We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beds and Dreams Inn Clarke Quay
Ranked #55 of 225 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and location”
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We stayed here as well as at Rucksack Inn 1. Rucksack Inn 1 was cheaper but slightly older.

Like rucksack 1, the dorm rooms are clean and everyone is respectul. The common area had a great backpackers atmosphere with modern comfy furniture and several computers with Internet that you can use for free. The location was great and close to transit, shopping, restaurants, the waterfront and Chinatown.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moderatetraveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    71
    19
    3
    4
See reviews for
28
26
53
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, Mississippi
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

It was one of my best decision I had ever made! I booked a female form bed in my last trip to Singapore this Oct. The first thing that amazed me is the cleanness of the toilets and bathrooms. The second thing is the sleeping quality. The location is great, too. Just a few steps and you reach Boat Quay, Clarke Quay, Merlion... The MRT station is just 3 mins walk. The staffs are helpful and friendly.

It just costs me S$32 per nite, unbelievable, haha!

Room Tip: A single room costs you 90 bucks, no window but of course more private than the dorm bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenzie_Bui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We stayed here in November 2011 and it is one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in. The staff are so helpful and friendly, the bathrooms are literally spotless and the bedrooms are a great size. The location is also great as you are not even a 5 minute walk from Clarke Quay MRT station and buses run from either end of the street. If you really wanted to walk to main attractions the maximum you would have to walk is 25 minutes but trust me in the heat you will want to take the MRT.

I have quite high standards when it comes to hostels and this is 5* and I have no doubt that I will stay here again when I return to Singapore.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

This hostel lives up to the cleanliness of this nation. So expect a spotless clean hostel unlike the those rubbish [...] holes in Malaysia and Thailand. I have stayed in several hotels in the city and this hostel is a great choice if you wanna cut your budget. I got a room with two bunk beds, i suggest you take this against the dormitory for a lot of obvious reasons.

Ruck sack is along Hongkong street and this is a 5 minute walk or virtually across the Central station which is a mall and the mrt station, it is also called Clark quey station. It may not be located along Orhcard rd but city's action at night is right here at Clark Quey with all the bars and restaurants. I really saved a lot of money on my lodging here during my long trip without compromising the convenience.

They also have a troop of young friendly staff.

Oh, and don't take the tours ads of the hotel, it's wayyy expensive. So you just hopt on the train and go wherever.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Intrepid_traveler82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Rucksack Inn 2 was our first stop on your south east asia tour. We haven't done much of research but RI2 seemed like a place that suited us. We slept in both a double room and a dorm due to our last minute booking. But both rooms are just fine. In fact, simple but modern and very clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There was always someone cleaning and looking after things. Free breekie all day long (toast and coffee/tea). The street where RI2 is located isn't really what you'd looking for but it's very central and therefore very convenient.
Looking back after almost 3monts of traveling, RI2 was a great pick and we can highly recommend it to you!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flashpackhippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
235 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

it was grand prix f1 weekend 2011,when we stay here.great friendly service,and advise.fast internet,.Our quad room was a bit tight,4mx4m,with 2 bunk beds,no window,but very sound proof,its was on the 3rd floor,staff did helps us with our bags to our room..bathroom was all new and very good.large kitchen and lounge area.5 mins walk to clarke quay mrt at central shopping centre.At central shops,outside there is the river quay,where you can take a boat ride tour or water taxi.We loved this area as there was heaps of resturants to eat at.So l can say rucksack inn 2 is at a very good location.Taxi ride from airport to rucksack cost for 4p was $20,00 SD,so cheap,but he was very rude.Taxi ride back to airport was better Only one negetive comment was it cost me $60.00 AUD extra to transfer a 1 nights deposit to their singapore bank from australia.Normally l would use website like wotif.etc,but everything was booked out and rucksack only deal with cash ,no credit card facility. l would highly recommend rucksack inn 2 to all ,who wishes to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

upon arriving at the ruck sack inn 2 my first thoughts after seeing the small front door and uncarpeted stairs was "this looks like a bad choice. Couldn't have been more wrong.
The staff were very helpfull. our double room was basic but spotlessly clean and very good air cond. The shared showers were also modern, clean and a strong hot shower. The position was perfect, close to Boat and Clark Keys. I'm close to 60 years of age and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Fragrance Hotel - Riverside
#140 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
River City Inn
#23 of 225 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Quarters Hostel
#36 of 225 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Beds and Dreams Inn @ ChinaTown
The Quays
5footway.inn Project Boat Quay
Blissful Loft
#178 of 225 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beds and Dreams Inn Clarke Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beds and Dreams Inn Clarke Quay

Property: Beds and Dreams Inn Clarke Quay
Address: 38 Hongkong Street #02-01, Singapore 059677, Singapore (Formerly Rucksack Inn)
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 225 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Beds and Dreams Inn Clarke Quay 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, HostelWorld and Hotel.de so you can book your Beds and Dreams Inn Clarke Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rucksack Inn 2 Hotel Singapore
Beds And Dreams Inn Clarke Quay Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing