laptop and I didn't feel welcomed at all. I totally agree with one of the previous posts as he seemed to be very friendly with some of the guests but treated others, like me, as intruders. I didn't get a good feeling at all from him right up until I walked out the door without even a goodbye. I have never in my year of travelling experience this kind of ignorance from staff at a hostel.

As a result I'm totally unsure as to whether to recommend this to others. If you get to be one of his pals I'm sure you'll have a blast. If not, it could be turned into a rather drab stay in Singapore at a genuinely lovely hostel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ameiby1823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Little India
Hotel 81 Dickson
Hotel 81 Dickson
#165 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 1,071 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Emerald
Fragrance Hotel - Emerald
#144 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 879 reviews
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#143 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Geylang
Amrise Hotel
Amrise Hotel
#251 of 305 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 stars 189 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
#120 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 695 reviews
Fragrance Hotel - Oasis
#159 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to @ Little Red Dot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about @ Little Red Dot

Property: @ Little Red Dot
Address: 125 Lavender Street, Singapore 338734, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 218 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capsules At The Little Red Dot is conveniently located in the inner city area at Lavender Street, it is a 1-minute walk from the Malaysia/ Malacca Bus Terminal and a 5-7-minutes walk from Lavender MRT(Subway) Station. At The Little Red Dot is in walking distance to two tourism zones- Little India and Kampong Glam. You can even take a romantic walk to the Marina Bay Sands by the river in less than 30 mins.We provide both clean modern Private Single Capsule Beds, Lovers Private Capsules, Queen Sized Mezzanine Lofts and dorm beds which are all air conditioned At The Little Red Dot. Rates includes a free breakfast and if there are free walking tours on every Tuesday, Saturday and Sunday.You can enjoyed good discounted rates to Universal Studios, Night Safari, Singapore Flyer and many more attractions when you stay with us.Guests have access to a shared bathroom and toilet. In the common lounge, guests can play X-Box 360 games, watch award winning movies or use Wi-Fi, all for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your @ Little Red Dot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
@ Little Red Dot Hotel Singapore
@ Little Red Dot Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing