We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Green Kiwi Backpacker Hostel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Kam Leng Hotel(Singapore)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel YAN(Singapore)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Arcadia Hotel(Singapore)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Hamilton(Singapore)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pinnacle Hotel(Singapore)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (386)
Filter reviews
386 results
Traveler rating
170
154
40
15
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
154
40
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop terracefree breakfastmrt stationssmall lockerslittle indiacommon roomfemale dormbathroom areatea coffeehot watercomputersbedslavenderwifivaluablestoiletsheets
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
279 - 284 of 386 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2012

This was our first experience with a dorm room, and it has been a great one. We stayed for 2 nights. Traffic can be noisy in the evening, so you might want to bring earplugs. But if you have been wandering the whole day, you are probably very tired! Breakfast was very nice, not the plain white toast, but wholeweat and as much as you want. We love Kaya!! Coffee was very good and the price for an extra cup is very reasonable (2 dollars). Bathroom was clean but very hot! Nice showers though! Within walking distance of Little India. Backpackerwise it is expensive, but probably one of the best in Singapore. Don't skip Singapore!! You can eat low-budget to keep your overall budget in balance!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank B K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

I spent 2 nights at this hostel and I would highly recommend it. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the place is spotless. There is a nice terrace on the rooftop of the building where you can relax at the end of the day. Of course, the expresso machine was a big selling point for me and the fact that the breakfast is included (toasts, fruits and your choice of coffee or tea)!

Also, it is located a few blocks away from Lavender metro station, so access is easy.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank taliontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Green Kiwi and it is by far the best three nights sleep i have had in three months of travelling. It has fantastic facilities. amazingly friendly and helpful staff plus good location. Really good value for money, made our stay in such an amazing city all the better.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank margaret_mcaulay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We accidentally stumbled upon the Green Kiwi Hostel and it was the best thing that could have happened. It's cheap to stay at, the beds are as comfy as that of a 5 star hotel, and the staff goes above and beyond to meet your every need. Breakfast is included (continental style) and it's less then a 5 min walk to the main subway line that takes you to all the main tourist destinations (5-10 min trip on the subway). There's free desktop computers and wifi and it has a pretty chill rooftop patio. The bathroom is modern and very clean. If you are lucky enough to stay here, you will enjoy your time in Singapore even more!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

I spent 5 days in the "Green Kiwi Backpackers Hostel' and I can highly recommend it. Like stated in the title, it is clean and has comfortable beds (2m). They have a really nice breakfast and helpful and friendly staff. I think 15$ is good value for money, so I assigned 5/5 stars.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
6  Thank Benedikt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews