We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grubby, cramped - if ideally located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
City Centre Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #178 of 240 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We chose it off a map for location - it was *perfectly* located between Chinatown, Clarke Quay (the funky nightspot part of Sing) and the Colonial District - and it was a dream in this regard with everything easy to get to. We over-paid for it, I think (though Singapore is horribly expensive full stop). The corridors and communal spaces were clean enough and the staff helpful, breakfast available etc, but the mattress smelt, the sheets were tired stained brown efforts and there was noise all night every night; also, the private rooms were very small, the width of the bed and a couple of feet to the door, barely enough to put rucksacks down. It was a good base point but we never felt comfortable there.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ardentripadv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 32 of 43 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2011

Stinky, smelly, damp and unfriendly.
I had to sleep outside the room at the kitchen near public toilet, because my room STINK so bad.
All the pictures are just too good to be true.

I stayed here one night during mid October 2011.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanchai S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Unconveniently 2 level floors, first floor is okay. But second floor was located in 4th floor with so many stairs to climb. The room was so small we could barely move, and we already stayed the so-called DELUXE room. The carpet was not hoovered and stink. Group of family shouldn't stay here. Staffs were barely there, they were polite but need improvement in having tourist infos. Concern abt security, people could randomly come and know the door code, and the 2nd level has no security AT ALL! Not worth the money at all.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FaRa-Sandhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Great location. Good breakfast. Free tea and coffee all day. Free internet. TIny, simple rooms but comfortable. Bathrooms are adequate. All very clean. We had no trouble with noise but we were on the upper floor rather than off the lounge. We had no problem finding it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank simbelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

There are cheaper hostels in Singapore than this one, but since I was in Singapore for 36 hours as recommended by New York Times, I had to have a good location. The location is unbelievable. Less than five minutes to the nearest metro station, 10-15 minutes to Chinatown, and about 20 minutes to the Esplanade and Merlion statue. You can get just about anywhere on the metro and/or a metro/bus combination, so having the metro so close makes a whole world of difference.

The hostel itself is quite small and simple. You do have to climb three stories' worth of stairs, and there is no elevator. The common areas are rather small, and most of the rooms do not have windows. It is meticulously clean, and they provide free towels and breakfast. I was actually pleasantly surprised that their jams are all-natural, sugar-free, and very good quality. I enjoyed breakfast immensely as a result. There is 'no-noise' policy after 9:00 at night, so you do get to sleep well. The staff is really nice, although the payment system is rather random (only cash and only if you bump into one of them). I do not recommend you stay here if you are planning a long term stay because it does not have a fully-equipped kitchen (e.g. no stove or oven).

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alicevarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2011

Upside: Great location - only 200m from Clarke Quay MRT station. Very close to restaurants and pubs. Also has free internet and Air Con which is a bonus.
Downside: hard to find, paper-thin walls, they only take cash, the showers are terrible, rooms are tiny.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moneyshot807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2015, traveled on business
Thank Dayvid A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#40 of 317 in Singapore
23,182 reviews
@ Little Red Dot
#81 of 240 in Singapore
430 reviews
Orchard Road
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
#73 of 317 in Singapore
10,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitraa Inn
#39 of 240 in Singapore
305 reviews
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#66 of 317 in Singapore
6,617 reviews
One Farrer Hotel & Spa
#17 of 317 in Singapore
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Centre Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Centre Backpackers Hostel

Address: 41/A Hongkong Street, Singapore 059680, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #178 of 240 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: $20 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Center Backpackers (CCB) is centrally located; just 5 minutes walk to MRT (tube/metro) train station. It is also the nicest, safest and the coolest area in Singapore.Choose to stay at the center of all tourist attraction and save your time, cover more tourist points,and also save your money on transportation.We provide 24 hours Air conditioner in the dormitories and rooms , there is no curfew at the hostel, so you can come in and go out at anytime.You may see our special offer.Check out our facebook page: City Center Backpackers hostel pvt ltdTerms and conditions:We do not allow children under the age of 12No Smoking inside the hostelCancellation Policy:We would be grateful if you could inform us at least 48hours in advance if you decide to cancel or make any changes to your booking, otherwise the first night's charge is applicable.We will keep the room/bed for you for 3 hours from the stated time of arrival. After which it will be released for booking. If there is a delay in your arrival time, we would appreciate if you could let us know through phone or email. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
City Centre Backpackers Hotel Singapore
City Centre Backpackers Hostel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing