We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missing italian food”
Review of Osteria Mozza

Osteria Mozza
Ranked #72 of 10,676 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Neighborhood: Marina Bay
Description: OSTERIA MOZZA is nearly a mirror image of its namesake in California, with the delicious addition of local seafood and produce. The heart of Osteria Mozza's dining is a free-standing fresh mozzarella bar, where a wide array of dishes—centered around imported bufala mozzarella, burrata and burricotta cheese—is prepared nightly.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
288 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Missing italian food”
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

After 3 weeks travelling alone, got a critical lack of italian food. By coincidence step into osteria Mozza and wow! Agree that receptionist should be changed: so unoleasant and arrogant. But once inside excellent service, very good italian food. The idea to borrow me the joe b. Book while I was there alone gave me something interesting and different to do and help not feeling that bad "business alone meal" feeling. Got very good burrata, salumi while gnocco fritto should be better studied. Overall a very good meal

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cristinaroccofoti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    393
    279
    144
    63
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1,042 reviews
839 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,098 helpful votes
“An excellent experience once you go past the unfriendly receptionists”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

The food is simple but excellent, the wine list is extensive, and the service friendly and attentive. For good knowledge of the menu and reliable recommendations, ask the men in tux (vs. the waiters without jackets.) The weak link is with the snooty, arrogant people at reception who never smile. Maybe this is due to the confused identity of this place - is it a high-end restaurant or an informal eatery? It aspires to be the former but allows in patrons in shorts and sandals. Contrast with Cut, the steak restaurant a few metres down, definitely a high-end place, where receptionists are professional, curteous and friendly!

The informal Pizzeria has unusual and excellent pizzas. It has a more casual menu, but relatively speaking to restaurants in its class, it's even better than the Osteria.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
385 reviews
297 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Not a patch on LA”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Having enjoyed one of the best Italian feasts ever at Osteria Mozza in Los Angeles, I have to say I was expecting more from the outpost in Singapore's Marina Bay Sands. While the service was splendid, the food was underwhelming for the most part. A serve of pasta with butter and sage sauce was particularly disappointing. I expected the butter to be nut brown and the sage to be crispy - as I've had many times with this dish around the world. The butter was a greasy pool and one soggy sage leaf was on the plate. Another dish of bucatini all'Amatriciana was also unremarkable - surprisingly for Singapore the level of chilli was barely noticeable and the most dominant flavour on the plate was the fresh parsley thrown in at the end.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank thefoodieworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Paying the rent!”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Responding to some extremely lofty claims in recent advertising literature, we ventured to 'Pizzera Mozza' with expectations commensurately high. And why shouldn't we?
In a nutshell:
cocktails 4/5; food 2/5; service 2/5; ambience 3/5; value for money 1/5; over all 12/25 or 2.4/5.
In detail:
The staff at the reception were efficient enough, if a little inattentive. Having not made a reservation we were happy to be offered 'bar seating'. Despite a proliferation of waiters and waitresses (I counted twelve in our area alone) there was some confusion over who was taking our order. We knew what we wanted so ordered everything together. The cocktails arrived in good order, and the raspberry Mojito was very good; not blown by the raspberry and a strong enough hint of mint. A 'complimentary' Parmesan cheese crisp accompanied the cocktails. We ordered a buffalo mozzarella with roasted tomatoes and a green pesto drizzle antipasti. The ingredients used for this were not of the highest quality, the mozzarella being quite bland and the tomatoes being flavour-free – only the freshest, organic products should be used for this. For the main, lasagna and a Parma ham, rocket and Parmesan pizza were ordered. The lasagna was presented in the manner of a school dinner: a collapsed, stratified cube with no accompaniments. The lasagna was extremely disappointing in every respect: I would question if the meat was fresh, and if the sauce was freshly made. The pizza arrived with no Parmesan. I was not offered black pepper. I asked for both – three times - and in the time it took for them to arrive, the pizza was cold. When the Parmesan did arrive it was ground Parmesan, not of good quality (I would guess from a packet). At this price point I should expect high quality, shaved Parmesan for my pizza.
And then the bill: SG$169. Wow! I can tell you what you are NOT paying for and that is quality of food and standard of service. I SUSPECT what you are paying for is 'location, location, location' – in that proportion.
Very disappointing, especially considering the hype! There are far better pizzas in town.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulLewis999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great preconcert meal”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Did not have a reservation but the staff still got us a table. Food was good and the service was pleasant and attentive. Will return here again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CoconutHustle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Mozza also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Osteria Mozza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing