We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
FindHotel
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,597)
Filter reviews
1,597 results
Traveler rating
295
763
412
77
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
295
763
412
77
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mrt station shuttle service budget hotel shuttle bus minute walk comfortable stay basic amenities front office staff mall supermarket sgd
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
975 - 980 of 1,597 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Hotel is about a 10 minute walk from Novena MRT, the walk to the station is a bit hilly. Make use of the free shuttle bus provided by the hotel, but ensure that you pre book with them the night before. The shuttle bus can drop you off at Novena MRT or Mount Elizabeth Hospital on Orchard, it's not in the heart of Orchard road but still quite close, it's just behind Plaza Singapura only about a 2 minute walk.

Location wise it's not in a touristy area, but it's very close to Orchard. There is a service station opposite, a few food places nearby. There are also a few famous eateries near by like Boon Tong Kee on Balestier Road.

Staff are very friendly. The room is small, but it was expected with the price. This hotel is good for just having clean place to stay at night, just the basics. It's not very soundproof, if people are in the hallway talking you will be able to hear them. The fridge provided in the room is not very cold or big, it'll only fit a few waterbottles.

Overall we had a pleasant stay and will stay at the hotel again.

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilyp4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServices_GM1, Manager at Ibis Singapore Novena, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear lilyp4

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad you have a comfortable stay and enjoyed the services rendered. I will share your compliment with the Housekeeping Team.

Hope to see you again in your next visit to Singapore.

Yours Sincerly
The Guest Services Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

The Ibis Novena hotel offers everything you would expect from an Ibis hotel - a plain, comfortable room with good service. Having stayed there for business a few times, the hotel isn't in the centre of the action (so be prepared to travel) but a quick walk down Irrawaddy Rd takes you to the Novena Shopping Centre with numerous places to eat. In addition to these eating options, the hotel's Oopen restaurant offers some very nice meals and a very good breakfast.

It's in an easy-going and safe area of Singapore, and not far to the local MRT station. Well recommended if you're looking for a budget (well, for Singapore) hotel.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elliot_Hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServices_GM1, Manager at Ibis Singapore Novena, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Mr Elliot-Hill

Thank you for sharing your feedback and experience at ibis Singapore Novena. We are glad to hear that you had enjoyed your stay and compliment to the Restaurant & Kitchen Team on the good selection of breakfast served and services rendered.

Hope to see you again in the near future.


Yours Sincerly

The Guest Services Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

If it weren't for the exorbitant hotel rates in Singapore, I would rate this hotel much higher. It is a basic, competent, no-frills hotel. But given the $230 price tag per night ($175 after discounts and including many taxes), the out-of-the-way location and minimal service was not justified. Nestled among hardware stores and no MRT or bus stop, and no touristy stuff nearby, Ibis Novena is a typical business hotel. There's one restaurant inside, and almost no options close by that I could see. Taxis are easy to find and MRT is about 15 minute walk.

The best part about the hotel were the huge bay windows. Make the room look larger than it is. The hotel and rooms are clean and well-maintained. Check-in was efficient and quick.

There is room for improvement in their handling of maintenance. We slept in either very cold or very hot Air Conditioning on both nights because the front desk refused to acknowledge there was a problem at all. Then they said there's no engineer at hand. After raising a fuss, they sent someone over and discovered the air filter was clogged. The thermostat was broken too, and after cleaning the filter room became very cold. The annoying part was the take it or leave it attitude of the front desk. Had a similar experience at breakfast, where the attitude was again "We are doing you a favor by giving you such low prices. Now take it or leave it"

That said, the overall attitude (when not faced by complaints) was very professional and courteous. The bright colors and spaces made it an overall pleasant experience. Given a chance, we would stay again at this hotel.

Room tip: Make sure you get the bay windows, and don't expect any service. Go there just to sleep. It is clean and comfortable, so no complaints if you keep expectations low.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vidooshak
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServices_GM1, Manager at Ibis Singapore Novena, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Vidooshak

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Singapore. Would appreciate you could contact me at H7451-om@accor.com on your feedback.


Yours Sincerly

Eileen Tan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is our second stay at Ibis Novena, with the first stay about a year ago. It is located in a pleasant neighbourhood, about 10 minutes walk from the Novena MRT station. The hotel runs a scheduled free shuttle to the station but it is advisable that you pre-book as the driver may not take the shuttle out if there is no booking.
Two years ago we stayed at Ibis on Bencoolen which was also quite good. Ibis Bencoolen is more expensive than Ibis Novena, possibly because of the former’s proximity to the Bugis area. But Ibis Novena is not that far from Bugis or Orchard either, it is only a few stops away by MRT.
The room is comfortable and clean. Although a bit small, there is good use of space. I feel relaxed in the simple, no-fuss design of the room. I like this better than the way rooms are done at the new Ibis Styles hotel, which I stayed at in Kuala Lumpur in another trip in February 2013.
We booked Ibis Novena at the Super Sale rate of 50% off the normal rate and I am certainly happy with my stay at Ibis Novena again.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LemonJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServices_GM1, Manager at Ibis Singapore Novena, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear CTMEW

Welcome back ! It's was really nice to hear that this was your second stay with us.

Thank you for the compliment to all the ibis Novena Team.

Hope to see you again in your next visit to Singapore.


Yours Sincerly
The Guest Services Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at the Ibis Novena. While is it not right in the centre of the action, we actually prefered that. The surrounding area is lovely and doesn' have the hecticness of the CBD/downtown. Plus it was only a 5-10 MRT ride to Marina Bay.

The rooms were spacious and well kept. It had everything we needed, including free wifi, cable tv and a fridge. The hotel was well kept and the staff were lovely. But we're used to that as we frequent Accor hotels worldwide!

The surrounding area has lots as well - Balestier Rd gives you access to restaurants, food centres and super markets. Novena MRT station also has a number of shopping centres offering everything you need as well.

Date of stay: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g_to_the_bo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServices_GM1, Manager at Ibis Singapore Novena, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear go_to_the_bo

Thank you for the compliments to our lovely staff and the facilities and services rendered. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay.


Looking forward to welcome you back again.

Yours Sincerly
The Guest Services Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews