We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“love this place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beds and Dreams Inn Clarke Quay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beds and Dreams Inn Clarke Quay
Ranked #57 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

great hostel, clean tidy, fun, and relaxed. this is the place to meet people and explore singapore. The dorm room is huge with lots of bunk beds and your own locker, the bathrooms are lovely and clean with hot water. The free breakfast is simple but its very easy and light way to start the day, some nights id just make a cup of noodles and stay in due to the rain. The price is good and the staff are amazing and friendly. It is the perfect place as it is so close the a train station that can take you anywhere. I met some friends here that i still talk to from all over the world, something that a hotel can't offer you. The hostel offers a free walking tour of singapore, it was raining and we went with umbrellas and had an amazing time meeting the locals and eating at a local spot, food and drinks and memories of this trip are unforgettable. I can highly recommend this place, its fun and cosy and stops you from feeling home sick.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelForChangeBlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    70
    19
    3
    4
See reviews for
28
25
52
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

the first time I went to Singapore and stay at hostel, made me want to go to Singapore again and again, because I never stay at hostel in Singapore before...the location around Clarke Quay is perfect, near MRT station, close to Merlion Park and Raffles plus near to Chinatown also...the wi-fi was so great and there are many free computers also...the environment was so friendly with the helpful staff and all places in the hostel was so clean and comfortable...the room price was worth it, Rucksack Inn was perfect, definitely!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nazraaulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

I've stayed at Rucksack Inn in 2010, before it moved to current building. Previously it was a lovely one story hostel, but now it has grown into more stories and rooms. I really liked Rucksack so then I booked this hostel without any second thought. I stayed in a dorm bed in Baba, I was unlucky because the bed was not really cozy but I could sleep still. Although there's an instruction to turn off the room lamp after 10.30 pm, but all my dorm mates thought that it was too early so we decided to keep the lamp on until a little bit later (because the sun sets at 7 pm, so basically sleeping at 10.30 feels too early). Sorry Rucksack :P
It's nice that each bed has bendable bed lamp, lower bunk beds have their own power sockets. The best part of this is that the sockets don't only afford A and C type electrical plug (typical Singapore plug), but also C (like in Indonesia). So I enjoyed my stay without bothering the plug (cause I forgot to bring adapters). The room had fan for day and air conditioner for night. I don't know why but my phone did not always receive good signal from Singtel (local provider) but lucky that the wifi was reliable and accessible from my room in 3rd floor.
You might've heard that Rucksack is well known for its good service, it's true. The staffs were very helpful and nice. When you arrived for the first time, they ran to take you a glass of cold water (which was very helpful after long walk in hot tropical day) when you were ringing the bell. For me, that's small but very thoughtful. Oh, did I ruin the surprise? :D
The TV room was so convenient, I stayed there half of my stay, enjoyed the wifi and sofas. There's a cable TV and book rack, where we can swap book. You can also rent a bike for some bucks. They also have 4 PCs you can use for free. They also have all day breakfast (bread, some jams, coffee, tea), just don't forget to tidy your stuffs and wash your dishes.
On the first days of my stay, the hostel was so quiet, no guest showed up in the living room. I came for a conference so at night I didn't really get around the town but stayed at the hostel looking for fellow travelers to talk to. One night I showed up bored on the reception and one of the staffs accompanied me conversing half his shift :D
Oh, I forgot to mention location. It's very close to Central Mall, Clarke Quay MRT and Chinatown. Just follow the direction in the hostel's site. There was also a convenient store across the hostel. I would just recommend everybody to stay at Rucksack when traveling to Singapore. I've stayed in a lot of hostels in Asia and Europe, and Rucksack is one of my faves. I've stayed there twice, enjoyed it and will definitely stay for the third time :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank titatutu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Have gone to many hostels before and this is one of the most cleanest ones I've been to. Plus it was conveniently located downtown and about 5 minutes away from Clarke Quay MRT station. My bed and its sheets were super clean. Place even had free high speed wifi (unlike many other places) along with free computers to surf the web on and a kitchen. And the 24 hour staff were among the most friendly and helpful I have dealt with before.

Minor wishlist items were more electric outlets for those using bunk bed (so as to charge a phone and camera at same time), more space for placing one's luggage (space is really tight in between bunk beds) and hotter water for the showers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stonaday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

This is the third time that I came back in Singapore and I never changed my hotel. Rucksack inn has it all. Walking distance from MRT Clark Quay. The rooms and bathrooms are clean. The staff are very helpful and kind. You may ask their assistance about everything and anything. The overflowing tea/coffee and toast is a plus! It is definitely recommended for solo travellers, friends and families.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mdallas71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Everything you need for a short stay in Singapore. Great for a youth hostel. Nice staff and added bonus with free tea/ coffee and toast/ sandwich bits. Would definitely recommend if looking for budget accommodation.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonAms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

When i come to Singapore, i will always stay here! The hostel was good, and the staff are really friendly. The hostel itself, close to MRT Clarke Quay, and the famous nightlife attraction; Clarke Quay, where u can have a glass of beer, dining, or even get wasted! Anyway, i recommend this hostel for young traveler who like to see around, and not the young traveler who loved to shopping or going with parents and kids.

Room Tip: Choose the top bunk bed if like cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bekicotngesot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Fragrance Hotel - Riverside
#137 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
River City Inn
#17 of 227 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
The Quays
Quarters Hostel
Quarters Hostel
#29 of 227 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Beds and Dreams Inn @ ChinaTown
The Quays
5footway.inn Project Boat Quay
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beds and Dreams Inn Clarke Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beds and Dreams Inn Clarke Quay

Property: Beds and Dreams Inn Clarke Quay
Address: 38 Hongkong Street #02-01, Singapore 059677, Singapore (Formerly Rucksack Inn)
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Beds and Dreams Inn Clarke Quay 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Beds and Dreams Inn Clarke Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rucksack Inn 2 Hotel Singapore
Beds And Dreams Inn Clarke Quay Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing