We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair value ~ but terrible location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ibis Singapore Novena
Ranked #101 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed July 7, 2011

I have been a fan of the Singapore IBIS Bencoolen for a number of years (see earlier reviews). I love the uber efficient, but very functional rooms (means sparse) and the no nonsense approach to lodging needs. The IBIS Novena is identical to its sister property in all respects except the employees have yet to establish a strong espirit de corps. As a result the service was very ordinary.
Rooms are small but functional ~ great for one busy executive but hell for 2 persons There is a small but well designed bathroom, but on this occasion the water pressure was barely adequate. Great free wireless access and rapid check-in/check-out.
The major downside is the very poor location ~ no it is not near the subway; 10 minutes walk in the Singapore heat makes it impractical. Getting taxis can be very iffy.

Room Tip: Rooms are standard, go for a high floor was this reduces external noise. Ask for room at the end of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 100nights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServices_GM1, Guest Services at ibis Singapore Novena, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken your time to provide us with your valuable feedback relating to your stay with us.

We are sincerely concerned and apologise that we fell short of your expectations in some areas. Your helpful comments are much appreciated, and your feedback will help us to continually improve the standard of facilities and services offered to all our guests.

We hope to be able to get in touch with you directly on this matter. Would be great if you could email us your contact details at H7451-GM1@accor.com

Looking forward to hear from you soon.

Thank you.

Guest Services Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,146 - 1,152 of 1,409 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2011

I am a regular business traveler to Singapore. I like Accor hotels but some of them are too expensive for my travel budget. I stayed at the Ibis Bencoolen and I liked it there but the rates are more than the Novotel. I switched to the NEW ibis in Singapore.

I have to say, this is a much nicer Ibis because it is smaller and in a quieter area for a good night sleep after a busy day at work. The train station is closer then the Bencoolen Ibis. Although taxi's are so convenient and very cheap in Singapore.

This is a good 3 star hotel. It lives up to the ibis brand and what you would expect for a 3 star hotel. I actually don't like to eat at the hotel restaurants but at this new Ibis there is a proper restaurant and food is great. If you are like me and go on a business trip for a few days at a time, then you must get sick of hotel food. That's what I like about the new ibis, a short walk to 2 shopping malls and a lot of restaurants. I like the walking after a full day at the office and unlike the Bencoolen hotel where you are always walking and bumping into millions of people who have no manners, you can have a nice quiet walk to the shopping mall and wind down after work.

Staff are great, very friendly and speak good English - ones you can understand. I was pleased to find out that I can book this hotel on a corporate rate. More the reason I like this hotel more.

The rooms are spacious enough for an Ibis hotel. Free internet is great for business travel. It saves a lot of money.

Yes I would like to recommend this hotel. I believe this is a good 3 star hotel in Singapore. As we all know the accommodation in Singapore is very expensive. As a business person, I believe this hotel deserves a true review.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ozorule20102011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServices_GM1, Guest Services at ibis Singapore Novena, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken your time to provide us with your valuable feedback relating to your recent stay with us.

We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed every other aspect of your stay with us and our confident Hosts delivered warm, friendly and efficient customer care.

Your positive feedback has given all of us the inspiration to continually strive for service excellence. We are grateful for your support and look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to Ibis Singapore Novena.

If you wish, you can contact us directly on H7451-GM1@accor.com and we would be glad to offer you a corporate rate for your future bookings.

Thank you,
Guest Services Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Actually the staffs is good, but not really for the hotel.
As the new hotel, this hotel still need many improvements.
Frist, there is no lobby there ! so we must standing so long just for check in.
second, the room and the bathroom is very small, we can't enter it easily.

third, the WIFI is not really good, I asked the staff but they still can't help much, so I tried many times by myself until I can use the WIFI

last, the location is bad. So far for MRT station, and if we use taxi to this hotel is so hard. The driver even don't know about this hotel's location.

So I think this hotel not really reccomended, still need improvements.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Niqqz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServices_GM1, Guest Services at ibis Singapore Novena, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken your time to provide us with your valuable feedback relating to your stay with us.

We are sincerely concerned and apologise that we fell short of your expectations in some areas. Your helpful comments are much appreciated, and your feedback will help us to continually improve the standard of facilities and services offered to all our guests.

We hope to be able to get in touch with you directly on this matter. Would be great if you could email us your contact details at H7451-GM1@accor.com

Looking forward to hear from you soon.

Thank you.

Guest Services Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

We stayed for one night in May 2011 and I was very happy to leave. The rooms were small, reasonably clean and okay, but I expected more from a new hotel.
There was wifi available in rooms and free computers in the lobby, but it was very crowded and very busy. The staff were reasonably friendly but not particularly helpful.
My main complaint was with breakfast. The restaurant was very crowded and we had to wait for ages for a table to become available. There was no area to wait in and we were constantly being bumped by people walking in and out of the restaurant. We wouldn't have waited if we hadn't already pre-paid for breakfast. For four people, breakfast was $S60. Reasonably priced if the food was okay, but between the four of us, we had two glasses of juice, two coffees and a marmalade toast. The rest of the western food was completely inedible. Very unpleasant.
Overall, I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CherieA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServices_GM1, Guest Services at ibis Singapore Novena, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken your time to provide us with your valuable feedback relating to your stay with us.

We are sincerely concerned and apologise that we fell short of your expectations in some areas. Your helpful comments are much appreciated, and your feedback will help us to continually improve the standard of facilities and services offered to all our guests.

We hope to be able to get in touch with you directly on this matter. Would be great if you could email us your contact details at H7451-GM1@accor.com

Looking forward to hear from you soon.

Thank you.

Guest Services Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Being a new hotel, we thought we were getting excellent value for money. The room and bathroom was small, however not really an issue to us (unlike some other reviews). Our problem was with the complete lack of soundproofing in the rooms. A family with small children that were staying on the same floor considered it appropriate to run around screaming down the hallway until 11pm at night and again when leaving at 4am. I am a pretty heavy sleeper but honestly, it was like the people were in the room with us. Management need to seriously look at soundproofing the doors at least if they want return custom...

We checked in under the Member's 'STAY, SPIN & WIN' Promotion + FREE 1-Day City Tour, Breakfast & Internet at an average cost of $140 per night. We had to ask for our 1-Day City Tour pass. Who knows what the "spin and win" component of the package was - yes we could have asked but we were new to Singapore and getting the simplest of directions seemed to get lost in translation.

I was disappointed that there were no travel brochures or city maps available. Being first time visitors to Singapore with no real planned itenerary it was pretty difficult to find our way around. Staff seemed unwilling to order taxi's - rather, sent us out into the heat to flag one down - which was pretty difficult. Taxi drivers didn't know where the hotel was either...

Breakfast was ok. Food at the Hotel (Lunch) was below average and very much overpriced. We were allowed a late checkout which was definately an upside to the hotel.

I dont particualrly like writing bad reviews, but after two weeks in Cambodia and the previous night at Pullman Bangkok King Power, this place was a real disappointment.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rollyk1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServices_GM1, Guest Services at ibis Singapore Novena, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken your time to provide us with your valuable feedback relating to your stay with us.

We are sincerely concerned and apologise that we fell short of your expectations in some areas. Your helpful comments are much appreciated, and your feedback will help us to continually improve the standard of facilities and services offered to all our guests.

We hope to be able to get in touch with you directly on this matter. Would be great if you could email us your contact details at H7451-GM1@accor.com

Looking forward to hear from you soon.

Thank you.

Guest Services Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Booked to stay for a 8 day period in May through an online opening special for Ibis Novena Singapore. The room was smallish (to be expected from the Ibis chain) although the fittings and bed were well appointed. Comfortable bed & pillows too (which can be a tussle at some other hotels). Room was kept cleaned in all that time and even though our room was on the 5th floor, the traffic noise level was muted.
One downside at this hotel was the noticeable noises coming through the gap of the door and the corridor. With a steady stream of guests from tour groups, there were relatively loud noises late in the evening and early morning due to uncontrolled talking with no consideration for guests having a quiet time or trying to sleep.
Free wi-fi access at rooms and common areas with 2 large Mac desktops available at the foyer. Nice touch.
Iron & iron board were provided by house-keeping when requested. This is better than using a common ironing room.
Surrounding local eateries offer cheap and excellent value for food and what a great way to immerse in the local environment.
Hotel is a short (under 10 mins) uphill walk to the nearby MRT station & from there one can reach a large part of Singapore via the rail network. Orchard district is only 1 - 2 stations away where shopping and dining outlets are in plenty supply. Access to taxis from Ibis Novena is as easy as walking to the main street (Balestier Rd), some 40 steps from the hotel's foyer and there was hardly any waiting time for taxis (even at the early hour of 5 a.m. which we had to avail ourselves one morning).
Front desk staff were polite and helpful when service was ever needed from them.
If staying away from Orchard area whilst in Singapore is your preference, Ibis Novena Singapore is one hotel I would recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms located away from Balestier Rd
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASWY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServices_GM1, Guest Services at ibis Singapore Novena, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken your time to provide us with your valuable feedback relating to your recent stay with us.

We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed every other aspect of your stay with us and our confident Hosts delivered warm, friendly and efficient customer care.

Your positive feedback has given all of us the inspiration to continually strive for service excellence. We are grateful for your support and look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to Ibis Singapore Novena.

If you wish, you can contact us directly on H7451-GM1@accor.com for your future bookings with us.

Thank you,
Guest Services Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed at the Ibis Novena for five nights. Found the rooms similar to all the Ibis-es that we;ve been in. Price is slightly cheaper than the Ibis Hotel Bencoolen and after staying here for five nights the reason seems obvious. Getting transport here is terrible. You would have to walk around ten minutes going uphill to get to the nearest MRT station. And taxi drivers in singapore does not seem to keen to send us back to the hotel at night. One even got lost looking for the hotel. However, i believe its a small price to pay if you want to get a cheap international hotel in Singapore as this country is very expensive when it comes to hotels. So for us the only downside is the location. Other than that, this hotel delivers as other Ibis hotel delivers. Cheap quality hotels at an affordable price. And most importantly, this hotel provides free Wi-Fi as I know most hotels dont.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jerrykuching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServices_GM1, Guest Services at ibis Singapore Novena, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken your time to provide us with your valuable feedback relating to your recent stay with us.

We have taken note of your comments on the transportation issue and we are continually working closely with taxi companies to create awarness of our hotel. Please rest assured that we will make every efforts to improve our facilities and services to meet our guests' expectations.

On a more positive note, we are pleased to learn that you enjoyed other aspects of your stay with us. Please accept our best wishes and we look forward to welcoming you back to Ibis Singapore Novena in the near future.

Thank you
Guest Services Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Hotel Singapore At Zhongshan Park
1.8 mi away
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#67 of 317 in Singapore
6,676 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Singapore At Zhongshan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel YAN
Hotel YAN
#62 of 317 in Singapore
471 reviews
2.4 mi away
ibis Styles Singapore on Macpherson
0.2 mi away
Value Hotel Thomson
Value Hotel Thomson
#202 of 317 in Singapore
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Singapore Novena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Singapore Novena

Address: 6 Irrawaddy Road Ibis Singapore Novena, Singapore 329543, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: $101 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Singapore Novena 3*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Singapore Novena is located on the intersection of Irrawaddy and Balestier Road and 8mins walk to Novena MRT Station. Ideal for business, medical and leisure travelers, hotel offers complimentary WIFI, international power sockets, parking, handy phone with unlimited mobile internet and local & international calls for selected countries. Oopen Pasta and Grill serves international buffet breakfast and chef's delectable selection, hotel is a stone's throw from heritage sites and authentic local food trails. Hotel also do provide complimentary shuttle to Novena MRT Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your ibis Singapore Novena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Singapore Novena Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing