We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Terrific Location and Lovely Aesthetics!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beds & Dreams at Clarke Quay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beds & Dreams at Clarke Quay
Ranked #42 of 215 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Terrific Location and Lovely Aesthetics!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

My friends and I stayed in the quad room which could actually fit 6 persons as it has 2 bunk beds and 2 pull out beds. The A/C worked well, the Wi-Fi signal in the room was strong and it also had enough space for 4 persons to move around without bumping into each other. The shared bathrooms were always clean and I hardly saw anybody using them. Our room was facing the street but it was usually quiet at night.

The hostel does not have an elevator/lift therefore, having huge luggages could be a bit of a problem. Shoes are not allowed in the rooms and were left on assigned boxes near the lobby/reception area. You can bring house slippers of you do not want to walk barefoot. The free breakfast provided consisted of breads and various jams. The staff were friendly and helpful with giving directions and suggestions on the best way to go around the city.

The hostel is located near the Clarke Quay MTR, around 10 minutes by foot. Clarke Quay and Boat Quay were also within walking distance. The Jumbo Seafood Restaurant famous for their Chili Crabs can be found in Clarke Quay. There is also a convenience store across the hotel where you can get water and snacks, although we just usually refilled our water bottles from the hostel.

The design and over all aesthetics of the hostel would be perfect for backpackers/friends and even families who do not mind sharing bathrooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristineS_Manila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    66
    16
    3
    4
See reviews for
27
25
50
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I stayed two nights. Even i was on a dorm, the facilities are perfect. Fast wifi, chance to cook if needed, good laundry service, awesome staff, safe... I can't expect nothing like that for the price I paid. I will considere Rucksack on my future business trips in Singapore as a perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: Best location! good service and facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aurinlara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

This guesthouse is absolutely spotless clean! the staff is very friendly, for example, we really appreciated the gesture of offering a class of cold water upon arrival in a very hot day, even before asking anything about the check-in

The place is ideally located at a walking distance to the Marina, and the China Town

We will definitively go back there again in the future

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank michade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in a priavate room which was so small that I could touch 3 walls at once and could barely fit my case in. It was essentially a windowless corridor with a bed in it with the described tv missing.
The common areas were nice and spacious and well laid out but unfortunately although people where friendly, a lot actually lived here meaning it was not a place to make travelling companion friends at all, which is a shame.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank vikki1702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Nice central location, tidy rooms, unfortunately a bit of karejokey going on late but it is city centre!free wwifi and friendly staff. If location is key its great little place. Their directions areperfect too. They give free hot tea and coffee and toast all day

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed four nights at the Rucksack Inn@Hongkong Street.
After our booking it started with an excellent information mail how we could get from the airport to the hostel.
Honestly I was a little afraid, because it was my first time in a six bed dorm. But no worries! As we arrived we felt from the first "Welcome" on very comfortable.
The room wasn't that big but everything was really clean. There was the possibility to get breakfast all day long ( toast, peanutbutter, tea, coffee and water) for free!

The staff was superfriendly all the time and gave us good advices! They also offer cheaper tickest for the zoo etc.

Friends of us stayed at the Pan Pacific- of course you can't compare the rooms, but I'm pretty sure that the service is the same.

PS: If you have the choice stay in the room close to the reception!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nintschi76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Singapore for 3 nights before heading to Bali on our year long backpacking trip around the world. Even though Singapore is extremely expensive by SE Asia standards, The Rucksack Inn on Hong Kong Street was great value! Our beds were only $20 USD per night for a 10 bed mixed dorm.

The place was extremely clean, close to all the action and the staff couldn't have been friendlier. The place had all sorts of amenities to make us feel at home too.

Highly recommend if you're looking for an affordable hostel in Singapore.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
River City Inn
#19 of 215 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 stars 769 reviews
The Quays
Quarters Hostel
Quarters Hostel
#31 of 215 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 stars 213 reviews
The Quays
MET A Space Pod
MET A Space Pod
#16 of 215 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Chinatown
Beds and Dreams Hostel at ChinaTown
Chinatown
Burrow Hostel at Smith
Burrow Hostel at Smith
#24 of 215 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beds & Dreams at Clarke Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beds & Dreams at Clarke Quay

Property: Beds & Dreams at Clarke Quay
Address: 38 Hong Kong Street #02-01, Singapore 059677, Singapore (Formerly Rucksack Inn)
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 215 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Beds & Dreams at Clarke Quay 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Beds & Dreams at Clarke Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rucksack Inn 2 Hotel Singapore
Beds & Dreams At Clarke Quay Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing