We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The long distance bus station no longer across the street” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of @ Little Red Dot

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
@ Little Red Dot
Ranked #76 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The long distance bus station no longer across the street”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

The station where you can catch your bus to Malaysia has moved to a few streets away and a little hard to find because there is no sign outside. David at the hostel was kind enough to drop me off there and picked me up when I returned. Such a nice guy!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Artscene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    133
    60
    21
    18
See reviews for
13
51
135
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed 5 nights. Good value for money. Believed we were staying in a dorm, which sort of we're but they were infact 'pods', comfortable, could still get wifi, own plug socket within it and 2 lights, have a pull down blind for some privacy. Pods only 2 levels high so not need climb that high, but a little annoying when rucksack on the bottom and have forgotten something! Great thing is that despite the dorms being downstairs you can't hear any noise from social area upstairs

Was clean, very basic breakfast of fluorescent yellow cereal, tea and coffee and bread for toast. Desmond very sweet and helpful, recommend his walking tour just to see a perhaps more real Singapore, with opportunity to try typical Singapore breakfasts etc.

A little far out. Took over hr to get to zoo, a metro ride from centre, half an hr Ish to get to marina. Would recommend purchasing metro card - like uk Oyster card. Was fine for us as had 5days but if don't fancy the time spent travelling, consider somewhere closer

In all good for money in an expensive city

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

The Little Red Dot was highly rated so I gave it a try. It may be fine for some but was a nightmare for me. My travelling companion broke down in tears on arrival and didn't sleep all night.
We arrived late about 11 pm and were shown to our rooms with little cubicles. Some have a privacy curtain - mine didn't. I thought I had booked in a 8 bed dorm but there were a lot more than 8 in that space. No towels or other toiletries were supplied. Breakfast was minimal.
This hostel may be fine for some single travelers but for 2 or more, a hotel is a much better option. Next visit to Singapore I will not be staying at the Little Red Dot.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hdox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

The hostel was recommendable for other tourists since as they say, it is near the lavender station as well as farrer park station. Also, it included free breakfast and a clean and cozy bathroom. However, I have a few negative comments regarding the people who stay late at night revelling and drinking some beer. there were really nights that i can hardly sleep due to the noise from outside. and it's really not a good sight when you see sober people sleeping at the chairs outside in the morning when you wake up. Yes, there must be freedom amongst these people but the staff should limit the noise and drinks they give to the customers so that they can control and can't disturb others. Another thing was our malfunctioning aircon. We stayed for 6 days in this hostel and I can't really sleep properly because our aircon was not functioning well. For 5 nights, i would take off my shirt just to ease the heat i experience. Once these comments are addressed, i'm sure the hostel will improve and become better, maybe even the best in Singapore.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PaulB2Ph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

It was a great place for overnight in Singapore. but there are plenty of steps upto reception and then down to the dorm which was unisex and a hole in the wall king single mattress with light reading light safe box aircon and lovely clean sheets, the $18 included breakfast. I recommend this backpackers for great value for money I would stay here again I'm over 60.

Room Tip: make sure You book the better dorm not the bunk dorm, it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April120449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Little red dot was a great place to stay, easy to get to every where in Singapore and with an amazing and cheap food court next door. The rooms are clean and there is a great chill out area which makes it easy to meet people. The best thing about this hostel is Jonathan the friendliest guy who will go out of his way to make sure you get the most out of your time in Singapore with recommendations and taking you out to all the best spots!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlyjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsens, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights. My overall impression is good! Room is small but enough to sleep. It wasn't clean but higher standard than some other hotel. Didn't like the lighting very much but that didn't bother me much. Staff was amazing, helpful and friendly. Location is great close to subway which was great! I would recommend this hotel for a cheap accommodation in expensive Singapore.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krishan-Hansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
#116 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Kam Leng Hotel
#210 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Emerald
Fragrance Hotel - Emerald
#132 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lloyd's Inn
#50 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Vintage Inn
#39 of 227 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Kampong Glam
The Pod - Boutique Capsule Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to @ Little Red Dot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about @ Little Red Dot

Property: @ Little Red Dot
Address: 125 Lavender Street, Singapore 338734, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — @ Little Red Dot 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capsules At The Little Red Dot is conveniently located in the inner city area at Lavender Street, it is a 1-minute walk from the Malaysia/ Malacca Bus Terminal and a 5-7-minutes walk from Lavender MRT(Subway) Station. At The Little Red Dot is in walking distance to two tourism zones- Little India and Kampong Glam. You can even take a romantic walk to the Marina Bay Sands by the river in less than 30 mins.We provide both clean modern Private Single Capsule Beds, Lovers Private Capsules, Queen Sized Mezzanine Lofts and dorm beds which are all air conditioned At The Little Red Dot. Rates includes a free breakfast and if there are free walking tours on every Tuesday, Saturday and Sunday.You can enjoyed good discounted rates to Universal Studios, Night Safari, Singapore Flyer and many more attractions when you stay with us.Guests have access to a shared bathroom and toilet. In the common lounge, guests can play X-Box 360 games, watch award winning movies or use Wi-Fi, all for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your @ Little Red Dot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
@ Little Red Dot Hotel Singapore
@ Little Red Dot Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing